Types of databases
Databases should be selected with consideration of the topics covered and types of material indexed.
When choosing each database, consider:
- whether the database includes topics relevant to your query
- the types of materials retrieved.
You may need to search multiple databases to complete a comprehensive search, including subject-specific and/or region-specific databases.
For example, for a nursing-related review, appropriate databases to consult could include CINAHL, Emcare, and/or Health Collection (Informit). A multidisciplinary database such as Web of Science could be searched as well; this database indexes a diverse range of topics and increases search sensitivity.
For systematic and literature reviews it is recommended you search at least two but generally no more than five databases.
To discover databases to use for your discipline, refer to the below link:
See the different types of databases below:
Subject-specific databases are used for accessing information that is tailored to specific areas of research. Subject-specific databases are particularly helpful when individuals need highly specialised and reliable sources within their field of study or professional practice.
Examples of subject-specific databases:
- Business Sources Complete - Business & Tourism
- ERIC - Education
- MEDLINE, CINAHL - health topics such as Nursing
- PsycINFO - Psychology & Counselling
You can access a full list of databases by subject from the subject selections on the left of the Databases page:
To access database search help by subject, use the below link:
- Search help links for databases Links to database help guides grouped by subject.
Multidisciplinary databases are comprehensive online resources that cover a wide range of subject areas and academic disciplines. Unlike subject-specific databases that focus on a particular field, multidisciplinary databases provide access to a diverse array of scholarly content spanning various subjects.
Researchers can use multidisciplinary databases to explore diverse perspectives and gather a holistic understanding of complex topics.
Examples of multidisciplinary databases:
- ProQuest Central
- Scopus
- Web of Science.
You can access a full list of Multidisciplinary databases from the subject selections on the left of the Databases page:
Systematic review and evidence-based practice (EBP) databases are specialised resources that help researchers, healthcare professionals, and practitioners access high-quality evidence for informed decision-making in healthcare. These databases are particularly useful for conducting systematic reviews, a research method that involves synthesizing and analysing existing evidence on a specific topic.
Researchers and healthcare professionals use these resources to inform clinical practice, policy development, and further research endeavours.
Examples include:
- Cochrane Library
- Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database.
For more information on these review types and when you might refer to these databases, see the links below:
Abstract databases, also known as bibliographic databases, provide information about publications, including titles, authors, publication dates, abstracts, and keywords. They are used to locate and access relevant academic resources. Examples of Abstract databases are CAB Abstracts, PubMed, and EBSCOhost.
Citation databases focus on tracking and indexing citation information of academic and scholarly publications. Rather than provide access to full text, citation databases are essential tools for researchers seeking to understand the scholarly landscape, track the influence of specific works, and make informed decisions about the relevance and impact of academic publications. Examples of citation databases are Scopus and Web of Science.
If you locate a particular book, article, or other resource that is only available as an abstract or citation, you can request the Library to gain access for you:
Once you have planned your search and identified the most relevant databases, you can search the databases by entering keywords, concept strings, and search operators into the search box or building your search using the database search builder, if available.
For more information on advanced database searching, refer to the next page:
Study and research support
Beginner study and research support:
Intermediate and advanced research support:
Database help links
- Databases Search databases by title, or select from subject-specific lists.
- Databases help Get help with searching databases
- Borrowing from other libraries Request full text items from other libraries
- How to use databases [YouTube] Source standards, news articles, business content and more
Ask our Librarians
