Skip to Main Content

Self Paced Lesson - Australian Law - Subject Guide

Introduction

NLAW010 Pre Law Self Paced Lesson

This lesson will assist in sourcing legal materials such as encyclopaedia articles,  journal articles, legislation, and cases using legal databases (mostly AustLII, Jade, Lexis Advance and Westlaw Australia).
Links to the legal databases are on the Law Subject Guide homepage.
These are materials you will need for your research, in preparation for writing your assignments.

Skills for sourcing journal articles, legislation and cases are not only necessary for completing your Pre Law assignments - they are foundational skills you will use your whole student and professional life.


Familiarise yourself with the Law Subject Guide.
(This Lesson is part of the Law Subject Guide.)

The Law Subject Guide has links to:

  • legal databases (that you will use throughout this Lesson)
  • database help
  • step-by-step- instructions for sourcing legal material
  • study and research tools

In addition to the self paced lessons, the Law Subject Guide contains information on legal research materials.

The Law Subject Guide includes more details on sourcing:

  • legal databases (that you will use throughout this Lesson)
  • database help
  • step-by-step- instructions for sourcing legal material
    • Tertiary and Secondary Legal Materials
    • Legislation
    • Case Law
  • study and research tools

Click on the LAW HOME tab above to start your familiarisation journey:

Save to Favorites or Bookmark the Law Subject Guide - you will be visiting this invaluable resource constantly!

Should you have any questions, please submit an enquiry via Murdoch Support or visit the Law Library Help Desk.

Database Access

Database Access Issues

If you experience access issues to the databases, for example, Lexis Advance:

*   open a different Internet browser (e.g. Chrome, Firefox, Edge)

paste the URL for the Library's database launch page into the different browser

select the Connect to link on the launch page to access the database

if this solves your access issue, clear the cookies from the problem browser

*   take a screen shot of the problem browser's error message, including the URL, and send this to the Library.