Don't Forget!!
Read this guide in conjunction with the Australian Guide to Legal Citation.
Legislation Databases
Legify - A free tool that locates and links to the authoritative version of Australian legislation and delegated legislation.
Western Australian Legislation - Western Australian Legislation Database, includes links to Bills and other parliamentary documents.
Federal Register of Legislation - Commonwealth Legislation Database, includes legislative material from the non self-governing territories and Bills and other parliamentary documents including Government Gazettes.
Commonwealth Bills and Legislation Information - Parliament of Australia website, offers searching, browsing, information on proposed legislation and alert services.
LawNow Legislation - Database of current national legislation for all Australian Federal, State and Territory Jurisdictions. Includes related materials and links to judicial consideration (case law) of legislation and/or sections. From Lexis Advance.
Lawlex - Subject index and links to Australian legislative materials, includes links to Bills and Hansard.
Federal Statutes Annotations - From Lexis Advance.
Law Quick Guides
- Law Library Self TourEasily identify key areas of the Law Library
Citing Explanatory Memoranda
The essence of citing an explanatory memorandum for a Bill is:
Explanatory Memorandum + citation of Bill + pinpoint.
The Explanatory Memorandum for a Bill is cited the same as the Bill, prefixed with the term 'Explanatory Memorandum' as in the example above (AGLC rule 3.7).
