Help and Support: Legal Research Guide: Source Case Law

Source Case Law

You need to know which database to search to find a case.
Otherwise, it's like trying to find Wonder Woman in a Marvel comic.

Sourcing Cases by Citation:

Step 1: Solve the abbreviation of the court reporting series into full using Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
Step 2: Search for the full name of the court reporting series using Library Search
Step 3: Source the court reporting series on the correct database (e.g. Lexis+ or Westlaw Australia) or Library shelves (e.g. All England Law Reports)

Source Case by Citation

Example: 249 CLR 435, [2013] HCA 1

AustLII	Jade	Lexis+	Westlaw Australia
1. Type case citation into the Search box, enclosed in double inverted commas "2013 HCA 1" Note: It is more efficient to use the medium neutral citation when searching in AustLII	1. Type case citation into the Search box, enclosed in double inverted commas "249 CLR 435"	1. Type case citation into the search box, enclosed in double inverted commas "249 CLR 435"	1. Type case citation into the Search box, enclosed in double inverted commas "249 CLR 435" PAUSE DO NOT CLICK SEARCH WAIT FOR SUGGESTIONS
2. Click on the magnifying glass icon for Search	2. Click on search now		2. Select the relevant case from the drop-down suggestion/s
3 Select the relevant case from the Results list: Google Inc v Australian Competition and Consumer Commission [2013] HCA 1 (6 February 2013)	3 Select the relevant case from the Results list: Google Inc v Australian Competition and Consumer Commission [2013] HCA 1 (06 February 2013) (French CJ, Hayne, Heydon, Crennan and Kiefel JJ) 249 CLR 435; 87 ALJR 235; 294 ALR 404; 99 IPR 197 _________________________		3. Click on the Other Versions drop-down arrow to access the authorised version
	Tip: Sign up for Jade Professional using your Murdoch student email address @student.murdoch.edu.au (it is free)

Sourcing Cases by Case/Party Name:

Start your search by case name in Westlaw Australia , as most authorised reports are in Westlaw Australia.
Be sure to open the Cases Advanced Search template, then add the Case Name into the Case Title/Party Name field.

Example: Case name supplied: Roman Catholic Church Trustees v Hadba

Step 1: Select Cases from the Content types on the Westlaw Australia home page
Step 2: Select Advanced search
Step 3: Complete the Case Title/Party Name field; Search
Step 4: Select relevant result: Case name in Westlaw Australia: Trustees of Roman Catholic Church for Diocese of Canberra and Goulburn v Hadba [2005] HCA 31, 221 CLR 161.

More details can be found in the Self Paced Lesson for sourcing a case by the case name.

Source a UK case

vLexJustis is a case citator.
It will give links to where the case can be sourced from the Library's current subscription databases.

Example: Balfour v Balfour [1919] 2 KB 571

1. Access vLexJustis

2. Type case citation into the Search box, enclosed in double inverted commas
"[1919] 2 KB 571"

3. Check that the jurisdiction is United Kingdom

4. Click on the magnifying glass icon for Search

5. Select the relevant case from the Results list:

6. The Citations & Sources panel lists databases for each of the case citations.
Look in the block for the citation [1919] 2 KB 571

7. Select the logo for ICLR to access the case.

Tip:

Click on the Precedent Map tab to see cases that have cited this case.

Learn more in the

Access the Wardens Court for WA mining law disputes.

Famous cases

For famous cases, such as the AAP Case, Engineers Case, Mabo Case, Seas & Submerged Lands Case and the Woollen Underwear Case, start by search legal encyclopaedia and case citators (they are often referred to by their common names):

Halsbury's Laws of Australia (available via the database Lexis+
The Laws of Australia (available via the database Westlaw Australia )
ICLR (for UK cases eg Balfour v Balfour [1919] 2 KB 571; Merritt v Merritt [1970] 2 All ER 760)
vLexJustis (for UK cases from the English Reports)

Cases often asked for:

Associated Minerals Pty Ltd v NSW Rutile Mining Company Pty Ltd [1962] ALR 236; (1961) 35 ALJR 296
A citation often supplied for this case is (1961) 35 ALJR 256

The citation is incorrect
Volume and ALJR are correct, but the page number is incorrect
Search for the case on JADE to find it referred to in another case - this time with the correct page number

Atkins v Egypt Holdings Pty Ltd (unreported, SCWA, 10 July 1987)

Lexis+ > Select AU Cases from All Content menu and Western Australia from AUS Jurisdiction menu > Case Name: Atkins AND Egypt Holdings

Crocker Consolidated v Willie [1988] WAR 187

Westlaw Australia > Search by Citation: "1988 WAR 187"

Browne v. Dunn (1893) 6 R 67

Balfour v Balfour [1919] 2 KB 571

Step 1: Access ICLR from the Legal Research Guide's list of databases
Step 2: Access ICLR database from the link in the Library record within the View Online field
Step 3: Add case name (part names) to search box "Balfour v Balfour"
Step 4: Select link to [1919] 2 KB 571 from Results list entry

A series of court reports officially approved by the judiciary or government is known as an authorised or official series of reports.

