Skip to Main Content

Law & Criminology - Subject Guide

Law Home

Legal Research Resources

Academic OneFile

Search Help

Australian and international journal articles on criminology
ACM Digital Library   

AustLII

AustLII Case Law Database

Search Help

Australian law journals, cases, encyclopaedia and LawCite

Browzine 

Search Help

Law and criminology journals

Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment (BLASE) 

Search Help

In addition to full-text books and bibliographies, the collection contains US federal and state documents.

Campbell Collaboration 

 

Systematic reviews and other evidence synthesis for evidence-based policy and practice

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations Solve abbreviations for legal publications - Case Reporting Series and Journals

CCH IntelliConnect

Search Help

Australian employment, sports, tax law
Center for Security Studies  Analysis of changing threats to states and their societies, key actors addressing threats, international relations and security-​related issues.

CINCH
Australian Criminology
Database

Search Help
Select the
SEARCHING AND RESULTS tab

Australian journal articles on crime and the criminal justice system

Tip: Narrow Search Results by PRODUCTS to Australian Criminology Database

Criminal Justice & Criminology

Search Help

Congressional hearings, U.S. Department of Justice publications, GAO and CRS reports as well as rare or hard-to-find pamphlets, memoirs, books and journals dedicated solely to criminal justice that focus on how criminal justice systems have changed in American and English law.

Criminal Justice Database

Search Help

Research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.

De Gruyter 

Journals and books (some in German) on civil, corporate, and criminal law

Factiva

Search Help

Newspaper articles, press releases (comprehensive Australian coverage)

Federal Register of Legislation

Search Help

Australian Commonwealth Acts, Bills, EMs, Government Gazette, Constitution

Find Case Law

Search Help

UK court and tribunal decisions from the superior courts of record – The Supreme Court, Court of Appeal, High Court, and Upper Tribunals

Foreign & International Law Resources Database 

Search Help

Publications of the American Society of International Law, prominent Yearbooks from around the world, the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series, and more. Great historical depth.

Gale OneFile : LegalTrac 

Help Video

Index of principal legal journals from the USA, Australia, Britain, Canada and New Zealand

HeinOnline 

Search Help

International criminology and law journals; English Reports 1220-1867

Australian Law Reform Commission Library, international criminology and law journals

ICLR

Search Help

UK cases, current legislation

i-law 

Search Help

Maritime, commercial law - Lloyd's Reports

Note: use the link to the corporate account to log in

   

Informit including AGIS (for Law Journals)

Search Help
Select the
SEARCHING AND RESULTS tab

Australian, New Zealand and Pacific criminology and law journal articles, including the Australian Federal Police Digest

International Institute for Strategic Studies  Global security, political risk and military conflict

Jade

Search Help

Australian Cases

Register using your Murdoch student email for free Jade Professional access

Kluwer Law Online 

EU, international articles

LawCite

Search Help

AustLII case citator locates judgments subsequently dealt with and commented upon

LEGENDcom

Search Help 
Scroll to the bottom of LEGENDcom home page to access Training material

Australian migration and citizenship legislation and policy

Legify

Easy access to Australian Commonwealth & State legislation and subordinate legislation (eg regulations)

Lexis Advance

Search Help / Training Webinars

Australian criminology and law journals, cases, encyclopaedia
Good source for unreported judgments

LexisNexis - Practical Guidance

Help Video

Guidance, practice tips, legislation, cases, checklists, tools, forms and precedents on Australian  topics: business | consumer | employment | immigration | intellectual property | social justice | succession | work, health & safety

Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law 

Help Video

Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law
Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law

Murdoch Library Search

Search Help

Articles, ebooks, pbooks, videos, and more.

Tip: Filter results by    Available online   and     Peer-reviewed

National Criminal Justice Reference Service

Search Help

Research, policy and practice in criminal and juvenile justice and drug control, including U.S. and international publications

New Zealand Decisions Online 

New Zealand's Senior Courts' (Supreme Court, Court of Appeal, High Court) judicial decisions.

OECD iLibrary 

Search Help

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) provides research on economic and social policies

Oxford Legal Research Library 

Search Help

Financial and Banking Law, International Commercial Arbitration & Law, Private International Law

Oxford Reports on International Law 

Search Help

Decisions on public international law from international law courts, domestic courts, and ad hoc tribunals

Parliament of Australia

Search Help

Australian Commonwealth Acts, Bills, EMs, Second Reading Speeches, Hansard, Press Releases

Parliament of Western Australia

Search Help

Western Australian Acts, Bills, EMs, Second Reading Speeches, Hansard

ProQuest

Search Help

Multidisciplinary collection of journals, magazines, newspapers and theses

PsycINFO

Search Help

Psychology and psychological aspects of crime

Scopus

Search Help

Index of resources on criminology and related disciplines

Thomson Reuters Westlaw Classic 

Search Help

US, international cases, articles, treatises
UN data International statistical databases covering agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade.

vLexJustis 

Search Help

UK cases, legislation, Singapore cases, Canadian cases, journals, cases & legislation from commonwealth countries
(formerly JustisOne)

UlrichsWeb

Search Help

Check: is that journal is peer reviewed

Web of Science

Search Help

Includes research on politics and security

Western Australian Legislation

Search Help

Western Australian Acts, Bills, EMs

Advanced Search

Westlaw Australia

Search Help

Australian criminology and law journals, cases, encyclopaedia
Good source for authorised court reporting series

Westlaw Classic 

Search Help

US, international cases, articles, treatises

Westlaw International 

Search Help

US, international cases, articles, treatises

Westlaw UK 

Search Help

UK, EU cases, legislation articles, commentary, ebooks

WIREs Forensic Science

Search Help

Encyclopaedic resource on crime scene investigation, digital sciences, and jurisprudence

WorldLII 

Search Help

World Legal Information Institute - International law

Sage Research Methods

Search Help

SAGE Research Methods (SRM) allows researchers to explore methods and concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
Since SRMO focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
All Databases  Databases can be browsed by Subject or Title.  Example: Education & Higher Education databases

Library Search

Search Help

Results can be filtered by:

  • Scholarly and peer reviewed
  • Content type e.g. journal articles, books
  • Date
  • Subject
Law: Key Databases 
Law: Other Databases 
Biomedical Science Databases  
Criminology Websites and Criminology Related Statistics Websites
Forensic Science & Toxicology Databases
Psychology Databases
Sociology Databases
Women's Studies Databases
Assignment Planner 
My Unit Readings 
Support for Students Resources

 

Help Desk

Law & Criminology Library Help Desk

Semester hours:

Tuesday - Friday: 11am - 3pm 

Ask the Law & Criminology Library Help Desk Staff via Collaborate

In Person | Video Call | Live Chat |
Phone: 9360 2838

The Law Library Help Desk is staffed by senior law students who can assist with your Library Research Tests and legal research queries.

Location: Murdoch University Law Library, South Wing Level 3 of the South Street Campus Library.

Ask our librarians

Our librarians are skilled information professionals who can provide study, teaching and research support.