Adding PDFs
Find Full Text
EndNote can find and attach full text articles to some references already in your library.
You will need to configure EndNote (instructions above) to use this function the first time.
- Highlight the references for which you want to find full text (use the Ctrl key to select more than one reference).
- Select References > Find Full Text > Find Full Text or use the icon
For Macs use 
- A temporary Find Full Text Group will appear in the left plane, which will disappear when you close the library.
- If EndNote is able to find the full text, it will be attached to your reference and a paper clip icon
will appear next to the reference. - To view the full text, highlight the reference & click on the Attached PDFs tab OR double click on the reference to open, scroll down to the File Attachment field and double click on the file icon to open.
NOTE: EndNote will not always find the full text article. This may be due to the quality of the data in the reference or the Murdoch University Library may not have a subscription to the journal.
EndNote can be configured to automatically find and attach full text articles to references already in your library.
Setting your Find Full Text preferences will enable you to download and attach PDF files to references in your library.
To set your preferences:
- On a PC go to Edit > Preferences. On a Mac go to Endnote 21 > Preferences.
- Select Find Full Text.
- Tick all of the checkboxes.
- Copy and paste the following URLs into their respective boxes:
- Open URL Path = http://sr4lp2wr3c.search.serialssolutions.com
- Authenticate with URL = http://libproxy.murdoch.edu.au/login?url=
- (NB: The Authenticate with URL box can be left empty if you are working on campus)
- You can select whether of not you want to Automatically invoke Find Full Text on newly-imported references box. This option is fine when importing a small number of references, but if you are importing hundreds or thousands of references at a time it is not recommended as it will slow down your download time and increase your library size.
- Check your EndNote Preferences > Find Full Text box against this image to ensure you have filled it in correctly.
The Find Full Text feature depends on:
- DOI (Digital Object Identifier). If EndNote references do not have a valid DOI in the DOI field it is unlikely to find full text for that reference
- Cookies: enable web browser cookies
Note: If the Find Full Text function does not appear to work when you're off campus check that you have correctly configured EndNote.
Attaching full text manually
If EndNote is unable to find full text (due to firewalls, network speed, non subscriptions etc) you can attach it manually:
To attach a PDF to a reference:
- Select the reference without an attached PDF in EndNote
- Download the article from Library Search or a database
- Click to highlight the EndNote reference
- In Summary (in the right-hand panel) select 'Attach PDF'
- Find the article saved to the computer
- Click 'Open'
- Save using CTRL+S
Alternatively highlight the relevant EndNote reference and drag and drop the PDF icon into the reference (this is easiest done with the desktop shown and your EndNote library window minimised).
Extract or delete HTML tags based on their name or whether or not they contain some attributes or content with the HTML editor pro online program.
Importing PDFs
If a PDF contains DOI (Digital Object Identifier) EndNote can import either a single file or a whole folder containing several files and automatically create the reference. To import a file or folder make sure you are connected to the internet.
- Go to File > Import.then select File or Folder
- Next click Choose...
- Navigate to where the PDF is saved; highlight the article
- Click Open
- Under Import Option, select PDF
- Click Import
The reference will be in the Imported References group with the attached PDF. Check that all the reference details are correct.
Automatic PDF Handling
To set up the automatic transfer of PDF's to your library:
- From your EndNote library go to Edit > Preferences > PDF Handling
- Select Enable automatic importing
- Select the folder you wish to use
- Click OK
- Click Apply
- Click OK
Any new PDFs saved will now appear in the PDF folder/Imported (this Imported folder is automatically created by EndNote and simultaneously the imported PDFs will appear as references in your library with the PDF attached.
Annotating PDFs
You can annotate (add your own notes) using sticky notes and highlight text in attached PDF documents
- Highlight a reference with an attached PDF.
- Select PDF name in the preview panel. Select Open from the dropdown options.
- On the toolbar select the Markup/ annotation button
- Sticky Note icon.
- Navigate to where you want the note.
- Click to display a sticky note symbol, then double click to open it.
- Add your comments then click on X in the sticky note to close. Your note will be automatically saved.
To highlight:
- Select the Highlighting icon.
- Select the text you want to highlight - selected text will be highlighted in yellow.
- Click the Save icon.
Selecting the option to open the PDF using Adobe Acrobat provides more annotation tools:
