To see more information about the formats below, either click on the format headings in this list of examples or hover your cursor over the Reference List Entries menu and select the format you want.
|
Assignments |
||
| Material Type | In Text Citation | Reference List Entry |
| Assignment from Another Unit | [1] | [1] S. F. Reid, “The Importance of scientific method," Unpublished manuscript, BSC100: Building Blocks for Science Students, Murdoch Univ., Murdoch, WA, Australia, 2016. |
|
A-V Materials |
||
| Material Type | In Text Citation | Reference List Entry |
| DVD | [2] | [2] I. Holm, Narrator, and J. Fullerton-Smith, Producer, How to Build a Human [DVD]. London: BBC; 2002. |
| Radio Programme | [3] | [3] R. Aedy, Interviewer, D. Hector, Interviewee, and S. Clark, Producer, "The future of engineering," The Buzz, 25 Sept., 2004 [Radio broadcast]. Sydney: ABC Radio. |
| Sound Recording | [4] | [4] D. Fisher, Writer, and T. Baker, Presenter, Doctor Who and the Creature From the Pit [Sound recording]. Bath, UK: BBC Audiobooks, 2009. |
| Television Programme | [5] | [5] T. Jones and P. Williams, Reporters, BP releases report into Gulf of Mexico oil spill. Lateline, 8 Sept., 2010 [Television broadcast]. Sydney: ABC1 Television. |
| Video Recording | [6] | [6] C. Rogers, Writer and Director, Grrls in IT [Videorecording]. Bendigo, Vic. : Video Education Australasia, 1999. |
| YouTube/Vimeo Video | [7] | [7] NRK. "Medieval helpdesk with English subtitles," YouTube, Feb. 26, 2007 [Video file]. Available: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pQHX-SjgQvQ. [Accessed: Jan. 28, 2014]. |
|
Book Chapters |
||
| Material Type | In Text Citation | Reference List Entry |
| Chapter or Article in Edited e-Book | [8] | [8] D. Kawecki, "Fuel preparation," in Combustion Engineering Issues for Solid Fuel Systems, B.G. Miller and D.A. Tillman, Eds. Boston, MA: Academic Press, 2008, 199-240. [Online] Available: Referex. |
| Chapter or Article in Edited Book |
[9] |
[9] A. Rezi and M. Allam, "Techniques in array processing by means of transformations, " in Control and Dynamic Systems, Vol. 69, Multidemsional Systems, C. T. Leondes, Ed. San Diego: Academic Press, 1995, pp. 133-180. |
| Article in an Electronic Encyclopaedia | [10] | [10] G. S. Thompson and M. P. Harmer, "Nanoscale ceramic composites," in Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology, K. H. J. Buschow, R. W. Cahn, M. C. Flemings, B. Ilschner, E.J. Kramer, S. Mahajan, and P. Veyssière, Eds. Amsterdam: Elsevier, 2001, pp. 5927-5930. [Online]. Available: ScienceDirect. |
| Article in an Encyclopaedia |
[11] |
[11] O. B. R. Strimpel, "Computer graphics," in McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, 8th ed., Vol. 4. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1997, pp. 279-283. |
|
Books |
||
| Material Type | In Text Citation | Reference List Entry |
| Book: Single Author | [12] | [12] W.-K. Chen, Linear Networks and Systems. Belmont, CA: Wadsworth, 1993, pp. 123-135 |
| E-book: Two or More Authors | [13] | [13] L. Bass, P. Clements, and R. Kazman, Software Architecture in Practice, 2nd ed. Reading, MA: Addison Wesley, 2003. [Online] Available: Safari e-book. |
| Book: Two or More Authors |
[14] |
[14] U. J. Gelinas, Jr., S. G. Sutton, and J. Fedorowicz, Business Processes and Information Technology. Cincinnati: South-Western/Thomson Learning, 2004. |
| Book: Organisation as Author | [15] | [15] World Bank, Information and Communication Technologies: A World Bank group strategy. Washington, DC: World Bank, 2002.
|
| Book: Government Agency as Author | [16] | [16] Australia. Attorney-Generals Department., Digital Agenda Review, 4 Vols. Canberra: Attorney- General's Department, 2003.
