Legal Research Guide: Source Tertiary and Secondary Materials

Example 1:

"No Unbundling for Ethical Obligations" (2003) 41(6) LSJ 58

Example 3:

"James Hardie’s asbestos liability legacy in Australia: Disclosure, corporate social responsibility and the power of persuasion"  (2011) 26 Aust Jnl of Corp Law 55

Step 1.

Type article title into Library Search.

Tip:
enclose title in double inverted commas.

Example: "No Unbundling for Ethical Obligations"

Step 1:

Solve the journal abbreviation using Cardiff

Step 1:

Solve the journal abbreviation using Cardiff

Step 2:

Identify the relevant Result.

Click on the link Full Text Online

Step 2:

Type journal title into Library Search.

Tip:
enclose title in double inverted commas.

Step 2:

Type journal title into Library Search.

Tip:
enclose title in double inverted commas.

Step 3:

Select the relevant title

Step 3:

Identify the relevant Result.

Click on the link Full Text Online

Step 3:

Identify the relevant Result.

Click on the link Full Text Online

Step 4:

Select the Download button

Step 4:

Select the link to the database holding the relevant date period

Step 4:

Select the link to the database holding the journal

Step 5:

Select the year from the Table of Contents

Step 5:

Search the journal by article title

Tip:
enclose title in double inverted commas.

Step 6:

Navigate to the relevant article

Step 6:

Select the relevant result

Step 7:

Click on the download button to view article as a PDF

Library Search

Databases

Google Scholar

Step 1:

Search by topic or title using Library Search

Gale Academic OneFile

Check the box to filter results to Peer review articles only

Step 1:

Search by topic or title using Google Scholar

Step 2:

Refine search results by Content Type:

Journal Article

located to the left of screen

_________________________

Step 2:

Search for journal title in UlrichsWeb

Note: not the article title

Step 3:

Refine search results by

Scholarly & Peer-Reviewed

ProQuest

Check the box to filter results to Peer review articles only

Step 3:

Confirm that journal has black icon of books
indicating it is refereed

Option 1: LawCite:

Step 1:

Select LawCite
located at the end of the red stripe

Step 1:

Search by Act title in double inverted commas and jurisdiction

e.g. 
"Legal Profession Uniform Law Application Act" AND (Western OR WA)

Tip:
check the box for  Full text only
only add the provision number - not s, p, etc

Step 1:

From the Advanced Search menu, select Secondary Materials

Step 1:

Search by Act title in double inverted commas and section number to be within 10 words of Act title

e.g. 
"Legal Profession Uniform Law Application Act" /10 141

Step 2:

Add the Act title in Legislation Considered:

Add the provision number in Section

Tips:
omit the Act year
only add the provision number - not s, p, etc

Step 2:

Select Search

Step 2:

Navigate to Legislation Title and Provision Number

Step 2:

Select Search

Step 3:

Select Search

Step 3:

Add the term

Tip:
select Act title from suggestions
only add the provision number - not s, p, etc

Step 3:

From the Results page:

Option 1: Select View All Secondary Sources

Option 2: Select Secondary Sources from the Content types menu

Step 4:

Select
Law Journal Articles matching this search 
located at end of menu below LawCite logo

Step 4:

Select Search

Step 4:

From the Filter menu on the left of screen,
from the By Type filterselect Law Reviews & Journals

Option 2: Database Search

1. Select Journals & Scholarship from the red ribbon

Step 5:

Narrow results by using filters
located to the left of screen

Step 5:

Either add search terms to top search text box, or use the options in the Filter menu on the left of screen

2. Add the Act title within double inverted commas to the search box (located in the top right corner)

e.g. 
"Legal Profession Act 2008" 

AustLII

Lexis+  

Westlaw Australia  

Option 1: LawCite:

1. Select LawCite (located at the far right on the red band)

Step 1:

Search by Case title in double inverted commas and jurisdiction

e.g. 
"Callow v Rupchev"

Tip:
check the box for  Full text only

Step 1: From Advanced Search select AU Cases

Complete citation OR 
Case Name field. For example, [2009] NSWCA 148.

Click Search.

