EndNote 21 Guide: Cite While You Write

Configure bibliography

• In Word, click on the EndNote 21 tab
• Click on the diagonal arrow shortcut in the bottom right corner of the Bibliography section
• Click on Configure Bibliography
• Select the Layout tab
• Select the font style and size for the bibliography
• Select the line spacing for the bibliography
• Add the Bibliography title   e.g. References

Select a referencing style

Depending on your referencing style, you will need to add the citation in either an Author-Date or Footnote format.

To choose a referencing style:

• In Word, click on the EndNote 21 tab in the ribbon
• In the Style drop-down menu, choose the referencing style that matches the style you selected in EndNote
• If the style you need is not available from the drop-down menu,
• click Select Another Style…
  • Select the style you want to add
  • Click OK

Important: 
Before inserting citations, ensure that the output referencing style in Word matches your style in EndNote.

In the Word document, insert the cursor where you want the in-text/footnote citation to appear.

To insert a citation in Author-Date format:

Option 1 - pre-select reference in EndNote:

• In EndNote, click to highlight the reference to be inserted
• In Word, position the cursor where the in text citation is to be added in the paper

• Click on the drop-down arrow next to Insert Citation
• Select ‘Insert Selected Citation(s)’

Once a citation has been added, a full reference will also be added to the bibliography or reference list at the end of your document.

Option 2 - search for reference in Word:

In Word, click on the drop-down arrow next to Insert Citation

• Select ‘Insert Citation…’
•  Enter the search word, then select Find.
• Click on a reference to highlight.
• Select 'Insert'.

Option 3 - export reference from EndNote

• In Word, position the cursor where the in text citation is to be added in the paper
• In EndNote, click to highlight the reference to be inserted
• In summary, click ‘Insert’ button that appears above the reference (below the summary).

Once a citation has been added, a full reference will also be added to the bibliography or reference list in alphabetical order at the end of your document.

For further assistance search the EndNote Knowledgebase

In Word, create the footnote by:

• Place the cursor for where the superscript number is to be inserted
• Select the References tab
• in the ribbon, select Insert Footnote
  • A superscript number will be placed in your text where the cursor was
  • Your cursor will jump down to the bottom of the page, ready to insert the citation

• Select the EndNote tab
• Ensure the cursor in the relevant footnote
• Insert the citation in the footnote using an appropriate style (e.g., Chicago Footnotes, AGLC) as described in the Add Citations tab

To add a page number to your in-text or footnote citation:

• in Word - from the toolbar, select Edit & Manage Citation(s)
• type the page number/s in the Pages box, eg. 22 (or 22-25) - You do not need to type p or pp.

Add another citation to existing citation

When you are reviewing your work, you might find that you need to add more citations to an existing one, because you have discovered another source for that idea.

To edit the citation to add another citation:

• In Word, click on the citation that is already in your document
• Click 'Edit & Manage Citation(s)'
• Open the 'Edit Reference' menu for that existing citation
• Choose 'Insert Citation'

The 'Find and Insert my References' window will open

• Within the pop-out box, search for the second reference to insert from your EndNote Library
• Highlight it in the results list
• Click Insert

This will take you back to the Edit & Manage citations window

Click Ok to insert the citation into your document

You will see both citations grouped together in the same set of brackets.

The extra reference will be added to the reference list.

For further assistance search the EndNote Knowledgebase

Important: Once you have inserted a citation, you should not edit it directly.

If you make any changes within the brackets of a citation, rather than use the Edit function, the changes will disappear when the bibliography reformats.

Instead, you must use Edit & Manage Citation(s).

When writing your paper, you may need to make modifications to the citations.

One example of this is in an author-date style like APA.
If you have incorporated the author's name into the sentence of your text, you need to edit the in-text citation so that the name is not repeated
e.g. "Thiele (2019) in her analytical piece, offers an alternative hypothesis to the commonly held...."

To edit your citations:

• In Word, click on the citation (either in the in-text or footnote citation) so that it is highlighted
• Using the EndNote toolbar in the Word doc, go to Edit & Manage Citation(s)
• The Edit & Manage Citations dialogue box will open
• On the Edit Citations tab
  • Select drop-down menu beside Format
  • Choose the formatting you want (e.g., ‘Exclude Author’)
  • Add prefixes, suffixes or page numbers as required
• Click OK
• Other editing options can be found in the Edit Citation tab

Alternatively:

• Select/highlight the reference in Word
• Right-hand click on the reference
• Select the relevant option from the pop-out

To edit your bibliography/reference list:

• Click the  icon in the Bibliography group on the Endnote tab
• Click the Layout tab to change fonts, add a title (ie. ‘Bibliography’ or ‘Reference List’), and adjust indents and other formatting settings
• To change the text of the bibliography/reference list (eg. capitalisations), you will need to make the necessary edits in EndNote.

When sharing your document with another person, it is best to convert the citations to plain text rather than use the formatting “field codes”.
This is because the other person may not have the same version of EndNote, so the field codes may not work properly.

To convert your citations to plain text:

• Click Convert Citations and Bibliography
• Select Convert to Plain Text
• Save the document.

• The citations and bibliography/reference list will be retained in your selected style, but the links to EndNote will be broken.

Important: Once you have inserted a citation, do not edit it directly. If you make any changes within the brackets of a citation it will disappear when the bibliography reformats. Instead, you must use Edit & Manage Citation(s).

To delete a citation:

• Select/highlight the reference 
• Click Edit & Manage Citation(s)
• Click the arrow next to Edit Reference
• Select ‘Remove citation’.

If you do not cite the reference anywhere else in your paper, the entry will also be removed from your bibliography or reference list.

Issue: 

The in text reference appears as {Santhanam, 2015 #418}

Cause:

Text including EndNote reference links have been moved around or copied from another source.
If you copy and paste text containing EndNote formatted citations, your library will be corrupted and potentially lost.
Convert to unformatting before moving text around so that the links do not break within Word.
Unformatting can become a default when other Word tools are used, e.g., Track Changes.

Solution: 

To edit a Word document safely, the reference links need to be made temporarily inactive: 

 Go to the EndNote toolbar in Word. 

1. Click on Convert Citations and Bibliography. 
2. Select Convert to Unformatted Citations. The reference list will disappear, and your citations will appear in curly brackets, e.g. {Martin, 2018 #17}. 
3. Edit document as needed. 
4. Click Update Citations and Bibliography to convert back to formatted citations.
   The reference list will reappear, and your citations will return to their normal format.
   If you click on the references, they will be highlighted in grey because they are actively linked to your library once more.
5. Save.

Issue:

No Endnote21 tab in Word document for inserting references as you write.

Solution:

This is an issue with Word settings.

Follow these steps in Word: 

1.     Open Word, click on the File ribbon and select "Options".  
2.     Click on "Add-ins."  
3.     At the bottom of the page, next to "Manage:" set the Drop down to "COM  Add-ins".  
4.     Click Go.  
5.     Select EndNote Cite While You Write (if it is unchecked).  
6.     Click OK.  

If the option to "Disable all Application Add-ins" is checked, tools will not appear. To turn off this setting: 

1. Click on the File ribbon and select "Options". 
2. Click on "Trust Center". 
3. Click "Trust Center Settings". 
4. Click "Add-ins". 
5. Uncheck "Disable all Application Add-ins (may impair functionality)" and click OK. 
6. Click OK. 
7. Exit Word and then re-open it.