In each jurisdiction only one series is designated as authorised.

Cases which elucidate a general principle or point of law are usually included in the authorised series of reports.

The 'Authorised reports of judgments of the courts of NSW' article explains the selection process for authorised reports in more detail.

Australia

Jurisdiction	Series	Citation
Federal Court	Federal Court Reports 1984+	FCR
High Court	Commonwealth Law Reports 1903+	CLR
Administrative Appeals Tribunal	Administrative Law Decisions 1976+	ALD
Australian Industrial Relations Commission	Industrial Reports (Authorised reports of the AIRC are included from Vol. 154, 2006+)	IR
Industrial Relations Commission	Commonwealth Arbitration Report(s) 1905-1993	CAR
Veterans Review Board	Repatriation Pension Decisions 1985+	RPD
Supreme Court of New South Wales	New South Wales Law Reports 1970+ State Reports NSW 1901 – 1970 New South Wales Law Reports 1825 – 1900	NSWLR SR NSW NSWLR
Northern Territory	Northern Territory Law Reports 1991+	NTLR
Queensland	Queensland Reports 1958+ State Reports. Queensland 1902-57	QR, QdR St R Qd
South Australia	South Australian State Reports 1971+ State Reports. South Australia 1921-71 South Australian Law Reports 1865-1920	SASR SRSA SALR
Tasmania	Tasmanian Reports 1979+ State Reports Tasmania 1941-1978 Tasmanian Law Reports 1897-1940	Tas R Tas SR TLR
Victoria	Victorian Reports 1957+ Victorian Law Reports 1875-1956	VR VLR
Western Australia	Western Australian Reports 1983+ Western Australian Reports 1960-1982 - print only Western Australian Law Reports 1898-1959	WAR WAR WALR

New Zealand

Jurisdiction

Series

Citation

Court of Appeal

High Court

New Zealand Law Reports 1883+

NZLR

England & Wales

The Law Report Series had several title variations between 1866 and 1891.

Since 1891 the following have been established as the current Law Reports Series:

Jurisdiction	Series	Citation
High Court	Chancery Division 1891+	Ch.D or Ch
High Court	Probate, Divorce and Admiralty	P. or P.D.
High Court	Division 1891-1971 Family Division 1972+	Fam
High Court	Queen’s/King’s Bench Division 1891+	QB or KB
House of Lords & Privy Council	Appeal Cases 1891+	A.C.
Government official reports	Reports of Patent, Design & Trade Mark Cases 1884+	RPC
Government official reports	Reports of Tax Cases 1875+	TC

Northern Ireland

Jurisdiction	Series	Citation
Superior Courts & Appeals to the House of Lords	Northern Ireland Law Reports 1925 +	NI or NILR

Scotland

Jurisdiction

Series

Citation

Court of Appeal

Court of Session &
High Court of Judiciary

Session Cases 1821+

Canada

Jurisdiction	Series	Citation
Supreme Court	Canada Supreme Court Reports 1970+ Canada Law Reports, Supreme Court of Canada 1923-69 Canada Supreme Court Reports 1876-1922	SCR
Exchequer Court	Canada Law Reports, Exchequer Court of Canada 1923-1969 Reports of the Exchequer Court of Canada 1881-1922	Ex.CR
Federal Court	Canada Federal Court Reports 1971	FCR

United States of America

Jurisdiction	Series	Citation
Supreme Court	United States Supreme Court Reports 1790+	USSC.Rep or US

Rule 2.2.2 Law Report Series Hierarchy

The authorised version of the report should always be used where available.

