Skip to Main Content

ACS - Referencing Guide

Book Chapters

Information

•  These examples are for chapters or parts of edited works in which the chapters or parts have individual titles and author/s but are included in collections or textbooks edited by others. Includes Encyclopedias and Dictionary entries.

   Include names of authors up to and including 10. If there are more than 10 authors, add et al. after the name of the 10th author.

  If the editors of a work are also the authors of all of the included chapters, then it should be cited as a whole book using the examples given for Books.

  Titles and subtitles are given maximal capitalisation.

  Book titles and subtitles are italicised.

•  Include the DOI for e-books in your reference, if given.

•  Do not include the protocol in the DOI  (http:// or https://)

•  Do not include the access date if a DOI is included.

•  Include the URL and access date if no DOI is available.

•  When including the internet address of articles retrieved from searches in full-text databases, use the Recommended URLs for Full-text Databases, which are the URLs for the main entrance to the service and are easier to reproduce.

Format

Standard format for citation

Chapter in Edited e-book (no DOI):

Author 1; Author 2; …; Author 10; et al. Chapter Title. In e-book Title, edition number (if not the 1st); Editor 1, Editor 2, [continue until all editors are listed], Eds.; Series Title, Vol. Number (if any); Publisher: Place of Publication, year; pagination. URL (accessed YYYY-MM-DD).

 

Chapter in Edited e-book with DOI:

Author 1; Author 2; …; Author 10; et al. Chapter Title. In e-book Title, edition number (if not the 1st); Editor 1, Editor 2, [continue until all editors are listed], Eds.; Series Title, Vol. Number (if any); Publisher: Place of Publication, year; pagination. DOI:0000000/000000000000

 

Chapter in Edited print book:

Author 1; Author 2; …; Author 10; et al. Chapter Title. In Book Title, edition number (if not the 1st); Editor 1, Editor 2, [continue until all editors are listed], Eds.; Series Title, Vol. Number (if any); Publisher: Place of Publication, year; pagination.

 

Chapter in Edited e-book accessed through an aggregator database

Author 1; Author 2; …; Author 10; et al. Chapter Title. In e-book Title, edition number (if not the first); Editor 1, Editor 2, [continue until all editors are listed], Eds.; Series Title, Vol. Number (if any); Publisher: Place of Publication, year; pagination. Retrieved from Database Name, URL (accessed YY-MM-DD).

 

Chapter or Article in an online Book or Reference work with continuously updated content.

For continuously updated works, references should indicate when the cited content was last updated.

Author 1; Author 2; …; Author 10; et al. Article Title. In Book Title, edition or version number (if not the first); Editor 1, Editor 2, [continue until all editors are listed], Eds.; Book Series or Set Information; Publisher: Place of Publication, date posted online; pagination. URL (accessed YYYY-MM-DD).

Examples

Chapter from an edited e-book

1. Mukherjee, B.; Gupta, V.; Agnihotri, S. Nanostructures for Hydrogen Storage. In Nanochemistry: Synthesis, Characterization and Applications; Sharma, A., Oza, G., Eds.; Taylor & Francis, 2023; pp 361-377. DOI: 10.1201/9781003081944

2. Hammond, C. Crystal Symmetry. In The Basics of Crystallography and Diffraction, 4th ed.; Scerri, E., Fisher, G., Eds.; International Union of Crystallography Texts on Crystallography, Vol. 21; Oxford University Press, 2015; pp 99−134. DOI: 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780198738671.003.0004

Chapter in an edited print book

3. Almlof, J.; Gropen, O. Relativistic Effects in Chemistry. In Reviews in Computational Chemistry; Lipkowitz, K. B., Boyd, D. B., Eds.; Vol. 8; VCH, 1996; pp 206-210.

4. Ford H. L.; Sclafani R. A.; Degregori J. Cell Cycle Regulatory Cascades. In Cell Cycle and Growth Control: Biomolecular Regulation and Cancer, 2nd ed.; Stein G. S., Pardee A. B., Eds.; Wiley-Liss, 2004; pp 42-67.

Article in an online encyclopaedia

5. Cloverly, S. Flow Analysis: Segmented Flow Analysis. In Encyclopedia of Analytical Science, 3rd ed.; Elsevier Academic Press, March 12, 2019; pp 220-226. DOI: 10.1016/B978-0-12-409547-2.00487-X 

6. Weisberg, M.; Needham, P.; Hendry, R. Philosophy of Chemistry. In The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, Spring 2019 ed.; Zalta, E. N., Ed.; Stanford University: Stanford, CA, January 16, 2019. https://plato.stanford.edu/archives/ spr2019/entries/chemistry/ (accessed 2019-03-24). 

Article in a print encyclopaedia

7. Dorfman, J. R. Kinetic Theory: Transport and Fluctuations. In Encyclopedia of Chemical Physics and Physical Chemistry; Moore, J. H., Spencer, N.D., Eds.; Vol. 1; Institute of Physics: Bristol, U.K., 2001; pp 573-595.

Article in a print encyclopaedia: No author

8. Polybenzimidozoles. In Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia, 9th ed.; Considine, D. G., Kulik, P. H., Eds.; Vol 2; Wiley-Interscience, 2002; p 2807.

Article from an online dictionary:  No author

9. Cytosine. In A Dictionary of Chemistry, 7th ed.; Rennie, R., Law, J., Eds.; Oxford University Press, 2016. https://www.oxfordreference.com/display/10.1093/acref/9780198722823.001.0001/acref-9780198722823-e-1185 (accessed 2023-04-01).

 

See the All Examples page for examples of in-text and reference list entries for specific resources such as articles, books, book chapters and web pages.