Skip to Main Content

ACS - Referencing Guide

Journal Articles

Information

  Only the author's initials are given, regardless of the presentation of the author's name on the journal article.

  Include the names of authors, up to ten only. If there are more than ten authors, list the first ten followed by et al.

  All titles are given maximal capitalisation.

  Be sure to adhere to the bolding and italicisation requirements.

  The titles of journals should be abbreviated as they appear in the CAS Source Index (CASSI).
If a journal title is not included in CASSI, include the full, unabbreviated title in the citation. Single word journal titles are not abbreviated.

  If there is no volume number, give the issue number only (see example below).

  To indicate a page range, use, e.g., 123-129, 126-134, or 111-222. If you refer to only one page, use only 111.

•  Include the DOI of the article if one is available. Do not include the protocol in the DOI (http:// or https://).

• If no DOI is available, include the URL instead. The URL is followed by a space and the access date in parentheses with no punctuation in between, e.g. https://digital.sciencehistory.org/focus/periodic-tables (accessed 2019-09-10)

•  When including the URL of articles retrieved from searches in full-text databases, use the Recommended URLs for Full-text Databases, which are the URLs for the main entrance to the service and are easier to reproduce.

 When citing a journal article accessed via a full-text database, Include the access date and the name of the aggregator database after the DOI/URL, e.g. (accessed 2019-11-22 from ProQuest: Materials Science & Engineering Collection.)

Format

Standard format for citation

From a full text database:

Author, A. A.; Author, B. B. Title of Article. Abbreviated Journal Title Year, volume number (Issue number), page range. DOI or URL (accessed YY-MM-DD from Database Name.)

 

From the Internet:

Author, A. A.; Author, B. B. Title of Article. Abbreviated Journal Title Year, volume number (Issue number), page range. DOI or URL (accessed YY-MM-DD)

 

Print journal:

Author 1; Author 2; …; Author 10; et al. Title of the Article. Abbreviated Journal TitlYearvolume number (issue number), page range. DOI

Examples

Journal article from a full text database 

1. Bogdanchikova, N.; Simakov, A.; Smolentseva, E.; Pestryakov, A.; Farias, M. H.; Diaz, J. A.; Tompos, A.; Avalos, M. Stabilization of Catalytically Active Gold Species in Fe-modified Zeolites. Appl. Surf. Sci. 2008, 254 (13), 4075-4083. http://www.sciencedirect.com/ (accessed 2008-04-24 from ScienceDirect.)

2. Calafat, A. M.; Needham, L. L. Factors Affecting the Evaluation of Biomonitoring Data for Human Exposure Assessment. Int. J. Androl. 2008, 31 (2), 139-143. http://www.blackwell-synergy.com/ (accessed 2008-04-24 from Blackwell Synergy.)

3. Pratt, K. A.; Heymsfield, A. J.; Twohy, C. H.; Murphy, S. M, et al. In Situ Chemical Characterization of Aged Biomass-Burning Aerosols Impacting Cold Wave Clouds. J. Atmos. Sci. 2010, 67 (8):2451+. http://il.proquest.com (accessed 2010-09-24 from ProQuest.)

Journal article from the Internet

4. Zahardis, J., Petrucci, G. A. The Oleic Acid-ozone Heterogeneous Reaction System: Products, Kinetics, Secondary Chemistry, and Atmospheric Implications of a Model System – A Review. Atmos. Chem. Phys2007, 7 (5), 1237-1274. DOI: 10.5194/acp-7-1237-2007

5. Marucho, M.; Kelley, C. T.; Montgomery Pettitt, B. Solutions of the Optimized Closure Integral Equation Theory: Heteronuclear Polyatomic Fluids. J. Chem. Theory Comput2008, 4 (3), 385-396. DOI: 10.1021/ct700202h 

Journal article with article or elocation number instead of page numbers

Jandke, J.; Yang, F.; Hlobil, P.; Engelhardt, T.; Rau, D.; Zakeri, K.; Gao, C.; Schmalian, J.; Wulfhekel, W. Unconventional Pairing in Single FeSe Layers. Phys. Rev. B 2019100 (2), 020503. DOI: 10.1103/PhysRevB.100.020503

Journal article with more than 10 authors

Vigren, E.; Hamberg, M.; Zhaunerchyk, V.; Kaminska, M.; Semaniak, J.; Larsson, M.; Thomas, R. D.; af Ugglas, M.; Kashperka, I.; Millar, T. J.; et al. Dissociative Recombination of Protonated Formic Acid: Implications for Molecular Cloud and Cometary Chemistry. Astrophys. J.  2010709 (2), 1429−1434. DOI: 10.1088/0004-637X/709/2/1429

Journal article, no volume number

Watanabe, K.; Orihashi, Y.; Miyasaka, H.; Itaya, A. In Situ Fluorescence Observation of the Vacuum Deposition Process of Cyanooctyloxybiphenyl. Chem. Lett. 1995, No. 4, 247−248.

Journal article from print journal

6. Klinger, J. Influence of Pretreatment on Sodium Powder. Chem. Mater. 2005, 17 (5), 2755-2768.

7. Caruso, R. A.; Susha, A.; Caruso, F. Multilayered Titania, Silica, and Laponite Nanoparticle Coatings on Polystyrene Collodial Templates and Resulting Inorganic Hollow Spheres. Chem. Mater. 2001, 13 (5), 400-409.

8. Berthod, A.; Ruiz-Angel, M. J.; Carda-Broch, S. Ionic Liquids in Separation Techniques. J. Chromatogr., A 2008, 1184 (1-2), 6-18.

Journal article from print journal: No author

9. Calculating Immunity. Sci. Am. 1999, 281 (3), 19.

Journal article from print journal: Organization as author

10. IARC Working Group. Phenoxy Acid Herbicides and Contaminants: Description of the IARC International Register of Workers. Am. J. Ind. Med. 1990, 18 (2), 39-45.

11. IFCC Working Group on Enzymes, Scientific Division. International Federation of Clinical Chemistry: IFCC Methods for Measurement of Catalytic Concentration of Enzymes. Clin. Chim. Acta 1999, 281 (1-2), S5-S39.

Journal article from print journal: Volume with supplement

12. Atkinson, R. Gas-phase Tropospheric Chemistry of Organic Compounds: A Review. Atmos. Environ. 2007, 41 (Suppl. 1), 200-240.

Journal article from print journal: Issue with supplement

13. Philip, J. R. The Theory of Infiltration: 1. The Infiltration Equation and Its Solution. Soil Sci. 2006, 171 (6, Suppl. 1), S34–S46.

 

See the All Examples page for examples of in-text and reference list entries for specific resources such as articles, books and web pages.