1. Search by case citation or case name

Example:
2009 NSWCA 148
            or
"Callow v Rupchev"

2. Complete Case citation OR 
case Party Names fields 

Step 2:

Select Search

Step 2: Click on result and select CaseBase link

2. Select the relevant suggestion from the drop-down menu

3. Navigate to
Law Journal Articles Referring to this Case

Step 3: Navigate to Publications referring to this case

_________________________

3. From  the Citing References tab,
select
Secondary Sources
from the drop-down menu

Option 2: Database Search:

1. Select Journals & Scholarship from the red ribbon

4.  Filter results by Publication Name to select journals

2. Add the citation within double inverted commas to the search box (located in the top right corner)

Example:
"2009 NSWCA 148"

4. Results can be sorted:
     By Relevance
     By Citation Frequency
     By Database
     By Date
     By Title

AustLII

Lexis+ 

Westlaw Australia 

Option 1: LawCite:

1. Select LawCite (located at the far right on the red band)

1:

Search by Case title in double inverted commas and jurisdiction

Example:
"Property in Thin Air"

Tip:
check the box for  Full text only

Step 1: From Advanced Search, select Secondary Materials

1. Select Content Type -  Secondary Sources

2. Select Advanced Search 

2. Complete Article citation OR 
Article Title OR Author fields 

Step 2: Enter search term and click Search.

Note: this search only searches the title of the material

2. Complete relevant field:
      Title
      Citation
      Author
      Text
      

3. Navigate to
Law Journal Articles Referring to this Article

Results can be Narrowed By:
     Content Type
     Publication
     Legal Topics

3. Filter Results by Publication Type - Law Reviews & Journals

_________________________

Option 2: Database Search:

1. Select Journals & Scholarship from the red ribbon

2. Add the citation OR article title OR author within double inverted commas to the search box (located in the top right corner)

Example:
"Property in Thin Air"

4. Results can be sorted:
     By Relevance
     By Citation Frequency
     By Database [recommended]
     By Date
     By Title

CCH iKnowConnect 

Library Search

Westlaw Classic.

1: Search by article title in double inverted commas

Example:
"Property in Thin Air"

1:  Change Google Scholar Settings:

Library links: Murdoch

Library Search includes results from:

Gale OneFile: LegalTrac
HeinOnline
Informit
Kluwer Law
ProQuest

1. Select Content -  International Materials

2. Select the magnifying icon to Search

2: Search by article title in double inverted commas

Example:
"Property in Thin Air"

1: Search by article title in double inverted commas

Example:
"Property in Thin Air"

2. Select

Content Types

 Journals

3. From the menu on the left of screen, from

CONTENT TYPE

Select □ Commentary

2. Select Search

3. Search by article title in double inverted commas in the search box at the top of screen

Example:
"Property in Thin Air"

4. Uncheck the boxes for

   □  include patents
   □  include citations

2. Refine Results to

CONTENT TYPE
Journal Article

DISCIPLINE
Law

AustLII

CCH iKnowConnect 

Lexis+ 

Westlaw Australia 

1. Select LawCite (located at the far right on the red band)

1. Add the legislation title and section number to the search box

Tip: Enclose the legislation title in double inverted commas

"Commercial Tenancy (Retail Shops) Agreements Act 1985"

Step 1. In Advanced Search select Secondary Materials

1.  Search by Act title in double inverted commas and section number to be within 10 words of Act title

e.g. "Commercial Tenancy (Retail Shops) Agreements Act 1985"

2. Complete Legislation Title and Provision Number fields

Tip: Do not include a designation abbreviation - just the number)

2. Narrow Results

by CONTENT TYPE

▢ Commentary

Step 2. Complete (i) References to Legislation by Title and (ii) References to Legislation by Provision Number fields

For example, in References to Legislation by Title, enter Commercial Tenancy (Retail Shops) Agreements Act 1985. In References to Legislation by Provision Number, enter 16.

Tip: Do not include a designation abbreviation - just the number

2. Navigate the Contents page to
section 16 Party to lease may refer question to SAT

3. Narrow the search results to Commentary

3. Expand the Citing References tab

Select Secondary Sources from the drop down menu

4. Select Commentary from the Content types filter menu on the left of screen

Step 1:

From Advanced Search, select Legislation

Step 1:

Select  Content type - Legislation

Step 2:

Navigate down to Defined Terms

Step 2:

Select Advanced Search

Step 3:

Add the term

Step 3:

Navigate down to Defined Terms

Step 4:

Select Search

Step 4:

Add the term

Step 5:

Narrow results by using filters located on the left

Step 5:

Select Search

Step 6:

Narrow results by using filters located to the left of screen

Alternatively

Select the highlighted hyperlink in the legislation results to go directly to the section in the document.

