• The authors' names are given as they appear on the publication you have used, i.e., use full first name where provided or first name initials where initials only are provided.
• Capitalisation practice should be consistent.
• Article titles are given maximal capitalisation (title case) and are enclosed in quotation marks.
• Journal titles and sub-titles are given maximal capitalisation (title case).
• Journal titles are italicised when typed or underlined when handwritten.
• The issue number is preceded by no. and the month or season is included in round brackets; if no month or season is given then the no. is omitted and the issue number is given in round brackets.
• The issue number should be included, even if pagination is continuous across the whole volume.
• Include a DOI in your reference list entry, if given. For articles consulted online, the DOI should be written as an internet address, i.e. beginning with https://
• For articles consulted online with no DOI, the full-text Database name the article is sourced from (e.g. Academic OneFile, ProQuest, ScienceDirect) is cited rather than the Internet address.
• For articles consulted online with no DOI and not sourced from a full-text database, the Uniform Resource Locator (URL) should be included in the reference.
• If either the volume or issue number is not present, then a month or season can be included instead (see examples below).
Standard format for citation
From a full text database:
DOI available:
|
Article Author, A. A., and B. B. Article Author. Year. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume number (no. issue number): inclusive page or paragraph numbers. https://doi.org/10.XXX/XXXXX.XX. |
No DOI available:
|
Article Author, A. A., and B. B. Article Author. Year. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume number (no. issue number): inclusive page or paragraph numbers. Database Name. |
From the Internet:
DOI available:
|
Article Author, A. A., and B. B. Article Author. Year. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume number (no. issue number): inclusive page or paragraph numbers. https://doi.org/10.XXXX/XXXXX.XX. |
No DOI available:
|
Article Author, A. A., and B. B. Article Author. Year. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume number (no. issue number): inclusive page or paragraph numbers. Internet address. |
Print journal:
|
Article Author, A. A., and B. B. Article Author. Year. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume number (no. issue number): inclusive page numbers. |
Journal article from a full text database
Author full first name provided
Döring, Dorothea, Anita Roscher, Fabian Scheipl, Helmut Küchenhoff, and Michael H. Erhard. 2009. "Fear-related Behaviour of Dogs in Veterinary Practice." The Veterinary Journal 182 (1): 38-43. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.tvjl.2008.05.006.
van Vuren, Petrus Jansen, and Janusz T. Paweska. 2010. "Comparison of Enzyme-linked Immunosorbent Assay-based Techniques for the Detection of Antibody to Rift Valley Fever Virus in Thermochemically Inactivated Sheep Sera." Vector-Borne and Zoonotic Diseases 10 (7): 697-699. https://doi.org/10.1089/vbz.2009.0213.
Author first names' initials only provided
Elwood, C., P. Devauchelle, J. Elliott, V. Freiche, A. J. German, M. Gualtieri, E. Hall, E. Den Hertog, R. Neiger, D. Peeters, X. Roura, and K. Savary-Bataille. 2010. "Emesis in Dogs: A Review." Journal of Small Animal Practice 51 (1): 4-22. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1748-5827.2009.00820.x.
McCoy, T. 2010. "Are Antihistamines Effective in Canine Atopy?" Veterinary Medicine 105 (10): 464. ProQuest.
Oskouizadeh, K., T. Zahraei-Salehi, and S. J. Aledavood. 2010. "Detection of Bartonella henselae in Domestic Cats' Saliva." Iranian Journal of Microbiology 2 (2): 80-84. CAB Abstracts Full Text Select.
Journal article from the Internet
Author full first name provided
Bos, Martine P., Robin van Houdt, Linda Poort, Anne-Xander van der Stel, Edgar J. Peters, Rachid Saouti, Paul Savelkoul, and Andries E. Budding. 2023. "Rapid Diagnostics of Joint Infections Using IS-Pro." Journal of Clinical Microbiology 61 (6): e0015423. https://doi.org/10.1128/jcm.00154-23.
Author first names' initials only provided
Meng, X. J., B. Wiseman, F. Elvinger, D. K. Guenette, T. E. Toth, R. E. Engle, S. U. Emerson, and R. H. Purcell. 2002. "Prevalence of Antibodies to Hepatitis E Virus in Veterinarians Working with Swine and in Normal Blood Donors in the United States and Other Countries." Journal of Clinical Microbiology 40 (1): 117-122. https://doi.org/10.1128/JCM.40.1.117-122.2002.
Journal article from the Internet (no volume number)
Author first name initials only provided
Beattie, J. M. 1974. “The Pattern of Crime in England, 1660–1800.” Past and Present, no. 62 (February): 47–95. https://www.jstor.org/stable/650463.
Journal article from the Internet (no issue number)
Zhao, Tan. 2023. “Professionalizing China’s Rural Cadres.” China Journal 98 (Summer): 45–69. https://doi.org/10.1086/722215.
Journal article from print journal
Author full first name provided
Allison, Gary W. 1999. "The Implications of Experimental Design for Biodiversity Manipulations." American Naturalist 153, (1): 26-45.
Kerr, Stephen J., Andrea Mant, Fiona E. Horn, Kevin McGeechan, and Geoffrey P. Sayer. 2003. "Lessons From Early Large-scale Adoption of Celecoxib and Rofecoxib by Australian General Practitioners." Medical Journal of Australia 179 (8): 403-407.
Author first name initial only provided
Hanna, K. 2007. "Adsorption of Aromatic Carboxylate Compounds on the Surface of Synthesized Iron Oxide-coated Sands." Applied Geochemistry 22 (9): 2045-2053.
Zhang, B., J. Cohen, R. Ferrence and J. Rehm. 2006. "The Impact of Tobacco Tax Cuts on Smoking Initiation Among Canadian Young Adults." American Journal of Preventive Medicine 30 (6): 474-479.
Journal article from print journal: No author
"Who Will Regulate the Veterinary Profession of the Future?" 2004. Veterinary Record 154 (15): 450-451.
• A digital object identifier (DOI) is a unique alpha-numeric string used to identify electronic documents and provides a persistent link to its location on the internet.
• A DOI is assigned to a document when it is published.
• All DOI numbers begin with 10 and contain a prefix of four or more digits and a suffix separated by a slash: 10.1037/0278-6133.27.3.379.
• When referencing a document with a DOI in Chicago style, the information regarding the doi should be given in the following format: https://doi.org/10.1037/0278-6133.27.3.379.
• A DOI is usually located with the author and title information or on the first page of an electronic article. You may need to open the abstract or full text of an article to find it.
• When referencing an electronic document:
• Include the DOI if one is assigned.
• If no DOI is assigned, include the name of the database or the internet address as appropriate.