Topic Research Guides: Self Represented Litigants - Free Resources

The Topic Research Guides list key resources relevant for people researching a particular area of law.

The ALLA Free Australian Legal Resources list has a variety of free legal information resources in Australia. 

Self Represented Litigants are also known as Litigants in Person (LiPs).

Legal terms and definitions

• Glossary of Parliamentary Words (Parliament of Australia)
• Glossary of Parliamentary Terms and Language (WA Parliament)
• Glossary of Legal Terms (Federal Court of Australia)
• Investopia defines and explains financial and commercial terms
• UK Family Law Dictionary

Legislation

• The Constitution
• Federal Register of Legislation (Commonwealth legislation)
• Western Australian Legislation
• Other States and Territories
• Legify will link you to authoritative Australian legislation
• Best Practice Regulation publishes information about regulatory decisions announced by the Australian Government and by COAG and Ministerial Councils
• Office of Parliamentary Counsel (Australian Government) and the Parliamentary Counsel's Office (WA) can provide information of how legislation is drafted
• Parliament of WA and WA Hansard
• Parliament of Australia and Commonwealth Hansard

Information about finding and interpreting legislation: Legislation Research Self Paced Lesson

Instructions on How to Source Legislation.

Instructions on How to Source Law Reform Material.

Case law

Information about finding and interpreting legislation: Case Law  Research Self Paced Lesson.

Instructions on How to Source Case Law.

District Court of Western Australia. Civil Procedure - Representing Yourself

Magistrates Court of Western Australia. Fees, Forms & Factsheets.

Treaties and international law

Information about finding public international law: Public International Law Research Topic Guide

Journal articles

Information about finding How to Source Journal Articles

Instructions on How to Source Journal Articles.

Opinions from law firms

Information about law firms: Professional Associations & Law Firms

Citation

Legal material must be cited / referenced according to the ​Australian Guide to Legal Citation (AGLC).

Databases

• AustLII
• Australian Law Reform Commission
• Australian Treaty Series
• BAILII
• Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
• Fee Fie Foe Firm
• Google Scholar
• International Court of Justice
• Jade Barnett
• LawCite
• Law Reform Commission of Western Australia
• Lexology
• Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
• Think Tank Search (Harvard Kennedy School)
• United Nations
• United Nations Treaty Database
• WorldLII

Free or low-cost legal advice

• Aboriginal Legal Service of WA provides legal representation and support services for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people
• Community Legal Centres (CLCs) may also be able to provide free or low-cost legal advice. CLCs may be based geographically (e.g. Gosnells, Midland) or deal with specific legal issues (e.g. The Humanitarian Group, Employment Law Centre of WA).​
  • Community Legal Centres WA
  • National Association of Community Legal Centres 
• Environmental Defenders Office
• Family Relationships Online provides telephone legal advice on family law issues
• The Humanitarian Group
• Law Access from Law Society of Western Australia
• Legal Aid WA can provide free preliminary information and advice on many legal issues
• Mental Health Law Centre
• SCALES - Southern Communities Advocacy Legal and Education Service Inc.
• Sussex St Community Law Service (Victoria Park)
• Tenancy WA
• Welfare Rights and Advocacy Centre
• Youth Legal Service

Finding a lawyer

• FindLaw Australia
• Law Society of Western Australia
• Western Australian Bar Association

Justices of the Peace

• Department of the Attorney General

Pro bono

• Australian Pro Bono Centre
• Law Access

 

 

 

Can I borrow books from the Murdoch University Library?
Yes.
Community members are welcome to join the Library.
More information can be found on the Joining the Library page.

Can the Law Library Help Desk Assistants give me legal advice?
No.
The Law Desk Assistants are senior law students, not lawyers, so cannot give legal advice.

Can I access the Supreme Court Law Library?
No.
The Supreme Court Law Library has closed.

Western Australian Courts, Tribunals & Boards

• Children's Court
• Coroner's Court
• District Court of Western Australia and a guide for self-represented litigants
• Family Court of Western Australia and a guide for self-represented litigants
• Magistrates Court of Western Australia
• Prisoners Review Board
• State Administrative Tribunal (SAT) and a guide to using SAT
• Supreme Court of Western Australia
• Warden's Court
• Western Australian Industrial Relations Commission (WAIRC)
• Other courts, tribunals and boards

Commonwealth Courts & Tribunals

• Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT)
• Fair Work Commission (FWC)
• Family Court of Australia
• Federal Court of Australia
• Federal Circuit Court of Australia
• High Court of Australia
• National Native Title Tribunal
• Veterans' Review Board
• Other courts and tribunals

Government Departments and Agencies

• Commonwealth Departments and Agencies
• Local Government Directory
• WA Departments and Agencies
• Other State and Territory Departments

Business, competition and consumer affairs

• ABN Lookup
• Australian Competition and Consumer Commission
• Australian Consumer Law
• Australian Securities and Investment Commission (ASIC)
• Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety (WA)
• Small Business Development Corporation
• Government Consumer Law Resources

Employment law, workplace safety, discrimination and equal opportunity

• Australian Human Rights Commission
• Disability Services Commission
• Equal Opportunity Commission (WA)
• Safe Work Australia

Property and Native Title

• Indigenous Land Corporation
• Landgate
• Native Title Infobase
• Office of the Registrar of Indigenous Corporations

Not all issues need to be resolved through the court system.

If you want to make a complaint, an ombudsman may be able to investigate and resolve it for you.

There are many ombudsmen in Australia, including:

• Commonwealth Ombudsman investigates complaints by people who believe they have been treated unfairly or unreasonably by an Australian Government agency
• Credit and Investments Ombudsman
• Energy and Water Ombudsman WA
• Fair Work Ombudsman provides advice and information about workplace rights and obligations
• Financial Ombudsman Service Australia
• Ombudsman Western Australia investigates complaints about decisions of WA public authorities
• Postal Industry Ombudsman
• Telecommunications Industry Ombudsman

A number of commissions, government departments and other bodies may be able to investigate your complaint, including:

• Australian Human Rights Commission can investigate and resolve complaints about discrimination at work
• Legal Practice Board of WA for complaints against legal practitioners in WA
• Office of the Australian Information Commissioner for privacy complaints

More information about these bodies can be found at the websites:

• Australian and New Zealand Ombudsman Association
• ACCC
• ​Australian Government
• Legal Aid WA.