EndNote 21 guide

Microsoft Word

Murdoch University students can access Microsoft Office 365 Pro Plus, which includes Microsoft Office installation, through the Murdoch University website:

You will need to download an EndNote plugin before you can insert references directly into your document. The easiest way to add the EndNote plugin to Word is to simply install EndNote to your computer after you have installed Microsoft Word - this will automatically add an EndNote menu to the Word toolbar. This menu will not appear if you install Word after EndNote.

If you have installed EndNote before Word, see the EndNote website for further instructions:

Please also note that CWYW cannot be used with Word 365 in your internet browser, unless you have an EndNote Web account. However we do not currently recommend using EndNote Web - see the "What is EndNote Online?" section of this guide for more details:

Using EndNote Mac with Microsoft Word

 Mac users: The Cite While You Write (CWYW) functions put an EndNote submenu of commands on Word’s Tools menu. They allow EndNote to format citations and create a bibliography for the document that is open in Word. Depending on your version of Word you may see either a floating EndNote toolbar or one which is added to the standard Word toolbar options.

For more help using CWYW with Mac OS, see the EndNote website:

Google Docs

If you wish to use CWYW with Google Docs, you will need to download an add-on from Google Workspace:

Pages for Mac

 Mac users: Pages has an EndNote plugin available, which you will need to download from the Mac App Store.

Other word processors

For details of other word processors that EndNote is compatible with, see the EndNote website:

Before inserting references into your document, configure the settings in your word processor to make sure your references appear correctly. While the instructions given below are for Microsoft Word, other word processors work similarly.

Select a referencing style

Depending on your referencing style, you will need to add the citation in either an Author-Date or Footnote format.

To choose a referencing style:

1. In Word, click on the EndNote 21 tab in the ribbon
2. In the Style drop-down menu, choose the referencing style that matches the style you selected in EndNote
3. If the style you need is not available from the drop-down menu:
   • Click "Select Another Style"
   • Select the style you want to add
   • Click "OK".

Configure bibliography

To configure your bibliography:

1. In Word, click on the EndNote 21 tab
2. Click on the diagonal arrow shortcut () in the bottom right corner of the box, directly to the right of Bibliography section. This should open the "EndNote 21 Configure Bibliography" pop-up window
3. Select the Layout tab
4. Select the font style and size for the bibliography
5. Select the line spacing for the bibliography
6. Add the Bibliography title (e.g., References)
7. Select "OK".

Turn off "Track Changes" view

Microsoft Word's "Track Changes" feature does not play well with EndNote's CWYW tool. This doesn't mean that you can't use Track Changes, however you will need to ensure the viewing of tracked changes is turned off while you are formatting your references.

To do this:

1. In Word, select the "Review" tab from the top menu
2. In the "Tracking" section, select the dropdown menu at "All Markup" 
3. Select either "Simple Markup" or "No Markup".

For more information, see the EndNote website: