• Cite documents published on the internet according to the specific guidelines for the type of document. More specific information is available for AI Generated Content, Books, Journal articles, and Reports .
• If a social media post does not have an explicit title, use the content of the post up to the first twenty words.
• Social media could include a personal communication such as an email, text or SnapChat message; a Facebook page or entry; a blog; an Instagram or Twitter account; blog, Twitter or Instagram posts; a YouTube, Vimeo or Ted Talk video; comments on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube, Vimeo or blog posts; an app or a game.
• Do not alter the spelling or capitalisation of a social media reference. Retain hashtags and links. Replicate emojis or describe in square brackets, for example [smiley face emoji] or [face with tears emoji].
• Use the name of the organisation as the author for an organisation’s webpage without individual authors.
• Do not include the name of the website if it is the same as the author, to avoid repetition.
• If no author or editor is given and the document is not a part, article or chapter, then citation is by title, with the title preceding the year of publication.
• Do not include the site name if it is the same as the author's.
• Do not include the publisher's name if it is the same as the author's.
• Record n.d. for the date of publication, if no date of publication or revision can be found.
• Do not create a reference for a whole website. If mentioned in text, with no particular information about that website, provide the name of the website in the text and include the URL in parentheses.
• Include live links to DOIs and URLs if the work is open access (not from a subscription database).
Standard format for citation
|
Author, A. A. (Year). Title: Subtitle (edition). Publisher. URL |
Standard format for citation for pages regularly added or updated
|
Author, A. (Year, Month, Date). Title: Subtitle [Format]. Source. URL |
Standard format for citation blog post
|
Author, A. [Screen name if applicable]. (Year, Month Date). Page or article title: Subtitle. Blog or Website Title: Subtitle. URL |
Standard format for citation podcast
|
Artist, A. A. (Credit), & Artist, B. B. (Credit). (Year of copyright, Date of recording). Title of episode. Title of Programme: Subtitle [format]. Publisher. (Year of recording if different from year of copyright). URL |
Standard format for citation social media
|
Creator, A. A. (Year, Month Date). Title of entry or first 20 words of content. [Format]. Publisher (if applicable). URL |
Standard format for citation webpage
|
Author, A. [Screen name if applicable]. (Year, Month Date). Page title: Subtitle. Website Title: Subtitle. URL |
Australian Medicines Handbook:
|
Australian Medicines Handbook. (Year of latest update). Title of entry. Australian Medicines Handbook. Retrieved Month Day, Year, from https://amhonline-amh-net-au |
Analytics report
Google Analytics. (2017). Analytics 3.1: Water Corporation domain only (excluding internal traffic and bots%2Fspiders) overview 20160701-20170630. http://Analytics 3.1 Water Corporation Domain Only (Excluding Internal Traffic and Bots%2FSpiders) Overview 20160701-20170630.pdf
App / Software
Microsoft. (Year). Microsoft Copilot [Software]. https://copilot.github.com
StudentVIP. (2017). Lost on Campus (Version 4.1.3) [Mobile app]. Apple App Store. https://www.apple.com/au/ios/app-store/
Australian Medicines Handbook entry (referenced as a database with original, proprietary content)
Australian Medicines Handbook. (2024). Fluconazole. Australian Medicines Handbook. Retrieved June 13, 2024, from https://amhonline.amh.net.au
Blog post
Flower, R. (2015, June 1). How a simple formula for resolving problems and conflict can change your reality. Pick The Brain. http://www.pickthebrain.com/blog/how-a-simple-formula-for-resolving-problems-and-conflict-can-change-your-reality/
Taylor, T. [Tiffany T]. (2022, December 13). Amazing cardiac nursing basics guide for students. The Nurse Break. https://www.thenursebreak.org/cardiac-nursing-basics-for-nursing-students/
Blog post comment
Stephen. (2017, February 21). Re: Why you should let your passion die [Comment]. PsychCentral. https://psychcentral.com/blog/discuss/102347/
Document
Murray, G. (2005). A duty of care to children and young people in Western Australia: Report on the quality assurance and review of unsubstantiated allegations of abuse in care: 1 April 2004 to 12 September 2005. Western Australia, Department of Child Protection. http://www.community.wa.gov.au/NR/rdonlyres/851183A4-A822-4592-AB66-C410E453AEEC/0/DCDRPTGwennMurrayreportwithcover2006.pdf
Document: no author
How to cite references (1996). Murdoch University Library. http://wwwlib.murdoch.edu.au/find/citation/
Email, Text or SnapChat message
These types of material are unpublished personal communications and are not included in the reference list because they do not contain recoverable data. Cite personal communications in the text only.
Give the title, given name or initials as well as the surname of the communicator and provide as exact a date as possible:
Professor Visser (personal communication, January 16, 2004) gave his reasons for closing the laboratory, the reasons given were...