|
| Book: No Author |
[17] |
[17] The Oxford Dictionary of Computing, 5th ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2003. |
| Book: Editor | [18] | [18] D. Sarunyagate, Ed., Lasers. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1996. |
| Book: Different Editions |
[19] |
[19] K. Schwalbe, Information Technology Project Management, 3rd ed. Boston: Course Technology, 2004. |
| Scientific/Technical Report |
[20] |
[20] K. E. Elliott and C.M. Greene, "A local adaptive protocol," Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, France, Tech. Rep. 916-1010-BB, 1997. |
|
Conference Papers |
||
| Material Type | In Text Citation | Reference List Entry |
| Conference Paper in Print |
[21] |
[21] L. Liu and H. Miao, "A specification based approach to testing polymorphic attributes," in Formal Methods and Software Engineering: Proc. of the 6th Int. Conf. on Formal Engineering Methods, ICFEM 2004, Seattle, WA, USA, November 8-12, 2004, J. Davies, W. Schulte, M. Barnett, Eds. Berlin: Springer, 2004. pp. 306-19. |
| Conference Paper from the Internet | [22] | [22] J. Lach, "SBFS: Steganography based file system," in Proc. of the 2008 1st Int. Conf. on Information Technology, IT 2008, 19-21 May 2008, Gdansk, Poland [Online]. Available: IEEE Xplore, http://www.ieee.org. [Accessed: 10 Sept. 2010]. |
| Unpublished Conference Paper | [23] | [23] H. A. Nimr, "Defuzzification of the outputs of fuzzy controllers," presented at 5th Int. Conf. on Fuzzy Systems, 1996, Cairo, Egypt. 1996. |
| Conference Proceedings | [24] | [24] T. J. van Weert and R. K. Munro, Eds., Informatics and the Digital Society: Social, ethical and cognitive issues: IFIP TC3/WG3.1&3.2 Open Conf.e on Social, Ethical and Cognitive Issues of Informatics and ICT, July 22-26, 2002, Dortmund, Germany. Boston: Kluwer Academic, 2003. |
|
Datasets |
||
| Material Type | In Text Citation | Reference List Entry |
| Dataset |
[25] |
[25] M. Ambrose, Air Infiltration Results for 129 Australian Dwellings, vol. 1, Canberra: CSIRO, 2018. [Dataset]. Available: https://doi.org/10.25919/5ca54346ef256. [Accessed: July 4, 2019]. |
| Dataset Repository | [26] | [26] United States. National Aeronautics and Space Administration., NASA Prognostics Data Repository, Washington, DC: NASA, 2019. [Online]. Available: https://ti.arc.nasa.gov/tech/dash/groups/pcoe/prognostic-data-repository/. [Accessed: July 4, 2019]. |
| Dataset Deposit Record | [27] | [27] J. Tucker Lima, et al., Data from: A Social-ecological Database to Advance Research on Infrastructure Development Impacts in the Brazilian Amazon - Hydrology Dataset, Dryad Digital Repository, 2016. [Dataset]. Available: https://doi.org/10.5061/dryad.20627. [Accessed: July 11, 2019]. Referenced in: https://doi.org/10.1038/sdata.2016.71. |
| Dataset Description Record | [28] | [28] A. Rakotomamonjy and V. Guigue, "BCI competition III: Dataset II - Ensemble of SVMs for BCIP300 Speller, " IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Engineering, vol. 55, no. 3, pp. 1147-54, March 2008. [Online]. Available: IEEE Xplore, http://www.ieee.org. [Accessed: July 11, 2019]. |
|
Internet Documents |
||
| Material Type | In Text Citation | Reference List Entry |
| Electronic Document | [29] | [29] European Telecommunications Standards Institute, “Digital Video Broadcasting (DVB): Implementation guidelines for DVB terrestrial services; transmission aspects,” European Telecommunications Standards Institute, ETSI TR-101-190, 1997. [Online]. Available: http://www.etsi.org. [Accessed: Aug. 17, 1998]. |
| Government Publication | [30] | [30] Australia. Department of of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations, Survey on Changes in Awareness and Understanding of Science, Engineering and Technology: Report on findings. Canberra: The Department; 2008. [Online]. Available: http://www.dest.gov.au/NR/rdonlyres/241263CF-8585-4EEC-B104-C947C6C18029/23713/SurveyonChangesinawarenessunderstandingofSET.pdf. [Accessed: Sept. 7, 2010]. |
| Legislation | [31] | [31] Australian Energy Market Act 2004 (Cth). [Online]. Available: https://www.legislation.gov.au/Series/C2004A01335. [Accessed: Apr. 11, 2019]. |
| Whole Internet Site | [32] | [32] J. Geralds, "Sega Ends Production of Dreamcast," vnunet.com, para. 2, Jan. 31, 2001. [Online]. Available: http://nl1.vnunet.com/news/1116995. [Accessed: Sept. 12, 2004]. |
