Skip to Main Content

Chicago Notes and Bibliography (previously Footnote) - Referencing Guide

Chicago Notes and Bibliography Style (previously Footnote)

About Chicago Notes and Bibliography Style

Chicago Notes and Bibliography Style uses a notational method of referencing when referring to a source of information within the text of a document.

In its simplest form, a number in superscript format placed in the text of the essay, indicates the relevant footnote:

An Chicago Notes & Bibliographies in-text citation displaying the quote "...the History Wars have done damage to the nature of objective Australian history" highlighted with an orange/yellow underline. The quote is labeled "Text" in orange/yellow text at the bottom center. In the top right corner, "Reference number" appears in gray text with an arrow pointing to a footnote marker.

Citations are numbered consecutively in the order in which they appear in the text and each citation corresponds to a numbered footnote at the bottom of the page containing publication information about the source:

A Chicago Notes & Biliographies footnote with color-coded components. The footnote reads "1. Stuart Macintyre and Anna Clark, The History Wars (Melbourne University Press, 2003), 4." with labeled parts: "Reference number" in gray at top left with an arrow pointing to "1", "Author(s)" in teal at top with a teal bracket highlighting the authors' names, "Title" in red underneath with a red bracket highlighting "The History Wars", "(Publisher, Year of publication)" in purple at top right with a purple bracket highlighting the parenthetical information, and "Page(s)" in blue at bottom right with a blue bracket highlighting "4".

A footnote lists the author, title and publication details of a work and subsequent citations are given in a shortened form.

A full bibliography of all works cited must be provided at the end of the paper.

Bibliography entries contain all the information that someone needs to follow up your source and are arranged alphabetically by the primary author's surname:

A bibliography entry in Chicago Notes & Bibliographies style with color-coded components. The citation reads "Macintyre, Stuart and Anna Clark. The History Wars. Melbourne University Press, 2003." with labeled parts: "Author(s)." in teal at top left with a teal bracket highlighting the authors' names, "Title" in red at bottom center with a red bracket highlighting "The History Wars", and "Publisher, Year of publication" in purple at top right with a purple bracket highlighting "Melbourne University Press, 2003".

 See Bibliography Entries or All Examples for details on how to construct references for specific resources such as books, journals and web pages.

Important Information

Created November 2010; modified December 2024.

Please remember to check with your unit co-ordinator or tutor before submitting your assignments, as their style preference may vary from the guidelines presented here.

When using EndNote referencing software, please use the following output style - Chicago 18th edition Footnote. Depending on which version of EndNote you are using, you may need to download this output style template. For information about EndNote and downloading output style templates, please see the EndNote Guide.

Acknowledgement

This referencing guide follows the principles and examples given in the 18th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style (2024).

Subjects: Referencing