NOTICE: This guide is currently under review, with a new guide to be launched before Semester 1, 2025. In the meantime, please direct any queries or feedback about this guide to the Library's Digital Experience via our Enquiry and Feedback form.
Legal Research Resources
Research Resources
| Australian and international journal articles on criminology | |
| ACM Digital Library | Conference proceedings, transactions, journals, newsletters and other publications from the Association for Computing Machinery. |
| Australian law journals, cases, encyclopaedia and LawCite | |
|
Australian legal cases. |
|
| Law and criminology journals | |
|
Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment (BLASE) |
In addition to full-text books and bibliographies, the collection contains US federal and state documents. |
|
|
Systematic reviews and other evidence synthesis for evidence-based policy and practice |
| Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations | Solve abbreviations for legal publications - Case Reporting Series and Journals |
|
Search Help - iKnowConnect |
Australian employment, sports, tax law |
| Center for Security Studies | Analysis of changing threats to states and their societies, key actors addressing threats, international relations and security-related issues. |
|
Australian journal articles on crime and the criminal justice system Tip: Narrow Search Results by PRODUCTS to Australian Criminology Database |
|
| Congressional hearings, U.S. Department of Justice publications, GAO and CRS reports as well as rare or hard-to-find pamphlets, memoirs, books and journals dedicated solely to criminal justice that focus on how criminal justice systems have changed in American and English law. | |
| Research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. | |
| Journals and books (some in German) on civil, corporate, and criminal law | |
| Australian Commonwealth Acts, Bills, EMs, Government Gazette, Constitution | |
| UK court and tribunal decisions from the superior courts of record – The Supreme Court, Court of Appeal, High Court, and Upper Tribunals | |
| Publications of the American Society of International Law, prominent Yearbooks from around the world, the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series, and more. Great historical depth. | |
| Index of principal legal journals from the USA, Australia, Britain, Canada and New Zealand | |
|
International criminology and law journals; English Reports 1220-1867 Australian Law Reform Commission Library, international criminology and law journals |
|
| UK cases, current legislation | |
|
Maritime, commercial law - Lloyd's Reports Note: use the link to the corporate account to log in
|
|
|
Australian, New Zealand and Pacific criminology and law journal articles, including the Australian Federal Police Digest |
|
| International Institute for Strategic Studies | Global security, political risk and military conflict |
|
Australian Cases Register using your Murdoch student email for free Jade Professional access |
|
| EU, international articles | |
| AustLII case citator locates judgments subsequently dealt with and commented upon. LawCite is a legal case and journal article citatory used to locate judgments and see how these have been subsequently dealt with and commented upon, or to see where journal articles have been cited. |
|
|
Search Help |
Australian migration and citizenship legislation and policy |
| Easy access to Australian Commonwealth & State legislation and subordinate legislation (eg regulations) | |
| Australian criminology and law journals, cases, encyclopaedia Good source for unreported judgments |
|
| Guidance, practice tips, legislation, cases, checklists, tools, forms and precedents on Australian topics: business | consumer | employment | immigration | intellectual property | social justice | succession | work, health & safety | |
| Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law |
|
|
Articles, ebooks, pbooks, videos, and more. Tip: Filter results by Available online and Peer-reviewed |
|
| Research, policy and practice in criminal and juvenile justice and drug control, including U.S. and international publications | |
| New Zealand's Senior Courts' (Supreme Court, Court of Appeal, High Court) judicial decisions. | |
| Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) provides research on economic and social policies | |
| Financial and Banking Law, International Commercial Arbitration & Law, Private International Law | |
| Decisions on public international law from international law courts, domestic courts, and ad hoc tribunals | |
| Australian Commonwealth Acts, Bills, EMs, Second Reading Speeches, Hansard, Press Releases | |
| Western Australian Acts, Bills, EMs, Second Reading Speeches, Hansard | |
| Multidisciplinary collection of journals, magazines, newspapers and theses | |
| Psychology and psychological aspects of crime | |
| Index of resources on criminology and related disciplines | |
| US, international cases, articles, treatises | |
| Check: is that journal is peer reviewed | |
| International statistical databases covering agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade. | |
| UK cases, legislation, Singapore cases, Canadian cases, journals, cases & legislation from commonwealth countries (formerly JustisOne) |
|
| Includes research on politics and security | |
|
Western Australian Acts, Bills, EMs |
|
| Australian criminology and law journals, cases, encyclopaedia Good source for authorised court reporting series |
|
| US, international cases, articles, treatises | |
| US, international cases, articles, treatises | |
| UK, EU cases, legislation articles, commentary, ebooks | |
| Journal resource on crime scene investigation, digital sciences, and jurisprudence | |
| World Legal Information Institute - International law | |
| SAGE Research Methods (SRM) allows researchers to explore methods and concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SRMO focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more. |
|
| All Databases | Databases can be browsed by Subject or Title. Example: Education & Higher Education databases |
|
Results can be filtered by:
|
|
| All Law, Criminology & Security Studies Databases | |
| Humanities, Arts & Social Sciences | |
| Medical, Molecular & Forensic Science | |
| Psychology & Counselling | |
| Assignment Planner | |
| My Unit Readings | |
| Support for Students Resources | |
Ask our Librarians