The version of a case to be cited should follow the preference order below (from top to bottom):

Version	Examples
Authorised report	CLR, FCR, NSWLR, VR,WAR
Generalist unauthorised report	ALR, AJLR, FLR, ACTR
Subject-specific unauthorised report	A Crim R, ACSR, IR, IPR
Unreported (medium neutral citation)	HCA, FCA, NSWSC, VSC
Unreported (no medium neutral citation)	See rule 2.3.2

Western Australian Reports

Western Australian Reports 1983+ - Westlaw Australia

Western Australian Reports 1959-1982 - print only - Murdoch Law Library

Western Australian Law Reports 1898-1958 - AustLII

There is an ongoing copyright dispute over the WAR 1959-1982, so they are not available online until this is resolved.

AustLII	Jade	Lexis+	Westlaw Australia
1. Select Advanced Search... from the drop-down arrow	1. Select Advanced Search from the drop-down arrow	1. Select Advanced Search - AU Cases	Option 1: 1. Select Content Type - Cases 2. Select Advanced Search
2. Select the Boolean Query tab	2. Complete the Words and phrases field	2. Enter the case name in the Words and Phrases Judicially Considered field	2. Complete the Words and Phrases field
3. Complete the Enter your search field: (character* OR compris* OR defin* OR describ* OR discuss* OR element* OR expla* OR interpret* OR mean* OR phras*) W/15 SearchWord	3. Click on Search	3. Click on Search	3. Click on Search
4. Scroll down and click in the check-box beside Select the database(s) to search... to clear the checked boxes	4. Results can be filtered by: * Date * Search within results * Collection _________________________	4. Results can be filtered by: > Jurisdiction > Court > Legal Topics _________________________	4. Results can be filtered by: + Jurisdiction + Date + Practice Area + Key Number _________________________
5. Check the box for All Case Law Databases	Tip: Sign up for Jade Professional using your Murdoch student email address @student.murdoch.edu.au (it is free)
6. Click on Advanced Search
7. Results can be sorted by: * Relevance * Database (recommended) * Date * Title

Sample search string for definition of slavery:

(character* OR compris* OR defin* OR describ* OR discuss* OR element* OR expla* OR interpret* OR mean* OR phras*) /15 slave*

AustLII	Jade	Lexis+	Westlaw Australia
Option 1: LawCite 1. Select LawCite (located at the far right on the red band)	1. Select Jade Browser tab Select Legislation Collection Select By legislature	1. Select Legislation from the Explore pod Select Western Australia from the Jurisdictions.	Option 1: Global Search: 1. Type the Act title and section number in the global search box Example: Legal Profession Uniform Law Application Act 2022 141 WAIT
2. Complete Legislation Considered fields Tip: Do not include a designation abbreviation - just the number Legal Profession Uniform Law Application Act 141 _________________________	2. Select Western Australian Legislation - Acts (WALegAct) Navigate to the relevant Act: Select Le Select Legal Profession Uniform Law Application Act	2. Scroll down to the table and select All Acts by Title	2. From the drop down suggestions, select the linked section title
Option 2: NoteUp 1. Select the relevant jurisdiction from the black ribbon on the AustLII home page Example: WA	3. Navigate to relevant section Select section title	3. Select the relevant Act title using the alphabetic index	3. From the Citing References tab, select Cases _________________________
2. Type the Act title and section number (number only) in the search box (located at the top right of screen) Example: Legal Profession Uniform Law Application Act 2022 141	4. Select relevant citations	4. Select the View Legislation Citator link	Option 2: Global Search: 1. Search by Act title in double inverted commas and section number to be within 10 words of Act title e.g. "Legal Profession Uniform Law Application Act 2022" /10 141
3. Select the magnifying glass Search icon	Tip: Sign up for Jade Professional using your Murdoch student email address @student.murdoch.edu.au (it is free)		2. Select Cases Option 1: Select View All Cases Option 2: Select Cases from the Content types menu
4. Select the hyperlinked Act and Section from the Results list from the Western Australian Current Acts database			Option 3: Advanced Search 1. Select Content type - All Cases
5. Select NoteUp References from below the CITED BY heading in the menu on the right of screen			2. Select Advanced Search
6. Sort Results By Database to easily identify cases			3. Complete Legislation Cited (Title) and Legislation Cited (Provision) fields Tip: Do not include a designation abbreviation - just the number _________________________

Find more information on : Judicial consideration of legislation

General search instructions

In each database:

select Cases Advanced Search
search by case name or citation
select Cited by

AustLII	Jade	Lexis+	Westlaw Australia
Option 1: LawCite: 1. Select LawCite (located at the far right on the red band)	Option 1: Citator: 1. Select the Citator tab	1. Go to the Advanced Search menu and select AU cases	1. Search by case citation in the global search box Example: [2009] NSWCA 148 WAIT FOR SUGGESTIONS
2. Complete Case citation OR case Party Names fields Example: [2009] NSWCA 148	2. Complete Case citation Example: [2009] NSWCA 148 Select the suggested relevant case	2. Complete citation OR Case Names field Example: [2009] NSWCA 148	2. Select relevant suggestion
3. Navigate to Cases Referring to this Case _________________________	3. Determine order of Results list Click on Search _________________________	3. Select result > CaseBase link	3. Select Cases from the Citing References tab
Option 2: NoteUp: 1. Search by case citation in the search box Example: "2009 NSWCA 148" Tip: AustLII does not like punctuation, so do not include brackets	Option 2: Citation Report: 1. Search for case by citation or party name Example: [2009] NSWCA 148	4. On the toolbar select Cases referring to this case
2. Select relevant case in the Result list	2. From the CaseTrace panel, click on the Citation report link
3. From the task menu on the right of screen, select the link for NoteUp NoteUp searches for all materials on AustLII referring to this case. Tip: Sort results by selecting the Databases tab to easily identify jurisdiction	3. Navigate to Cases citing this decision _________________________
	Option 3: Visualisations: 1. Search for case by citation or party name Example: [2009] NSWCA 148
	2. Select the Visualisations button to expand the Visualisations menu Select Precedent Tracker

Finding citing cases and tracking precedent on Lexis+

i.e. cited, considered, followed, applied, disapproved, etc.

Find the case
Look at the cases referring to this case. There are various ways of sorting this list
In the results, use the drop down to sort by Judgement date or via CaseBase Signal to the left of the case name.

View these step-by-step instructions for sourcing cases citing cases (judicial consideration) using CCH IntelliConnect:

CCH IntelliConnect

Self Paced Lesson with more detail : Judicial consideration of cases

General search instructions

In each database:

select Journals Advanced Search
search by case name or citation
select Journals referring to this case

AustLII	Lexis+	Westlaw Australia
Option 1: LawCite: 1. Select LawCite (located at the far right on the red band)	Step 1: In Advanced Search, select AU cases	1. Select Content Type - Secondary Sources 2. Select Advanced Search
2. Complete Case citation OR case Party Names fields	Step 2. Scroll to Citation field and enter citation. For example, search [2009] NSWCA 148	2. Complete Citation field Example: 2009 NSWCA 148
3. Navigate to Law Journal Articles Referring to this Case	Step 3: Click CaseBase link.	3. Filter results by Publication Type - Law Reviews & Journals
Option 2: Database Search: 1. Select Journals & Scholarship from the red ribbon	Step 4: Navigate to Publications referring to this case from the top bar.
2. Add the citation within double inverted commas to the search box (located in the top right corner) Example: "2009 NSWCA 148"
3. Click on the magnifying icon to Search
4. Results can be sorted: By Relevance By Citation Frequency By Database By Date By Title

Search for articles on :

Use the central search boxes on the home screens to add party names

Example: Informit: "Callow Rupchev"

CCH IntelliConnect: "Callow Rupchev"

Court Annotations

The following is list of annotations used by the court in the subsequent appeal proceedings or in the subsequent case where the primary case has been judicially considered.

Applied A principle of law articulated in the primary case is applied to a new set of facts by the court in the subsequent case.
Approved The court in the subsequent case has approved the way the court in the primary case, being a court of inferior jurisdiction, has articulated a principle of law.
Cited The primary case is merely cited by the court in the subsequent case, without comment.
Considered The legal principles articulated in the primary case are considered or discussed without adverse reflection in the subsequent case.
Disapproved The decision in the primary case is criticised by the court in the subsequent case.
Distinguished The court in the subsequent case holds that the legal principles articulated by the primary case (usually otherwise persuasive or binding authority) do not apply because of some essential difference between the two cases in fact or law.
Explained The decision reached in the primary case is justified by the court in the subsequent case, drawing attention to some feature of the primary case that may not be immediately obvious on its face.
Followed This annotation is similar to ‘applied’, but is used in circumstances where the facts in the primary case resemble reasonably closely the facts in the subsequent consideration case.
Not followed The court in the subsequent case has declined to apply the principles of law articulated in the primary case.
Overruled The legal principles articulated in the primary case are held to be incorrect by the court in the subsequent case, which is a court of superior or equivalent jurisdiction.
Questioned The court in the subsequent case has expressed doubt about the decision in the primary case, but does not actually determine that the principles of law in the primary case are incorrect.

