Database Help

Once you have identified key words and concepts, apply search operators to construct search strings and create your search strategy.

There are three approaches to structuring a search:

• line by line (each search term on its own line)
• block by block (each search concept on its own line)
• single line (all search terms and concepts combined into one line).

In practice, a combination of all three might be used depending on the database being searched, the stage of search development, the searcher's expertise, etc. 

Line by line

Starting with a line by line search of single synonyms makes it easier to spot errors in selected search terms or to identify search strategies.

For example, it is more efficient to search for "rare earth" than it is to search for ("rare earth" OR "rare earth elements" OR "rare earth metals" OR "rare earths"), as "rare earth" is contained within each of these phrases. 

Search the main concepts first to check that each word adds value to your search i.e., that it returns relevant results, then limit further as necessary

For example, when searching the concept Multiple Sclerosis, the acronym MS also retrieves results for Microsoft or mass spectrometer.

Line by line can also help identify new search terms you may not have yet considered.

Block by block

Once you have determined that your synonyms are all relevant via a line by line search, use OR to join the words for each search concept, its related synonyms/variations, and relevant subject headings to create a single concept search string.  

For example: extract OR mine OR mining

Concept strings can then be joined together using AND to create single line search strings. 

For example: (extract OR mine OR mining) AND "rare earth" AND (ecosystem OR environment)

If the database has more than one search text box, each concept string can be added to a separate search text box, using AND to join them together.

After this step, you may begin to further refine your search by utilising Advanced Databases Search Operators such as Title/Abstract field search.

Single line

Single line search strings are a combination of your concept search strings into one search command.

This method is generally not recommended for exploratory searching because many search terms or concept strings can be confusing and overwhelming if combined into a single search string.

When you begin adding Advanced Search Operators such as Subject Headings, it can be difficult to read, to interpret, to identify errors and to translate between databases. 

For example: 

Single Line:
((("social media" OR "social network*" OR Facebook OR Instagram OR TikTok) AND (adolescen* OR juvenile* OR teen* OR "young adult*" OR youth*)) AND (anore* OR bulimi* OR "disordered eating" OR "eating disorder*")) AND mainsubject.Exact("adolescent" OR "eating disorders" OR "social media" OR "teen-ager")

Broken into concept strings, this reads easier:
((("social media" OR "social network*" OR Facebook OR Instagram OR TikTok)
AND (adolescen* OR juvenile* OR teen* OR "young adult*" OR youth*))
AND (anore* OR bulimi* OR "disordered eating" OR "eating disorder*"))
AND mainsubject.Exact("adolescent" OR "eating disorders" OR "social media" OR "teen-ager")

Single line format is often used as a final search string for reporting or recording your search strategy. 

Search help

Check the Search Help or Search Tips of a particular platform for specific search techniques.

• Search help guides for databases

Remember to document your search regardless of the method you choose.

You should document your search process in enough detail to ensure that it can be reported correctly if required.

Recording search details will also assist you in adjusting your search, tracking changes to your strategies, or translating your searches to alternative databases. 

For each database search you conduct, you should record:

• the date the search was run
• the database searched
• the name of the database provider (for example: ProQuest or EBSCO)
• your search strategy - include the keywords you used and how these were combined in the search
• the years searched
• any filters or limitations used, such as date, language, age, or demographics
• the number of studies identified

Save your searches within databases

It may be useful to save your searches in the databases you use (where possible) to refer to later. Many databases including Scopus, Web of Science, Medline, PsycINFO, and others allow you to save searches and create alerts. You will be emailed when new references relevant to your search are published and added to the database​ ​Alerts can be individually scheduled

You may be required to create a personal login; this is free and easy to set up on databases available via Murdoch - simply access the database via the Library Databases page (linked below) and use your Murdoch email address.

EndNote software can also be used to record full bibliographical details for each citation and additional notes relating to the selection and evaluation of that source.

If you are conducting Evidence-based Practice research, Literature or Systematic Reviews, you need to record and report your searches in detail. Refer to our guides for additional resources:

The base search strategy will remain the same for each database; however, different databases have different search interfaces, and use different terminology and search techniques - you will therefore need to make adjustments when you search a new database.

For information about how best to search a database, use the Help option within that database – check the Databases by Title or Databases by Subject tabs above for links to database help pages.

Universal Operators

The below operator commands translate directly to any Database.

Variable operators

The below operators may not be available on all databases, or the commands may vary between databases. You will need to refer to Advanced Help for each database to discover the commands and translate your search between databases.

Field codes

Database records have information listed in certain fields, such as author, title, abstract, keywords, etc. You can direct a database to retrieve articles with your search words in specific fields. This increases the precision of your search and reduces the number of irrelevant results.

To direct the database to find your search words in specific fields, you should apply the appropriate field codes to your search words using the syntax required by that database. Usually, you should use a field code that will capture at least 'Title' and 'Abstract.' 

For example: 

• To search PubMed for Title and Abstract, add [tiab] to the end of each search term
• To search MEDLINE (Ovid) for Title, Abstract, and Keyword Heading Word, add .ti,kf,ti after each search term

Some platforms (search interfaces) allow you to select search fields within the search builder via a dropdown menu. 

Tools for translating searches

The following tools may assist with translating searches from one database to another. However, an understanding of the differences between database syntax is still required as no tool is perfect. 

Polyglot is designed to translate search strings across databases to aid with running searches for systematic reviews. It does not translate subject headings across databases, so it is important to understand how databases work before using Polyglot.

MEDLINE Transpose is a tool designed to convert search syntax between the PubMed and Ovid MEDLINE interfaces.

Topic: 

The association between social media use and adolescent eating disorders

Concepts and Synonyms:

Concept 1: "social media"

• Synonyms: "social network*", Facebook, Instagram, TikTok
• Subject headings: Social Media

Concept 2: adolescent

• Synonyms: juvenile, teen*, "young adult*", youth*
• Subject headings: Teenagers, Teens

Concept 3: eating disorder

• Synonyms: anorexia, bulimia, "disordered eating"
• Subject headings: Binge-Eating Disorder, Feeding and Eating Disorders

You may find it easiest to lay out your synonyms and subject headings in a table or Excel spreadsheet, as in the image below:

Concept strings: 

("social media" OR "social network*" OR Facebook OR Instagram OR TikTok)

(adolescen* OR juvenile* OR teen* OR "young adult*" OR youth*)

(anore* OR bulimi* OR "disordered eating" OR "eating disorder*")

Search strategy:  ​

1. ("social media" OR "social network*" OR Facebook OR Instagram OR TikTok)
2. AND (adolescen* OR juvenile" OR teen* OR "young adult*" OR youth*)
3. AND (anore* OR bulimi* OR "disordered eating" OR "eating disorder*")

(("social media" OR "social network*" OR Facebook OR Instagram OR TikTok) AND (adolescen* OR juvenile* OR teen* OR "young adult*" OR youth)) AND (anore* OR bulimi* OR "disordered eating" OR "eating disorder*")

PsychINFO search string including subject headings: 

((("social media" OR "social network*" OR Facebook OR Instagram OR TikTok) AND (adolescen* OR juvenile* OR teen* OR "young adult*" OR youth*)) AND (anore* OR bulimi* OR "disordered eating" OR "eating disorder*")) AND mainsubject.Exact("adolescent" OR "eating disorders" OR "social media" OR "teen-ager")

PubMed Search including MeSH terms: