Legal Research Guide: Study and Research

Boolean Operators must be ALL CAPITAL LETTERS.

Order of priority :   (  ), OR,  PROXIMITY,  AND   

Searches are processed by brackets first, then from left to right - so place most important terms first.

Create Search Strings with Boolean Connectors

Example Topic:

Provide an overview of current WA law for using a phone when driving

Search terms:

using        phone    driving

Filters:

Date range:   current      Jurisdiction:  Western Australia

Synonyms:

Search String:

((conduct! OR distract! OR hold! OR inattent! OR use OR using) /15 (phone OR telephone OR text)) /25 (automobile OR car OR "dangerous thing!" OR driv! OR vehicle)

Search strings

Search strings are created using search terms, their synonyms, and Boolean operators and connectors.

Example search string:

((balance OR distribut! OR separat!) /5 power!) AND commonwealth AND state

This search string will search for:

balance within 5 words of power - any order

distribute within 5 words of power - any order

distributed within 5 words of power - any order

distribution within 5 words of power - any order

separate within 5 words of power - any order

separated within 5 words of power - any order

separation within 5 words of power - any order

One or more of the above must appear in a document, as well as the word commonwealth, as well as the word state

Note: search words remain in the singular, as the databases will automatically search for singular and plural - even woman/women

Sample search string to source the meaning of slavery:

(character! OR defin! OR describ! OR expla! OR interpret! OR mean!) /25 slave!

Remove Formatting of Quotation Marks in Word

Databases do not like the formatting Word places to make quotation marks curly.

Remove the automatic formatting so you can create search strings and paste these straight into a database.

To do this:

• Select File
• Select Options
• Select Proofing
• Select AutoCorrect Options...
• Select AutoFormat tab
• Uncheck the box for 'Straight quotes' with 'smart quotes'
• Select AutoFormat As You Type tab
• Uncheck box for 'Straight quotes' with 'smart quotes' in the Replace as you type section

Select Proofing	Select AutoFormat	Select AutoFormat As You Type

Make Your Own Search String

Clear form

IRAC method for analysis of legal problems:

Issue(s)

Rule(s)

Application

Conclusion

UWA IRAC Guide

Legal Problem Solving Guide

Step 1: Identify Parties by name and their role in proceedings
       *  plaintiff
       *  defendant

Step 2: Identify Particulars
       *  the injury/harm/loss
       *  the alleged wrong doings​

Step 3: Identify all possible Tortious Causes of Action (COA)

Step 4: Identify the Elements of the COA
       *  define COA
       *  cite relevant authorities
       *  this sentence should include Step 1 (identifying the parties), Step 2 (identifying the injuries and alleged wrongdoing), Step 3 (the possible cause of action) and Step 4 (identifying the elements). Note that a relevant legal authority for the law (that is, the elements of the cause of action) should also be cited
eg Patsy, the plaintiff, could sue Darren, the defendant, in negligence for his failure to stop at a red traffic light which caused property damage to her car and personal injury in the form of a broken arm: Donoghue v Stevenson [1932] AC 562.

Step 5: Identify the law governing the Elements of the COA
       *  cite relevant authorities which govern the elements of the cause of action the plaintiff is trying to establish

Step 6: Apply the law to the facts
       *  define/explain each element
       *  argue whether the legal rule/principle is satisfied by the facts in the scenario using relevant authorities
       *  every legal principle must be supported with the relevant/best authority (case law or a section of legislation)
          *  for contentious elements, outline both sides of the argument (e.g. the strengths and weakness of the party’s case)
          *  use case law as authority   OR  use case law for analogy

Step 7: Consider Defences
       *  identify defences arising on the facts
       *  apply the law to the facts for the relevant defences 

Step 8: Consider Remedies
       *  identify  remedies arising on the facts
       *  apply the law to the facts for the relevant remedies

Step 9: Conclusion
       *  give a brief conclusion regarding the likely outcome
       *  highlight the controversial or uncertain matters
       *  justify your conclusion

Tip:
       *  use the language of the legislation
           example: s 5B of the Civil Liability Act 2002 (WA) uses the term ‘not insignificant’; use this term, don’t change it to ‘significant’

Case Planning Guide

Reference Guides:

Author-date styles:

APA - Criminology, Education, Nursing, Psychology, Tourism

Chicago - Business & Governance,Transition Units, Multidisciplinary

MLA - English

Notational styles:

ACS - Chemistry

AGLC - Law

Footnote - Humanities, Social Sciences

IEEE - Computer Science, Electronics, Engineering, Information Technology

SBL - Theology

Vancouver - Biomedicine, Health Sciences

Style Manual

Word inserts a reference mark in the text and adds the footnote at the bottom of the page.

1.   Click where you want to add the footnote.

2.   Select References > Insert Footnote.

3.   Type the footnote text.

4.   To return to your place in your document, double-click the footnote mark.

Shortcut:   Ctrl+Alt+F to insert a footnote.

A more detailed explanation can be accessed from How to Add a Footnote to Microsoft Word

Bibliography

- include all sources consulted to inform you about a topic

Reference list

- include only those sources cited/referenced in footnotes 

AGLC requires that this list of resources is always entitled BIBLIOGRAPHY, regardless of the content.

Alphabetise List

Always refer to the Australian Guide to Legal Citation when completing your work.