The Appeal proceedings section of the CaseBase entry has the following annotations used by the courts:

Affirmed The decision in the primary case is upheld on appeal.
Reversed The decision in the primary case is overturned on appeal.
See The decision in the subsequent case relates in some way to the primary case, but the court in the subsequent case is not assessing the merits of the related primary decision.
Varied The decision in the primary case is only partly reversed or partly affirmed by the subsequent case. It is particularly used in circumstances where the court in the subsequent case has altered the quantum of damages awarded or the sentence imposed in the primary case.
Related The decision in the subsequent case relates in some way to the primary case, but the court in the primary case is not assessing the merits of the earlier related decision.
Special Leave Granted Special leave to appeal the decision in the primary case to the High Court or Privy Council has been granted. There is, therefore, an opportunity for the case itself to be overturned.
Special Leave Refused Special leave to appeal the decision in the primary case to the High Court or Privy Council has been refused. Therefore, the case is considered good law.

What do the colours mean?

The colours merely highlight and draw attention to the particular types of treatment.
They do not change or add to the meaning of the annotation.

Positive treatments are coloured green. e.g. followed, applied, approved or affirmed
Treatments indicating caution required are coloured amber. This can be everything from a distinguishing or explaining treatment (indicating that the law is still good but does not apply in the circumstances), to a varying treatment to a questioning (sometimes called a 'doubting') treatment.
Negative treatments are coloured red. e.g. disapproved, not followed, overruled or reversed
Neutral treatments are coloured black. e.g. considered or cited

Source: LexisNexisAU Help

Has the Case Been Appealed?

Federal Court Cases - Check the Progress of a Case/ Find Future Listings

High Court Cases - Special Leave Applications Results (select link from menu on left of screen)

Supreme Court of Western Australia - Court Lists

Supreme Court of Victoria - Judicial Review and Appeals List

Jade	Lexis Advance	Westlaw Australia
1. Log in to Jade* to access the Jade Professional features * Registration is free for current Murdoch Students 2. Add the case citation or party names to the search box 3. Select the suggested - document in Jade option 4. Click search now	Option 1: Similar Issues Panel 1. Select the CaseBase entry for a case 2. Browse the Similar Issues panel, to the right on the screen Cases with similar facts, issues or arguments are included in the list.	1. Type case citation into the global Search box, enclosed in double inverted commas Example: "2009 NSWCA 148" PAUSE DO NOT CLICK SEARCH WAIT FOR SUGGESTIONS
5. To the left on the screen, click on the Visualisations icon Visualisation tools represent information graphically 6. Select the Similarity box	_________________________	2. Select the relevant case from the drop-down suggestion/s
	Option 2: Similar catchwords 1. Select the CaseBase entry for a case 2. Browse the Catchwords 3. Copy the relevant Catchwords string 4. Select Advanced Search Cases 5. Paste the Catchwords into the Catchwords/Summary field on the search screen	From the Document tab, navigate down to the Digest pane. Select: Option 1: Key Number classification term to see other cases on this topic Option 2: Detailed Key Number (on right of screen) to see other cases on this specific point within the topic

Affidavit Templates and Guidance

Templates

Step 1: Access Lexis+

Step 2: Select AU Forms & Precedents from All Content menu

Step 3: Add search term affidavit into search bar and click Search.

Results can be Narrowed by
> Content Type
> Jurisdiction
> Publication
> Legal Topics

Guidance

Guidance includes checklists and advice for drafting an affidavit

Step 1: Access Lexis+

Step 2: Select AU Forms & Precedents from All Content menu

Step 3: Enter affidavit /25 draft! in search bar.

Step 4: From results, select AU Guidance from the left hand column.

Lexis Advance	Lexis Advance : Practical Guidance	Westlaw Australia
Step 1: Access Australian Encyclopaedia of Forms & Precedents	Step 1: Add search term to Search box Select magnifying icon to Search	Step 1: Select Content Type Forms & Precedents
Step 2: Option 1: Browse the contents, expanding relevant headings to view more specific Example: ☐ Clubs and Societies — 105 + Commentary to Clubs and Societies + Precedents to Clubs and Societies - Forms to Clubs and Societies - Western Australia 105.345 Application for incorporation of association — Form 1 — Department of Commerce (WA)	Step 2: Narrow search results From the Filter menu (on the left of screen) Select AU Forms & Precedents Tip: Select AU Guidance if you need instructions for drafting a form	Step 2: Option 1: Browse the Forms & Precedents Finder By Practice Area By Publication Select relevant headings to view available forms and precedents Example: Banking & Financial Services ACP Finance and Securities Precedents NSW precedents - Charge
Step 2: Option 2: Select Advanced Search Add search terms	Step 3: Narrow Results or Search within results	Step 2: Option 2: Search Forms & Precedents Finder - use the search box at the top of the screen