OR
Dr A.C. Miller (personal communication, February 12, 2017) stated that ...
Facebook page
Nurses Australia. (2012, May 12). Home [Facebook page]. Facebook. Retrieved November 2, 2023, https://www.facebook.com/NursesAustralia/
Facebook post
Murdoch University Library. (2017, February 22). In a dedication ceremony on Tuesday, Murdoch University celebrated the naming of the Library after eminent historian and Murdoch icon, the late Emeritus Professor Geoffrey Bolton [Status update]. Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/murdochlibrary/?fref=ts
Forum/discussion board
LawAnswers. (2023). Criminal Law Forum. https://www.lawanswers.com.au/forums/criminal-law-forum.5/
Forum post
imaximis (2023, January 17). I bought a car with a false signature [Forum post to Criminal Law Forum]. LawAnswers. https://www.lawanswers.com.au/threads/i-bought-a-car-with-a-false-signature.24578/
Forum post comment
Veith, R. (2023, February 1). If you have proof of purchase then you should be at little risk as long as you paid fair market value. [Response to the forum post I bought a car with a false signature]. LawAnswers. https://www.lawanswers.com.au/threads/i-bought-a-car-with-a-false-signature.24578/
Game
Persson, M., & Bergensten, J. (2011). Minecraft [Game]. Mojang Synergies AB. https://minecraft.net/en-us/
Instagram post
Murdoch University Library. (2017, February 21). An exhibition entitled ‘Geoffrey Bolton: The Legacy of an Eminent Historian and Iconic Murdoch Figure’, featuring artworks, pictures, awards and memorabilia relating to his life, will be showcased in the University Library foyer until March 17 [Photographs]. https://www.instagram.com/murdochlibrary/
Instagram post comment
Coltferrari. (2017, February 21). Re: An exhibition entitled ‘Geoffrey Bolton: The Legacy of an Eminent Historian and Iconic Murdoch Figure’, featuring artworks, pictures, awards and memorabilia relating to his life, will be showcased in the University Library foyer until March 17 [Comment]. Instagram. https://www.instagram.com/murdochlibrary/
Podcast
Robertson, R. (Speaker). (2010). Leadership at the bottom of the earth…where no one hears you scream, 2010 Sir Walter Murdoch lecture [Audio podcast]. Murdoch University. https://lectures.murdoch.edu.au/lectopia/lectopia.lasso?ut=1369&id=71101
Podcast radio program
Gary, S. (Host). (2007, December 23). Black hole death ray. StarStuff [Audio podcast]. ABC News Radio. http://abc.net.au/newsradio/podcast/STARSTUFF.xml
Podcast television program
Brown, W. (Host)., Brodie, K. (Host)., & George, P. (Producer). (2007, June 4). From Lake Baikal to the halfway mark, Yekaterinburg. Peking to Paris: Episode 3 [Video podcast]. ABC Television. http://www.abc.net.au/tv/pekingtoparis/podcast/pekingtoparis.xml
TikTok video
Parafina, A. [@nursearchie]. (2023, October 28). How to become a registered nurse in Australia as an internationally qualified nurse?. #Australia #nurse #nursearchie [Video]. TikTok. https://www.tiktok.com/@nurse.archie/video/7294458669238897921
Webpage
Nemeroff, C.B., Payne, J.L., Bernstein, C.A., & Fazel, F. (2024, April 9). Depression: Everything you need to know. HealthCentral. https://www.healthcentral.com/condition/depression
World Health Organization. (2024, June 15). Abuse of older people. https://www.who.int/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/abuse-of-older-people
X Post / Tweet
Kruszelnicki, K. [@DoctorKarl]. (2017, February 19). Fact-checker scientist @bengoldacre, evidence-based medicine, dead cat #Shirtloadsofscience: http://apple.co/2kXmeCd: http://bit.ly/2faxmw5 [Tweet]. https://twitter.com/DoctorKarl? ref_src=twsrc^google| twcamp^serp|twgr^author
YouTube/Vimeo/Ted Talk video
NRK. (2007, February 26). Medieval helpdesk with English subtitles. [Video]. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pQHX-SjgQvQ
Setrakian, L. (2017, January). Lara Setrakian: 3 ways to fix a broken news industry. [Video]. https://www.ted.com/talks/lara_setrakian_3_ways_to_fix_a_ broken_news_industry#t-521404
YouTube video comment
Kirk, J. (2017, February). Re: Medieval helpdesk with English subtitles. [Comment]. YouTube. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pQHX-SjgQvQ
Below is a guide to what information you may need to record when citing an online resource:
• name of author(s) if given
• year or date of publication (or date page/site was created or updated)
• title of document
• title of website
• pages, sections or paragraphs (if given)
• digital object identifier (DOI) (if given)
• URL
For ease of use, this guide divides reference list entries into different formats.
Select the format you require from the Reference List Entries menu or select from the links below: