Skip to main content

My Unit Readings: Guide for Teaching Staff

Collecting resources for your list

What are bookmarks?

Bookmarks are references to resources you collect to create reading lists. Each bookmark is a link to the online resource or to information about the resource’s physical location. You can bookmark a wide range of resources including books, book chapters, journal articles, websites and streaming videos.

You use a bookmarking tool to create bookmarks, see the following section.

How to bookmark different types of resources

Once you've installed the bookmarking tool, you can start collecting bookmarks. You'll use these bookmarks to populate your reading list. All you need to do is find the item you want to add and then click the 'Add to Bookmarks' tool on your browser. The easiest way to find resources to bookmark is by using Library Search. You can also bookmark websites, webpages and streaming video on the open web.

This is a summary of the process you should follow:

  1. Find the item you want to add to your bookmark collection.
  2. Click on 'Add to My Bookmarks' in your browser's favorites toolbar.
  3. Check the metadata fields have been correctly populated. If necessary, additional fields can be added via 'Add Field'.
  4. If the item is full text online, make sure the 'Online Resource' box is ticked.
  5. Click 'Create or Create & add to list'.

Step 1

  • Find the item you want to add to your bookmark collection
    (this example is for a journal article via Library Search).

Steps 2 - 5

  • Click on 'Add to My Bookmarks' in your browser's favorites toolbar.
  • Check the metadata fields have been correctly populated. If necessary, additional fields can be added via 'Add Field'.
  • If the item is full text online, make sure the 'Online Resource' box is ticked.
  • Click 'Create or Create & add to list'.

Bookmarking a print book or ebook
  1. Search for the item using Library Search.
  2. Click on the item you want to bookmark  - ensure you are on the item's record page.
  3. Click on 'Add to My Bookmarks' in your browser's favorites toolbar.
  4. Check the metadata fields have been correctly populated.
  5. Click 'Create or Create & add to list'.

 

Bookmarking a print item (chapter from a book or journal article not available online)
  1. Find the book or journal on Library Search.
  2. Click on the item you want to bookmark  - ensure you are on the item's record page.
  3. Click on 'Add to My Bookmarks' in your browser's favorites toolbar.
  4. Check the metadata fields have been correctly populated.
  5. From the 'Add Field' drop down menu choose 'Has part (chapter, article, etc…)', then click the 'Add' button.
  6. Select 'Chapter' for Resource Type.
  7. Edit the 'Chapter Title' field.
  8. Add fields such as author, date and pages. Note: These fields are important to add if you want the chapter digitised.
  9. Click 'Create or Create & add to list'.

Once you have bookmarked the item and added it to your list, you can request digitisation of the item.

 

Bookmarking an online journal article
  1. Find the article using Library Search or Library Databases.
  2. Click on the article you want to bookmark - ideally the article's abstract or summary page rather than the PDF version.
  3. Click on 'Add to My Bookmarks' in your browser's favorites toolbar.
  4. A preview of the article will appear on the right - check the metadata fields have been correctly populated.
  5. Make sure the 'Online Resource' box is ticked.
  6. Click 'Create or Create & add to list'.

 

Bookmarking a webpage or YouTube video
  1. Navigate to your chosen website/webpage or YouTube video.
  2. Click on 'Add to My Bookmarks' in your browser's favorites toolbar.
  3. Check the metadata fields have been correctly populated.
  4. Edit/add fields such as title, author and date.
  5. Make sure the 'Online Resource' box is ticked.
  6. Click 'Create or Create & add to list'.

 

Bookmarking using the Lookup Tool

If you know the ISBN or DOI of a resource, using the Lookup tool to create a bookmark can be helpful.

  1. Click on 'Add to My Bookmarks' in your browser's favorites toolbar.
  2. Find the 'Lookup tool' at the bottom of the page and select either ISBN or DOI.
  3. Enter the ISBN number or DOI number and click on 'Lookup'.

Your bookmark collection

You can view and edit your entire collection of your bookmarks in My Unit Readings. 

To access your bookmark collection:

  1. Ensure your are logged into My Unit Readings.
  2. In the top navigation, click 'My Bookmarks'.

You can view bookmarks in different citation styles by selecting an option from the 'View as citation' dropdown menu. You can also search your bookmarks by title, author or notes using the search bar to the right.

If you need to edit or remove a particular bookmark:

  1. Find the bookmark in your list by searching or browsing
  2. Click the options icon (three vertical dots) to the right of the bookmark title.
  3. Select either 'Edit' or 'Remove'.

Please note, editing a bookmark will update this data everywhere, including lists.

Things to remember when bookmarking

  • For good quality items on your list, bookmark items via Library Search or Library databases where possible.
  • Bookmark resources by clicking through to the individual record view. Do not bookmark an item from the Library Search results list.
  • Remember to bookmark the whole book for book chapters. Once you've bookmarked the book, add the chapter details using 'Add field: Has part (chapter, article, etc)'.
  • Do not bookmark from the PDF version of a journal article.
  • Avoid creating bookmarks manually.
  • Make sure the 'Online Resource' box is ticked if the resource is an online resource.

Next step

Excellent! Now that you've collected all the resources for your list, you can start:

Creating your list