Skip to Main Content

Case law

Court cases

Cases by citation

You need to know which database to search to find a case by its citation. Follow the steps below to find the correct database:

  1. Solve the abbreviation of the court reporting series into full using Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
  2. Search for the full name of the court reporting series using Library Search
  3. Source the court reporting series on the correct database (e.g. Lexis Advance or Westlaw Australia) or Library shelves (e.g. All England Law Reports)

Once you know which database you need to search, see the following tabs for instructions. These instructions use the example case 249 CLR 435, [2013] HCA 1.

You can access legal databases via our Databases page:

To find a case by citation in AustLII:

  1. Type case citation into the Search box, enclosed in double inverted commas: "2013 HCA 1". Note: It is more efficient to use the medium neutral citation when searching in AustLII
  2. Click on the magnifying glass icon for Search
  3. Select the relevant case from the Results list. Example: Google Inc v Australian Competition and Consumer Commission [2013] HCA 1 (6 February 2013).

To find a case by citation in Jade:

  1. Type case citation into the Search box, enclosed in double inverted commas "249 CLR 435"
  2. Click on 'Search now'
  3. Select the relevant case from the Results list. Example: Google Inc v Australian Competition and Consumer Commission; [2013] HCA 1 (06 February 2013) (French CJ, Hayne, Heydon, Crennan and Kiefel JJ); 249 CLR 435; 87 ALJR 235; 294 ALR 404; 99 IPR 197.

Tip: Sign up for Jade Professional using your Murdoch student email address @student.murdoch.edu.au.

To find a case by citation in Lexis Advance:

  1. Type case citation into the Quick Find Search box, enclosed in double inverted commas: "249 CLR 435"
  2. Click on the 'Cases' tab

To find a case by citation in Westlaw Australia:

  1. Type the case citation into the search box, enclosed in double inverted commas: "249 CLR 435". Pause and wait for suggestions
  2. Select the relevant case from the drop-down suggestion/s
  3. Click on the 'Other versions' drop-down arrow to access the authorised version

Cases by name

To search for case law by case or party name, start your search in Westlaw Australia. Westlaw Australia holds most authorised reports.

Example search: Roman Catholic Church Trustees v Hadba 

  1. Select 'Cases' from the 'Content types' filter on the Westlaw Australia home page
  2. Select 'Advanced search'
  3. Complete the 'Case Title/Party Name' field, then press 'Search'

  4. Select relevant result. Example: Trustees of Roman Catholic Church for Diocese of Canberra and Goulburn v Hadba; [2005] HCA 31, 221 CLR 161.

More details can be found in the Self Paced Lesson for sourcing a case by the case name.

Famous cases

For famous cases, such as the AAP Case, Engineers Case, Mabo Case, Seas & Submerged Lands Case and the Woollen Underwear Case, start by searching legal encyclopaedias and case citators (they are often referred to by their common names).

Hard-to-find cases

Associated Minerals Pty Ltd v NSW Rutile Mining Company Pty Ltd [1962] ALR 236; (1961) 35 ALJR 296

A citation often supplied for this case is (1961) 35 ALJR 256

  • The citation is incorrect
  • Volume and ALJR are correct, but the page number is incorrect
  • Search for the case on Jade to find it referred to in another case - this time with the correct page number

Atkins v Egypt Holdings Pty Ltd (unreported, SCWA, 10 July 1987)

  1. Go to Lexis Advance
  2. Go to 'Cases Search Template'
  3. Enter the case name:  Atkins AND Egypt Holdings 
  4. Make the Jurisdiction "Western Australia"

Crocker Consolidated v Willie [1988] WAR 187

  1. Go to Westlaw Australia
  2. Search by Citation:  "1988 WAR 187"

Browne v. Dunn (1893) 6 R 67

See the website Browne v Dunn for more information.

Balfour v Balfour [1919] 2 KB 571

  1. Go to the ICLR database
  2. Add case name (part names) to search box: "Balfour v Balfour"
  3. Select link to "[1919] 2 KB 571" from Results list entry

UK cases

To source cases from the United Kingdom, use the case citator vLexJustis. It will give links to where the case can be sourced from the Library's current subscription databases.

Example: Balfour v Balfour [1919] 2 KB 571

  1. Access vLexJustis 
  2. Type the case citation into the Search box, enclosed in double inverted commas: "[1919] 2 KB 571"
  3. Check that the jurisdiction is 'United Kingdom'
  4. Click on the magnifying glass icon for Search
  5. Select the relevant case from the Results list
  6. The Citations & Sources panel lists databases for each of the case citations. Look in the block for the citation [1919] 2 KB 571
  7. Select the logo for ICLR to access the case.

Tip: Click on the 'Precedent Map' tab to see cases that have cited this case.

Learn more: