Skip to Main Content

AGLC - Referencing Guide

Sample Bibliography

Formatting Your Bibliography

• The bibliography lists all sources consulted, not just those referred to in the text and footnotes

• The bibliography should appear at the end of your paper.

• Begin the list on a new page

• Full stops should not follow the citation

• An author's first name and surname should be inverted and separated by a comma
        • For works with more than one author, only the first author's name and surname are inverted

• The entries should appear in a single alphabetical sequence, arranged by the author's surname, or title if no author is given (excluding 'The')

• Use HEADING LEVEL ONE for the BIBLIOGRAPHY centred on page

• Divide the bibliography into sections Heading Level Two centred on the page:

A  Articles/Books/Reports

B  Cases

C  Legislation

D  Treaties

E  Other

• Sections may be omitted and other categories or subdivisions included as needed (with appropriate numbering)

An Example

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY

A Articles/Books/Reports

 Foster, Michelle, 'The Implications of the Failed "Malaysia Solution": The Australian High Court and Refugee Responsibility Sharing at International Law' (2012) 13(1) Melbourne Journal of International Law 395

 Foster, Michelle, International Refugee Law and Socio-Economic Rights: Refuge from Deprivation (Cambridge University Press, 2007)

 Hathaway, James C, The Rights of Refugees under International Law (Cambridge University Press, 2005)

 Hathaway, James C and Audrey Macklin, 'Should We Presume State Protection?' (2016) 32(3) Refuge 49

 Hathaway, James C and Michelle Foster, The Law of Refugee Status (Cambridge University Press, 2nd ed, 2014)

 Hathaway, Oona A, Sabrina McElroy and Sara Aronchick Solow, 'International Law at a Crossroads' (2012) 7(1) Yale Journal of International Affairs 54

 Ramsay, Ian and Cameron Sim, 'The Role and Use of Debt Agreements in Australian Personal Insolvency Law' (2011) 19(3) Insolvency Law  Journal 168

 Ramsay, Ian M, 'Corporate Theory and Corporate Law Reform in Australia' (1994) 1(2) Agenda: A Journal of Policy Analysis and Reform 1979

 Ramsay, Ian M and Nicholas Lew, 'Corporate Law Reform and Delisting in Australia' (2007) 2(2) Virginia Law Business Review 265

B Cases

 Lane v Morrison (2009) 239 CLR 230

 Maritime Dispute (Peru v Chile) (Judgment) [2014] ICJ Rep 4

C Legislation

 Access to Medicinal Cannabis Act 2016 (Vic)

 Australian Constitution

D Treaties

 Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment of Punishment, opened for signature 10 December 1984, 1465  UNTS 85 (entered into force 26 June 1987)

E Other

 Australasian Legal Information Institute (Website) <http://www.austlii.org>

 British and Irish Legal Information Institute (Website) <http://www.bailii.org>

 New South Wales, Parliamentary Debates, Legislative Assembly, 15 December 1909

Material that can be included under the Other heading includes:

  • government documents, such as parliamentary debates, parliamentary committee reports or Royal Commission reports
  • internet sources
  • legal commentary or loose-leaf  services
  • legal encyclopedia
  • newspaper articles
  • press releases
  • television or radio transcripts

 

Subjects: Referencing