Psychology & Counselling Database Search Help
- Academic Video Online - Help Guide Academic Video Online includes a variety of video material spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
- CINAHL Ultimate - Search Help Nursing and allied health topics including audiology, nutrition and dietetics, occupational therapy, physical therapy, respiratory therapy, speech-language therapy and consumer health.
- CINAHL Ultimate - Search Tutorial Nursing and allied health topics including audiology, nutrition and dietetics, occupational therapy, physical therapy, respiratory therapy, speech-language therapy and consumer health.
- Cochrane Library - User Guide Comprises several databases of reviews of the effects of health care. Included is the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - evidence-based systematic reviews prepared by the Cochrane Collaboration to provide high quality information to people providing and receiving care and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration at all levels.
- Informit Health Collection - Search Help Full text and indexing database of over 100 Australian and New Zealand health sciences resources
- MEDLINE (Ovid) - User Guides MEDLINE, from the US National Library of Medicine, indexes resources in medicine, nursing, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences.
- MEDLINE (Web Of Science) - Help Guide MEDLINE, from the US National Library of Medicine, indexes resources in medicine, nursing, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences.
- Psychotherapy.net - User Guides Training videos in the field of psychotherapy including actual psychotherapy sessions and leading experts discussing their thoughts behind their interventions. Murdoch subscribes to a selection of 50 videos.
- PsycINFO - Search Help Indexes and abstracts over 1300 journals in more than 25 languages. Includes book chapters,books, technical reports and citations to dissertations. Covers the professional and academic literature in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
- PubMed - User Guide PubMed includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals. Subject coverage includes all areas of medicine and related disciplines. Also available are links to full text journals in PubMed Central and links to a series of molecular and genome databases.
- Scopus - Tutorials Scopus indexes resources in health and life sciences, chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, social sciences, psychology, and economics, business and management.
- Web of Science - Search Help Includes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975+); Current Chemical Reactions (1986+); Index Chemicus (1993+); Science Citation Index Expanded (1900+); Social Sciences Citation Index (1900+)
PubMed or MEDLINE? Web of Science or Ovid?
PubMed or MEDLINE
PubMed is the freely accessible online database of biomedical journal citations and abstracts created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. MEDLINE is its largest component but it includes other resources.
Web of Science or Ovid
The Library has access to MEDLINE from both the Web of Science and Ovid platforms. These databases provide more sophisticated search functionality. They also show the FindIt@Murdoch links in their results so that you can access content using the Library's subscription databases.
To access Murdoch University databases
To access Murdoch University databases, click the link below:
You can search databases by title or use the menu on the left to select your subject area.
You should also check the Multidisciplinary category for databases that cover a broad range of subject areas. These databases are not included in subject-specific lists.
If you are studying a medical- or counselling-based subject, you may also need to refer to the Evidence-Based Practice guide for further information on how to conduct your research.
Study and research support
Beginner study and research support:
Intermediate and advanced research support:
Database help links
- Databases Search databases by title, or select from subject-specific lists.
- Databases help Get help with searching databases
- Borrowing from other libraries Request full text items from other libraries
- How to use databases [YouTube] Source standards, news articles, business content and more
Ask our Librarians