Option 2: General Search

Step 1:

In the search box on the home page, type

(character! OR compris! OR defin! OR describ! OR discuss! OR element! OR expla! OR interpret! OR mean! OR phras!) /15 SearchWord

Step 2:

From the Results page,
select Legislation from the Content types menu on the left of screen

OR

View All beside the Legislation group

AustLII

Jade

Lexis+ 

Westlaw Australia 

Option 1: LawCite

1. Select LawCite (located at the far right on the red band)

1. Select Jade Browser tab

Select Legislation Collection

Select By legislature

Step 1: From the Explore pod, select LawNow Plus Legislation Citator

Option 1: Global Search:

1. Search by Act title and section number in the global search box

Example:
Legal Profession Act 2008 282

WAIT

2. Complete Legislation Considered fields

Tip: Do not include a designation abbreviation - just the number)

2. Select Western Australian Legislation - Acts (WALegAct)

Navigate to the relevant Act

Step 2: Enter the Legislation Title and Provision Name/Number, then click Search.

For example, in Legislation Title enter “Legal Profession Act 2008”, and in Provision Number enter “282”. 

2. From the drop down suggestions, select the linked section title 

Option 2: NoteUp

1. Select the relevant jurisdiction from the black ribbon on the AustLII home page

Example: WA

3. Navigate to relevant section

Select section title

Step 3. Click the result.

3. Select Cases from the Citing References tab

_________________________

2. Type the Act title and section number (number only) in the search box (located at the top right of screen)

Example: Legal Profession Act 2008 282

4. Select relevant citations

Option 2: General Search:

1. Search by Act title in double inverted commas and section number to be within 10 words of Act title

e.g. 
"Legal Profession Act 2008" /10 282

Tip: Sign up for Jade Professional using your Murdoch student email address @student.murdoch.edu.au

(it is free)

2. Select Cases

Option 1: Select View All Cases

Option 2: Select Cases from the Content types menu

_________________________

4. Select the hyperlinked Act and Section from the Results list

from the Western Australian Current Acts database

Option 3: Advanced Search

1. Select  Content type - Cases

2. Select Advanced Search

3. Complete Legislation Title and Provision Number fields

Tip: Do not include a designation abbreviation
- just the number

_________________________

Step 1:

Access ParlInfo Advanced Search

Step 1:

Access Media Statement website

Step 2:

Add search terms

Step 2:

Browse recent Statements or
Select Advanced Search

Step 3:

Scroll down Parliamentary Collections to Media

Step 3:

Select Advanced Search

Step 4:

Check Press Releases

Step 4:

Add search terms and filters

Step 5:

Search

Option:

Subscribe to Media Statement Email Notifications

ProQuest

Westlaw Australia 

Step 1:

Prepare for Advanced Search

Search terms (key words) should be added one by one to each row on the Advanced Search page.

As you will have more than two words for your search, you will need to add a row to the search page:

Select  ⊕ Add a row 
(located below text boxes)

Step 1:

Select Content Type
News & Current Awareness

Step 2:

Create a Search

1: Enter search terms, one on each line

Example:
     legal*
     recreation*
     cannabis OR marijuana

Note the use of the Truncation Operator *

e.g. legal* will search for:
    •    legal
    •    legalise
    •    legalisation
    •    legalize

2: Refine search

Limit to:
   ☑ Full text

Publication date: 
   After this date…
    Complete the year 2020

Location:
   Select Look up Locations
    Find: Australia
    Select all 3 versions of Australia
    Select  Add to search

Document Type:
   Tick in the box for  ☑ News

Tip:

Refining your search by
Document type: ☑ News
includes wire feeds, blogs and newspapers.

Refining your search by
Source type: ☑ Newspaper
only includes newspapers

Step 2:

Option 1:

Search News & Current Awareness using the Search box at the top of screen

Example: 
legal! AND recreation! /10 (cannabis OR marijuana)

Option 2:

Select news topics from
Alert 24 or
News Bulletins

Browse 10 most recent documents

OR

Search news topics using the Search box at the top of screen

Step 3:

Select Search

Step 3:

Results can be filtered by:

  + Date
  + Jurisdiction
  + Publication Name 

Step 4:

Improve the Search

1:   Amend the search string 
(located at the top of the Results list)

from       
     legal* AND recreation* AND
     (cannabis OR marijuana)

to           
     legal* AND recreation* N/10
     (cannabis OR marijuana)

Step 5:

Select the magnifying glass for Search

Step 6:

Refine Search Results by:
Search within
Source type
Publication date
Publication title
Subject
Location
and more…

Step 7:

Further Refine Search Results 

Select these filters to further refine your search results:

Source type:   Newspapers

Publication date: April 2020
(Tip: click on the bar graph column for the month)

Publication title:  The Australian

Step 1:

Create a ProQuest account

Step 1:

Create a ProQuest account

Step 2:

Search Publications for newspaper title

Step 2:

Search Publications for newspaper title

Step 3:

Select Create alert

Step 3:

Select Create alert

Step 4:

Complete details

Step 4:

Select Create alert

Step 5:

Complete details