|
Journal Articles |
||
| Material Type | In Text Citation | Reference List Entry |
| Journal Article from a Full Text Database | [33] | [33] H. Ayasso and A. Mohammad-Djafari, "Joint NDT image restoration and segmentation using Gauss–Markov–Potts prior models and variational Bayesian computation," IEEE Transactions on Image Processing, vol. 19, no. 9, pp. 2265-77, 2010. [Online]. Available: IEEE Xplore, http://www.ieee.org. [Accessed Sept. 10, 2010]. |
| Journal Article from the Internet | [34] | [34] P. H. C. Eilers and J. J. Goeman, "Enhancing scatterplots with smoothed densities," Bioinformatics, vol. 20, no. 5, pp. 623-628, March 2004. [Online]. Available: www.oxfordjournals.org. [Accessed Sept. 18, 2004]. |
| Journal Article in Print: Abbreviated titles | [35] | [35] G. Liu, K. Y. Lee, and H. F. Jordan, "TDM and TWDM de Bruijn networks and shufflenets for optical communications," IEEE Trans. Comp., vol. 46, pp. 695-701, June 1997. |
| Journal Article in Print: Full titles |
[36] |
[36] J. R. Beveridge and E. M. Riseman, "How easy is matching 2D line models using local search?" IEEE Transactions on Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence, vol. 19, pp. 564-579, June 1997. |
|
Newspaper Articles |
||
| Material Type | In Text Citation | Reference List Entry |
| Newspaper Article in Print |
[37] |
[37] N. Perpitch, "Green groups battle to overturn gas plan," The Australian, p. 2, Sept. 7, 2010. |
| Newspaper Article from the Internet |
[38] |
[38] C. Wilson-Clark, "Computers ranked as key literacy," The West Australian, para. 3, March 29, 2004. [Online]. Available: http://www.thewest.com.au. [Accessed Sept. 18, 2004]. |
| Newspaper Article from a Full Text Database |
[39] |
[39] J. Riley, "Call for new look at skilled migrants," The Australian, p. 35, May 31, 2005. [Online]. Available: Factiva, http://global.factiva.com. [Accessed May 31, 2005]. |
|
Podcasts |
||
| Material Type | In Text Citation | Reference List Entry |
| Podcast |
[40] |
[40] R. Robertson, Speaker, Leadership at the Bottom of the Earth…Where No One Hears You Scream, 2010 Sir Walter Murdoch Lecture. Murdoch (WA): Murdoch University; 2010. [Podcast]. Available: https://lectures.murdoch.edu.au/lectopia/lectopia.lasso?ut=1369&id=71101. [Accessed Aug. 5, 2010]. |
| Podcast Lecture from LMS |
[41] |
[41] D. Hill, Speaker, Australian Media Representation of Asia. In Australia in Asia (FDN110). Murdoch (WA): Murdoch University; Apr. 4, 2012. [Podcast lecture]. Available: https://lectures.murdoch.edu.au/lectopia/casterframe.lasso?fid=375705&cnt=true&usr=S940025F&name=not-indicated. [Accessed Jun. 5, 2012].
|
| Podcast Radio Programme |
[42] |
[42] S. Gary, Presenter, “Black Hole Death Ray,” StarStuff, Dec. 23, 2007. Sydney: ABC News Radio. [Podcast radio programme]. Available: http://abc.net.au/newsradio/podcast/STARSTUFF.xml. [Accessed Feb. 4, 2008]. |
| Podcast Television Programme | [43] | [43] W. Brown and K. Brodie, Presenters, and P. George, Producer, “From Lake Baikal to the Halfway Mark, Yekaterinburg,” Peking to Paris: Episode 3, Jun. 4, 2007. Sydney: ABC Television. [Podcast television programme]. Available: http://www.abc.net.au/tv/pekingtoparis/podcast/pekingtoparis.xml. [Accessed Feb. 4, 2008]. |
|
Readers/Study Guides |
||
| Material Type | In Text Citation | Reference List Entry |
| Reader |
[44] |
[44] C. J. Campbell and J. H. Laherrere, "The End of Cheap Oil", Scientific American, vol. 278, no. 3, pp. 78-83, March 1998. Reprinted in Introduction to Energy Studies (PEC190): Selected readings. Murdoch, WA: Murdoch Univ., 2006, pp. 129-134. |
|
Theses |
||
| Material Type | In Text Citation | Reference List Entry |
| Unpublished Thesis | [45] | [45] M. W. Dixon, "Application of neural networks to solve the routing problem in communication networks," Ph.D. dissertation, Murdoch Univ., Murdoch, WA, Australia, 1999. |
| Published Thesis |
[46] |
[46] M. Lehmann, Data Access in Workflow Management Systems. Berlin: Aka, 2006. |
| Thesis from a Full Text Database |
[47] |
[47] F. Sudweeks, Development and Leadership in Computer-Mediated Collaborative Groups. PhD [Dissertation]. Murdoch, WA: Murdoch Univ., 2007. [Online]. Available: Australasian Digital Theses Program. |