Specific Database Instructions
Most databases have a Direct Export function that will export a reference from a database into your EndNote library. The steps and terminology may differ slightly from database to database and depending on what internet browser you use. Here is a general outline of the basic steps required by most databases:
- Select the references you want to export using either: tick boxes, Add to Folder or Mark Records option.
- Look for a way to export your selected references: Export, Export to reference manager, Direct Export, Output or sometimes even Save Citation.
- You may need to choose an output method for EndNote eg RIS format.
- Then Save, Export, Download or Open.
- EndNote will open (you may need to select your library) and the references will appear in the temporary window.
Mac users:
The exported references will appear in the Downloads folder. Drag and drop the file into the EndNote icon on the dock.
Use Firefox (free download) to export or import references to EndNote.
Safari, the default Mac browser, requires extensive setting up to work seamlessly with EndNote. Google Chrome may also require some adjustments.
Updating Filters
EndNote uses filters to pull records from databases into EndNote to update the references previously downloaded..
If you experience problems with transferring records from databases you need to update these filters.
- In EndNote, select the Tools tab
- Go to EndNote Import Filters and search for the required filter.
- Click on the Download link.
- The way you open the file will depend on the browser you use. When you open it, you will see a screen like this in EndNote.
- Go to > File > 'Save As' > remove the word 'copy' > Save.
- The new filter will then overwrite the outdated file in EndNote.
- Close the filter file by clicking the small cross OR go to File > Close File.
- If you are installing the new files on a home PC or Mac, you can copy them directly into the appropriate EndNote program folder (for filters)
- More information can be found on the EndNote Import Filters page
MAC users - Select your required filter, control-click and choose Save Linked File to "Downloads". The filter will now appear in your "Downloads" drag the filter file into your Filters folder. Located HD\Applications\ EndNote\Filters
- Click Add to folder icon
on the right of any references you want to export to EndNote. - The icon will change to
indicating that the item has been sent to the folder. - A box will appear on the right
- Click Folder View to open the folder.
- Tick the references you want to export to EndNote.
- Click on the Export icon on the right.
- Select Direct Export in RIS Format (e.g. CITAVI, EasyBib, EndNote...)
- Click Save.
- The way you open the file will depend on the browser you use. When you open it, your reference will be imported and appear in the Imported References list.
Mac users: The exported references will appear in the Downloads folder. Drag and drop the file into the EndNote icon on the dock.
- Tick the references you want to export to EndNote
- Click on the 'Send to' button
- Choose Citation manager
- Click Create File
- The way you open the file will depend on the browser you use. When you open it, your reference will be imported and appear in the Imported References list.
Notes:
- Direct export from PubMed will not work if you use IE8 and Windows XP - you need Windows 7 OR Google Chrome.
- With Macs and Firefox you might be prompted to Open or Save the file - choose Open > Browse.
- Highlight the EndNote icon > OK > OK .
- EndNote may open the Choose an Import Filter box.
- Scroll down and highlight PubMed (NLM) > Choose.
- The references will appear in the EndNote temporary window.
Mac users: The exported references will appear in the Downloads folder. Drag and drop & the file into the EndNote icon on the dock.
Use the online Table styler for creating grid layout on websites because the traditional HTML tables are outdated and not responsive.
Ovid databases allow export to EndNote in batches of 1000.
- At the top of the results page select All.
- Use the range option located next to All to enter 1-1000
(If the total results exceed 1000, you will receive this notice:
"The number of results you have selected is exceeding your institution limits"
Ignore this notice.) - Select Export
- From the pop-up menu, select Format: EndNote
Select required fields to include - Citation; Citation Abstract; Citation, Abstract, Subject Headings; Complete Reference [recommended]
Select Export - A download file will be created.
Depending on the Internet browser, either save the file first and select Open With EndNote or just open. - Opening the file will initiate the import of the records.
If prompted to use a filter to save the records, select PubMed (NLM). - If the total number of records exceed 1000, repeat the procedure, entering the next range e.g. 1001-2000.
Repeat these steps until all selected records have been imported.
- Tick the references you want to export to EndNote.
- Click Export (top of results).
- Select Export Citation to RIS.
- If using Internet Explorer, a dialogue box will appear to Open or Save.
- The way you open the file will depend on the browser you use. When you open it, your reference will be imported and appear in the Imported References list.
Mac users: The exported references will appear in the Downloads folder. Drag and drop the file into the EndNote icon on the dock.
It is possible to directly export references from Google Scholar one reference at a time.
There are 2 ways of doing this:
1. Change your Google Scholar settings
- Click on
then 
- Scroll down to Bibliography manager.
- Select Show links to import citations into EndNote (default BibTeX - use arrows to find EndNote).
- Click Save. EndNote links will now appear with the search results. Click on this link to export the citation.
- To retain settings, you must turn on cookies.
2. Use the Cite (
) links.
- Search Google Scholar
- Click on Cite () under the reference you want to export.
- A Cite box will open.
- Click EndNote.
Mac users: The exported references will appear in the Downloads folder. Drag and drop the file into the EndNote icon on the dock.
NB: Direct Export from Google Scholar is limited to the citation only - no abstract or URL / DOI links. You can try clicking on the Library Search@Murdoch link or search the article title in a database or online journal to see if that export function includes the abstract.