• Arrange information about the source in the format given
• The authors' names are given as they appear on the publication you have used, i.e., use full first name where provided or first name initials where initials only are provided
• Capitalisation practice should be consistent
• Article titles and sub-titles are given maximal capitalisation (title case) and are enclosed in quotation marks
• Journal titles and sub-titles are given maximal capitalisation (title case)
• Journal titles are italicised when typed or underlined when handwritten
• The issue number is preceded by no.
• The issue number should be included, even if pagination is continuous across the whole volume
• Access dates are only included for items without a date of publication or modification, see the Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed., sec. 14.12
• Regardless of pagination, include issue number and month or season of publication if given
• Include the DOI of the article
• If no DOI is available, the full text Database name used to source the article (e.g. Academic OneFile, ProQuest, and ScienceDirect) is cited rather than the internet address
• Include the DOI or Uniform Resource Locator (URL) for articles sourced from the Internet
Standard format for citation
From a full text database:
DOI available:
|
Article Author, A. A., and B. B. Article Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume, no. issue number (Month or Season (if given) Year): inclusive page or paragraph numbers. https://doi.org/10.XXX/XXXXX.XX. |
No DOI available:
|
Article Author, A. A., and B. B. Article Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume, no. issue number (Month or Season (if given) Year): inclusive page or paragraph numbers. Database Name. |
From the Internet:
DOI available:
|
Article Author, A. A., and B. B. Article Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume, no. issue number (Month or Season (if given) Year): inclusive page or paragraph numbers. https://doi.org/10.XXXX/XXXXX.XX. |
No DOI available:
|
Article Author, A. A., and B. B. Article Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume, no. issue number (Month or Season (if given) Year): inclusive page or paragraph numbers. Internet address. |
Print journal:
|
Article Author, A. A., and B. B. Article Author. "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article." Title of Journal volume, no. issue number (Month or Season (if given) Year): inclusive page numbers. |
Journal article from a full text database
Author full first name provided
Buchanan, Jason. "Nation States: The Cultures of Irish Nationalism." Modern Fiction Studies 55, no. 4 (Winter 2009): 857+. ProQuest.
Hampton, Mark. "The Press, Patriotism, and Public Discussion: C. P. Scott, the Manchester Guardian, and the Boer War, 1899–1902." The Historical Journal 44, no. 1 (March 2001): 177-197. https://doi.org/10.1017/S0018246X01001479.
Nicholson, Helen. "Women on the Third Crusade." Journal of Medieval History 23, no. 4, (1997): 335-349. https://doi.org/10.1016/S0304-4181(97)00013-4.
Journal article from the Internet
Author full first name provided
Jotischy, Andrew. "The Christians of Jerusalem, the Holy Sepulchre and the Origins of the First Crusade." Crusades 7 (October 2008): 35-57. http://eprints.lancs.ac.uk/19762/1/proofs_Crusades_7_03_Jotischky.pdf.
Powell, James M. "The Crusades in Recent Research." The Catholic Historical Review 95, no. 2 (April 2009): 313-319. https://doi.org/10.1353/cat.0.0412.
Journal article in print: Regardless of pagination
Author full first name provided
Hallin, Daniel C. "Sound Bite News: Television Coverage of Elections, 1968-1988." Journal of Communication 42, no. 2 (June 1992): 5-24.
Jones, Henry. "Shakespearean Tragedy: Lectures on Hamlet, Othello, King Lear, Macbeth." International Journal of Ethics 16, no. 1 (October 1905): 99-105.
Yeh, Michelle. "The 'Cult of Poetry' in Contemporary China." Journal of Asian Studies 55, no. 1 (February 1996): 51-80.
Journal article in print: Issue with no volume
Author first names' initials only provided
Beattie, J. M. "The Pattern of Crime in England, 1660-1800." Past and Present, no. 62 (February 1974): 47-95.
• A digital object identifier (DOI) is a unique alpha-numeric string used to identify electronic documents and provides a persistent link to its location on the internet.
• A DOI is assigned to a document when it is published.
• All DOI numbers begin with 10 and contain a prefix of four or more digits and a suffix separated by a slash: 10.1037/0278-6133.27.3.379.
• When referencing a document with a DOI in Footnote style, the reference should be formatted as follows: https://doi.org/10.1037/0278-6133.27.3.379.
• A DOI is usually located with the author and title information or on the first page of an electronic article. You may need to open the abstract or full text of an article to find it.
• When referencing an electronic document:
• Include the DOI if one is assigned.
• If no DOI is assigned, include the name of the database or the internet address as appropriate.