Skip to Main Content

ACS - Referencing Guide

Internet Documents

Information

Cite documents published on the internet according to the specific guidelines for the type of document. More specific information is available for Books and Journal Articles.

Government reports and company annual reports are examples of documents that may be published on the internet.

When including government entities in a citation, whether as the authoring organization or the publisher, begin with the highest level agency or department, then the next level organization, and so on to convey the hierarchy. There may be several components to record.

Include the DOI in the citation if there is one (no access date needed),or include the URL and access date.

Wikipedia is included although it is not generally recommended to cite it as a source. The access date is essential, so the correct historical entry can be found, if necessary, via the "View History" tab on the article page.

The date given can be the date when that specific page or file was published, posted, deposited, edited, revised, or last reviewed. Sometimes, the date on the page has nothing to do with the content itself but rather refers to a global update to the website, like a change in copyright year. In cases like these, or if there is no date at all, use “n.d.” for “no date.”

Please note: If no author or editor is given and the document is not a part, article or chapter, then citation is by title.

Format

Standard format for citation - Document or Webpage published on a Website

Author 1; Author 2; …; Author 10; et al. Title of Document. Title of Site or Organisation, date. URL (accessed YYYY-MM-DD).

 

Standard format for citation - Government Document published online

Author 1; Author 2; …; Author 10; et al. Chapter Title. In Document Title; Government Publication Number; Publishing Agency: Place of Publication, year; pagination. URL (accessed YYYY-MM-DD).

OR

Organization name. Document Title, edition number; Series Information (if any); Publisher: Place of Publication, year; volume number, pagination. URL (accessed YYYY-MM-DD).

 

Standard format for citation - Website

Author or Organization (if any). Title of Site. URL (accessed YYYY-MM-DD).

 

Standard format for citation - Entry in Database or Repository

Author 1; Author 2; …; Author 10; et al. Title of Database Item. Title of Database, database version (if any). Publisher or Organization, date. DOI or URL (accessed YYYY-MM-DD).

 

Standard format for citation - Entire Database or Repository

Title of Database, database version (if any). Publisher or Organization. DOI or URL (accessed YYYY-MM-DD).

 

Standard format for citation - Blog Post

Author 1; Author 2; …; Author 10; et al. Blog Post Title. Blog Title. Title of Site or Publisher (if any), date. URL (accessed YYYY-MM-DD).

 

Standard format for citation - Wikipedia

Title of Entry. Wikipedia. URL (accessed YYYY-MM-DD).

Examples

Electronic document 

1. Byrne, C. Molecular Scissors Slice DNA to Isolate Genes. Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO), 2016. http://csiro.au/files/files/p7i7.pdf (accessed 2008-04-24).

2. Head. A. J. Staying Smart: How Today’s Graduates Continue to Learn Once They Complete College. Project Information Literacy, January 5, 2016. https://www.projectinfolit.org/publications.html (accessed 2019-10-07).

Electronic document: Organisation as author

3. American Chemical Society, Committee on Chemical Safety, Task Force for Safety Education Guidelines. Guidelines for Chemical Laboratory Safety in Academic Institutions. 2016. https://www.acs.org/content/dam/acsorg/about/governance/committees/chemicalsafety/publications/acs-safety-guidelines-academic.pdf (accessed 2019-10-07).

Government document

4. National Industrial Chemicals Notification and Assessment Scheme (NICNAS). Polyacrylate in DynamX; PLC/932; Department of Health and Aged Care, Australian Government, 2010. https://www.industrialchemicals.gov.au/sites/default/files/PLC932%20Public%20Report%20PDF.pdf  (accessed 2024-05-20).

5. ChemCentre. Water for Domestic, Agricultural and General Use; Government of Western Australia, 2008. http://www.chemcentre.wa.gov.au/downloads/Water-Report-2008.pdf (accessed 2010-10-01).

General Website

6. U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) Program. https://www.epa.gov/toxics-release-inventory-tri-program (accessed 2019-02-21).

7. Rice University. Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Home Page. https://chbe.rice.edu/ (accessed 2019-02-21).

8. ACS Publications Home Page. https://pubs.acs.org/ (accessed 2019-02-21).

Webpage on a website

9. Dunham, W. Methane Spotted on Distant Planet. News in Science, ABC online, 2008. http://www.abc.net.au/science/articles/2008/03/20/2195187.htm?site=science (accessed 2008-04-24).

10. American Chemical Society, Committee on Chemical Safety, Task Force for Safety Education Guidelines. Guidelines for Chemical Laboratory Safety in Academic Institutions. American Chemical Society, 2016. https://www.acs.org/content/dam/acsorg/about/governance/committees/chemicalsafety/publications/acs-safety-guidelines-academic.pdf (accessed 2019-02-21).

Entry in Database or Repository

11. Falcaro, P.; Buso, D. Scanning Electron Microscope Image of the Seed Inside the MOF Crystals. scienceimage. Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation, n.d. https://www.scienceimage.csiro.au/image/11684 (accessed 2019-03-03).

Database or Repository

12. The Cambridge Structural Database. Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre. https://www.ccdc.cam.ac.uk/solutions/software/csd/ (accessed 2024-06-17). 

Blog post

13. Cantrill, S. Blindingly Simple. The Sceptical Chymist: A Blog from Nature Chemistry. Nature Chemistry, February 6, 2015. http://blogs.nature.com/thescepticalchymist/2015/02/blindingly-simple.html (accessed 2015-06-09).

Entire blog

14.  Retraction Watch. https://retractionwatch.com/ (accessed 2019-02-28).

See the All Examples page for examples of in-text and reference list entries for specific resources such as articles, books, internet documents and web pages.