NOTICE: This guide is currently under review, with a new guide to be launched before Semester 1, 2025. In the meantime, please direct any queries or feedback about this guide to the Library's Digital Experience via our Enquiry and Feedback form.
Rule 1.13 explains the structure and formatting of bibliographies.
Where a bibliography is required, it should list all sources that were relied upon (not only those referred to in the text and footnotes).
A reference list includes only those sources that have been cited in footnotes.
Regardless of the content (references only or all sources consulted during research), the heading of this section is always Bibliography.
The list of sources is divided into headings.
All sources listed in the bibliography or reference list should be cited as set out in the AGLC rules (cases should be set out as if referred to in the text).
However:
- an author’s first name and surname should be inverted and separated by a comma – for works by two or more authors, only the first author’s name and surname should be inverted
- full stops should not follow the citations
Sources should be listed in alphabetical order according to:
- the surname of the first-listed author
- where the author is an institution, the first word of the name of the institution (excluding ‘the’)
- where there is no author, the first word of the title
Where two authors have the same surname, the authors should be sorted alphabetically according to their first names.
Where more than one work of an author is listed, the works should be listed in chronological order.
Alphabetise List
Arrange the entries below each heading alphabetically.
Always refer to the Australian Guide to Legal Citation when completing your work.
The Australian Guide to Legal Citation
The citation style which is followed by the Murdoch University Faculty of Law is outlined in the AGLC Referencing Guide
Rule 1.16 explains the structure and formatting of bibliographies.
The bibliography may be divided into sections.
A section may be omitted and other categories or subdivisions included as needed (with appropriate numbering).
A Articles / Books / Reports
B Cases
C Legislation
D Treaties
E Other
Microsoft Office 365 ProPlus is available free of charge to all enrolled Murdoch University students.
Each student is allowed to install Microsoft Office on up to 5 devices (Windows, Mac, iPad, Android).
Features of use to students include:
* Magnifyer
* Narrator
* On-screen Keyboard
* Speech Recognition (tip: use a high quality microphone)
* Snipping Tool
Use the Search function in the bottom task bar to access these tools.
Word inserts a reference mark in the text and adds the footnote at the bottom of the page.
1. Click where you want to add the footnote.
2. Select References > Insert Footnote.
3. Type the footnote text.
4. To return to your place in your document, double-click the footnote mark.
Shortcut: Ctrl+Alt+F to insert a footnote.
A more detailed explanation can be accessed from How to Add a Footnote to Microsoft Word
Exclude Footnotes in Word Count
|
Step 1: Select Word Count Tool from the status bar in the bottom left of your document. You can count words, lines, paragraphs, and pages. |
 |
|
Step 2: Uncheck the box to NOT include footnotes and reference list |
 |
Free databases
Use the URL at the top of the screen for free databases and websites, such as AustLII, Federal Register of Legislation, WA Parliament.
Subscription databases
Subscription databases require a permalink, without a session ID.
See the difference:
URL from navigation pane
https://advance.lexis.com/document/?pdmfid=1201008&crid=31539c41-4022-45b6-844c-692f6508ab7a&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fcases-au%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A58RJ-P341-JNCK-23TP-00000-00&pdcontentcomponentid=267716&pdshepid=urn%3AcontentItem%3A58RJ-P341-JNCK-23TP-00000-00&pdteaserkey=sr0&pdicsfeatureid=1517127&pditab=allpods&ecomp=zdtpk&earg=sr0&prid=f5af9926-4459-40d7-8a35-eae2ed5a1861
Permalink URL
https://advance.lexis.com/api/permalink/8d5031bd-5a59-487a-bb4c-9360043aeb26/?context=1201008&federationidp=5PWM5640302