Create a Hanging Indent in Word (for APA Referencing used for Criminology)

1. In Word, highlight your references
2. Right-mouse click and select Paragraph or click the small arrow in the Paragraph section of the Home tab
3. In the Indentation section, click the Special drop down menu and select Hanging
4. Click OK

Multi-Level Lists in Word

Install EndNote and AGLC Referencing Style



To use AGLC with EndNote you will need to download and save 2 small files from the Install AGLC Referencing Style to EndNote link below:

• Legal Reference Types e.g. Reported Cases, Legislation, Parliamentary Debates, Treaties, Books, Journal Articles etc
• AGLC4 (UTS) style: this allows you to correctly format references and use them with Word

EndNote for Law Tips

Note: EndNote has a number of issues with AGLC. 
Make a Plain Text Copy as a final step and manually edit the Word document into Headings or Sections.

In every unit, you will be informed about the marking criteria for assessments.
Different academics will generate this in different ways.  

Research essays or written work are marked with consideration given to where the piece of work falls in the context of the grade descriptors.
The marker asks themselves - where does this piece of work sit between a P and an HD?
If you have not met the learning objective, you may be marked lower than a P. The Legal Practice Board expects you to have basic competencies. You cannot receive a pass mark if you do not have these.)
The marker then determines whether the work just scrapes into that grade band, whether it is a solid performance in that grade band, or whether it is almost, but not quite, the grade band above.

The University sets out descriptors for each grade. These are set out in the Unit Guide.
An HD grade recognises the work is of an exceptional standard. That means only a few papers will get it. (Otherwise it would not be exceptional.)
Obtaining such grades takes hard work and a fastidious approach to research and writing.
It needs to be excellent in every respect.
If there are spelling errors, or errors in citation, the mark will drop significantly.

It is virtually impossible to get a mark of 100% in a research essay.
Even a mark of 90% or above is incredibly rare and a mark of 80% is a significant achievement.
You can always improve the quality of expression.
There is always more research that could be done.
The marker has to leave room for the possibility that someone else will come along with an even better piece of writing.

A mark slightly below the percent off the next grade - eg 68%  - is a deliberate decision by your marker.
In other words, your work was assessed as being at the higher end of that grade, but not quite at the level of the next grade.
Students who ask 'Where did I lose marks?' have missed the point.
The feedback you receive - whether a marking matrix, comments, or general feedback to the class - should explain to you why you earned that grade.

Some assessments are not assessing your written work.
They might be of a style where you can score 'perfect' marks - such as a Library Research Test, a multi choice assessment, a citation quiz, a grammar quiz, or a research report.
If you follow the instructions to the letter, and understand the task that has been set, you can earn a very high mark.
Such assessments are usually not weighted very much because they can over-inflate the marks overall.
Because it is easy to do well in those types of tests, you cannot necessarily expect those marks to be a predictor of your future performance in the written assessment for the unit.
In other words, 'bank' the marks but don't get complacent!

This marking explanation also applies for exam marking.

- Kate Lewins 2020

Literature Review or Annotated Bibliography?

Annotated bibliography

An annotated bibliography provides a brief overview of the available research on a topic.
Each information source is accompanied by a citation that is followed by a brief descriptive paragraph.
An annotated bibliography provides  an assessment of the relevance and quality of the material on a topic. .

The description can:

• summarise the research sources and/or assess the value of the source
• reflect on the validity of this source material for your assignment

Format & Writing

Do:

• be concise – mention only significant details in your summary
• arrange in alphabetical order
• write in a singe paragraph (usually about 100-300 words, depending on the format but check with your lecturer)
• write in full sentences using academic writing style
• use transition words (e.g. furthermore, moreover, however, therefore …)
• write in a singe paragraph (usually about 100-300 words, depending on the format but check with your lecturer)

Do not:

• repeat information (e.g. the title) that is already in your citation
• cross reference

Tip:

Use examples from other annotated bibliographies to guide and check your writing style

Writing order:

1. Citation details (set out in the same style as a reference list item)
2. A short statement explaining the main focus or purpose of the work
3. A short summary of the theory, research findings or argument (e.g. intended audience, subjects covered, major arguments supported, research methods, conclusions reached, special features)
4. Consideration of the usefulness and/or limitations of the text for your research (e.g. reliability of the text, credibility of the author, poor features, left-out content, weaknesses in argument)
5.  An evaluative comment on the work that may take into account how this work will fit into your research on a topic (e.g. critical comment, critical reflection that describes the usefulness or relevance of the information for your writing task).

The bibliographical information may be 

• descriptive (see points 1-3 below) or 
• descriptive + evaluative (see points 1-5 below)

Annotated bibliography entries

When you compose your annotated bibliography, you will need to consider each part of the bibliography. 
Sentence starters can help to focus on these.

Write Case Notes/Summaries

Case note components:

(a) Case citation details

(b) Facts (name of the case and its parties, what happened factually and procedurally, and the judgment)

(c) Issues (what is in dispute)

(d) Holding (the applied rule of law)

(e) Rationale (reasons for the holding)

More details on writing case summaries:

How To Write a Case Brief For Law School 

10 Tips on Making Case Summaries

Writing Case Notes

MEMORANDUM

TO: [reader] (e.g., instructing lawyer, client, judge) FROM: [your full name]
DATE: [date of submission]
FILE: [file number; client/matter]
SUBJECT: [topic] (describe precisely)

Table of Contents

Background / Purpose

Facts

Assumptions

Issues

Conclusions

Legislation

Discussion / Analysis

Reference List

Appendix

The Library has Research Guides with detailed instructions to assist with writing a literature review and thesis:

Literature Review - Research Guide

• Planning Your Review
• Searching the Literature
• Managing Your Results
• Critical Reading and Analysis
• Writing Your Review

Theses - Research Guide

• Sourcing Theses - Murdoch, Australian, International
• Writing a Thesis
• Copyright Advice
• Submitting a Thesis

Topic Research Guides

From Administrative Law to White Collar Crime