International Case Law

Judicial

BAILII - British, Irish, EU case law, legislation and law commission reports

CommonLII - Case law from 60 Commonwealth and common law jurisdictions

Courts of New Zealand - Judgments

HeinOnline - English Reports (1220-1867) + US material

ICLR - Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England and Wales, full text authorised case law database (best source for UK and EU cases)

Judicial Decisions Online (New Zealand)

LawCite - a free, automatically generated Australian and international legal case and journal article citator

New Zealand Legal Information Institute (NZLII)

Oxford Reports on International Law - full text of public international law decisions

vLexJustis - Citation and abstract of UK, Irish, EU, Indian, Singaporean and other international case law, full text of UK, Irish, EU, and other international case law (judicially considered legislation)

Westlaw Classic. - full text of international legal resources, includes UK, Canada, US and EU Case Law

Westlaw UK - UK and EU case law

WorldLII- global international law, broad coverage.

Subject

American Maritime Cases - Maritime decisions rendered by US (Federal and State courts), legislative action, administrative law and arbitration decisions and Maritime Law Association of the U.S. source material.

i-law maritime law - Maritime and related commercial information, includes Lloyd's Law Reports

Investment Claims - Arbitral cases, international law.

Kluwer Arbitration - decisions and awards on UNCITRAL Model Law, Arbitration

Example UK case:

A.G. Securities v Vaughan [1988] 3 All ER 1058

The Library may not have a subscription to the full text of a case in the case reporting service cited.

Utilise the parallel citations to source another version of the case (but be sue to check that you have the correct case).

ICLR	vLexJustis
1. Type in the party names (no citation)	1. Type in the party names (no citation)
2. Select a hyperlinked citation Check that the list of parallel citations includes the citation given.	2. Select a hyperlinked citation Check that the list of parallel citations includes the citation given.
What is a Law Report? will assist when reading a case.	3. In this instance, the judgment is available on vLexJustis. If the full text was not on vLexJustis, then select the Citations & Sources tab to reveal the icons of the databases that hold the full text of the case Select

ICLR

vLexJustis

1. Type in the party names (no citation)

2. Select a hyperlinked citation

Check that the list of parallel citations includes the citation given.

2. Select a hyperlinked citation

Check that the list of parallel citations includes the citation given.

What is a Law Report? will assist when reading a case.

3. In this instance, the judgment is available on vLexJustis.
If the full text was not on vLexJustis, then select the Citations & Sources tab to reveal the icons of the databases that hold the full text of the case

Select

Legal Research Guide: Source Case Law

Source Case Law

You need to know which database to search to find a case. Otherwise, it's like trying to find Wonder Woman in a Marvel comic.

Sourcing Cases by Citation:

Source Case by Citation

Sourcing Cases by Case/Party Name:

Source a UK case

Example: Balfour v Balfour [1919] 2 KB 571

Famous cases

Balfour v Balfour [1919] 2 KB 571

Australia

New Zealand

England & Wales

Northern Ireland

Scotland

Canada

United States of America

Rule 2.2.2 Law Report Series Hierarchy

Western Australian Reports

Option 1:

Option 1: LawCite

Option 1: Global Search:

Option 2: NoteUp

Option 2: Global Search:

Option 3: Advanced Search

General search instructions

Option 1: LawCite:

Option 1: Citator:

Option 2: NoteUp:

Option 2: Citation Report:

Option 3: Visualisations:

Finding citing cases and tracking precedent on Lexis+

View these step-by-step instructions for sourcing cases citing cases (judicial consideration) using CCH IntelliConnect:

General search instructions

Option 1: LawCite:

Option 2: Database Search:

Court Annotations

Has the Case Been Appealed?

Option 1: Similar Issues Panel

Option 2: Similar catchwords

Option 1:

Option 2:

Affidavit Templates and Guidance

Templates

Guidance

International Case Law

Judicial

Subject

Example UK case:

You need to know which database to search to find a case.
Otherwise, it's like trying to find Wonder Woman in a Marvel comic.