Veterinary Medicine Database Search Help
Below is a list of Search Help links to major Veterinary Medicine databases:
- AGRICOLA - Search Help Covers all aspects of agriculture including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, alternative farming practices, food and nutrition and animal welfare.
- Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) - Search Help Indexes resources on fisheries, aquaculture, biological and ecological aspects of marine, freshwater and brackish environments.
- BIOSIS Citation Index - Search Help Indexes journals, reviews, conferences, patents and books in the biological and biomedical sciences.
- British Small Animal Veterinary Association BSAVA - Help FAQ BSAVA publishes a world-renowned series of manuals and guides covering small animal veterinary topics, including medicine and surgery, diagnostics, exotic pets, veterinary nursing and practice management. Includes manuals, procedures guide, poisons guide, and canine and feline formulary
- MEDLINE (Ovid) - User Guides MEDLINE, from the US National Library of Medicine, indexes resources in medicine, nursing, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences.
- MEDLINE (Web Of Science) - Help Guide MEDLINE, from the US National Library of Medicine, indexes resources in medicine, nursing, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences.
- MIMS IVS - User Guide (video) MIMS IVS gives detailed product and prescribing information for veterinary practitioners on veterinary medicines and products available throughout Australia, classified by therapeutic category
- MSD veterinary manual - User Guide The MSD Veterinary Manual (MVM) provides veterinarians and other animal health professionals with concise and authoritative information on diseases and management of food-producing, companion, laboratory, and exotic animals
- Scopus - Tutorials Scopus indexes resources in health and life sciences, chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, social sciences, psychology, and economics, business and management.
- Web of Science - Search Help Includes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975+); Current Chemical Reactions (1986+); Index Chemicus (1993+); Science Citation Index Expanded (1900+); Social Sciences Citation Index (1900+)
PubMed or MEDLINE? Web of Science or Ovid?
PubMed or MEDLINE
PubMed is the freely accessible online database of biomedical journal citations and abstracts created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. MEDLINE is its largest component but it includes other resources.
Web of Science or Ovid
The Library has access to MEDLINE from both the Web of Science and Ovid platforms. These databases provide more sophisticated search functionality. They also show the FindIt@Murdoch links in their results so that you can access content using the Library's subscription databases.
To access Murdoch University databases
To access Murdoch University databases, click the link below:
You can search databases by title or use the menu on the left to select your subject area.
You should also check the Multidisciplinary category for databases that cover a broad range of subject areas. These databases are not included in subject-specific lists.
If you are studying a medical- or counselling-based subject, you may also need to refer to the Evidence-Based Practice guide for further information on how to conduct your research.
Study and research support
Beginner study and research support:
Intermediate and advanced research support:
Database help links
- Databases Search databases by title, or select from subject-specific lists.
- Databases help Get help with searching databases
- Borrowing from other libraries Request full text items from other libraries
- How to use databases [YouTube] Source standards, news articles, business content and more
Ask our Librarians
