Skip to main content

MLA - Referencing Guide

Images

Information

All images, referred to in the text or reproduced in an essay, assignment or presentation, must be cited and included in your works cited list.

For more information about copyright, the use of images, and open access sources of images, please go to Copyright Matters.

Format

Standard format for citation

Image reproduced in a book:

Artist or Creator, A. Title: Subtitle, Year of creation, Medium (if appropriate). Reproduced in Full details of book.

 

Image from a database:

Artist or Creator, A. Title: Subtitle. Publisher, Year, Medium (if appropriate). Database Name, Internet address.

 

Image from a cinematic work (still) from a database:

Title: Subtitle. Credit Creator Name. Distributor, Year, Medium (if appropriate). Database Name, Internet address.

 

Online artwork:

Artist or Creator, A. Title: Subtitle, Year of creation, Medium (if appropriate). Source, Internet address.

 

Online image:

Artist or Creator, A. Title: Subtitle, Medium (if appropriate). Source, Year, Internet address.

 

Original image/artwork (viewed in a gallery or collection):

Artist or Creator, A. Title: Subtitle, Year of Creation, Medium (if appropriate). Gallery or Collection.

Examples

Image/photograph/artwork from a book

Leibovitz, Annie. Olympic Portraits. Little Brown, 1996.

Mapplethorpe, Robert. Some Women. Bulfinch Press, 1989.

Reproduction in a book

Bedford, Paddy. Dingo Dreaming. 2001, Ochre on canvas. Reproduced in McCulloch, Susan, and Emily McCulloch Childs. McCulloch's Contemporary Aboriginal Art: The Complete Guide. McCulloch & McCulloch Australian Art Books, 2008, p. 154.

Image from a book chapter

Ardagna, Claudio Agostino, et al. "Open-Source Solution to Secure E-Government Services." Encyclopedia of Digital Government. Edited by Ari-Veikko Anttiroiko and Matti Malkia, Idea Group Reference, 2007, pp.1300-1305. IGI Global, http://www.igi-global.com.libproxy.murdoch.edu.au/gateway/chapter/full-text-pdf/11671.

Hockley, Luke. "Science Fiction." The Television Genre Book. 2nd ed., edited by Glen Creber, Palgrave Macmillan, 2008, pp. 36-42.

Image from a journal article

Smith, Paul Julian. "Flight of Fancy." Sight&Sound, vol. 25, no. 1, 2015, pp. 28-31.

Yeh, Quey-Jen, and Xiaojun Xu. "The Effect of Confucian Work Ethics on Learning About Science and Technology Knowledge and Morality." Journal of Business Ethics, vol. 95, no. 1, 2010, pp. 111-128. ProQuest, doi: 10.1007/s10551-009-0352-1.

Image from a newspaper

Leunig, Michael. "Thoughts of a Baby Lying in a Child Care Centre." The Sydney Morning Herald, Jul. 27 1995, p. 24.

Image from a database

The Making of a Monologue: Robert Wilson's Hamlet. Directed by Marion Kessel, Cinema Guild, 1995, Video. Theatre in Video, http://search.alexanderstreet.com.libproxy.murdoch.edu.au/view/work/1779981.

Online artwork

Heimans, Ralph. Gloves Off (Tom Uren), 1996, Oil paint on canvas. National Portrait Gallery, www.portrait.gov.au/portraits/2000.36/gloves-off-tom-uren.

Nolan, Sydney.The Encounter, 1946, Enamel paint on composition board. National Gallery of Australia, cs.nga.gov.au/Detail.cfm?IRN=28938.

Online image

Newbold, Curtis R. Can I Use that Picture? The Terms, Laws, and Ethics for Using Copyrighted Pictures. The Visual Communication Guy, 2014, thevisualcommunicationguy.com/2014/07/14/can-i-use-that-picture/.

Online map

Google Maps. "The British Library, London, UK." Google, 2015, www.google.com.au/maps/place/The+British+Library/.

Original image/artwork (viewed in a gallery or collection)

Angus, James. Gorilla, Gorilla, Gorilla, 2006, Wood veneers, nylon. Art Gallery of Western Australia.