Quizzes 1-5 - BIO103 - Unit Guide - Help and Support at Murdoch University

Quizzes

The quizzes below will allow you to use the resources detailed in the BIO103 Library self-paced exercises and to test your library skills. These quizzes are for self-assessment only.

Quiz 1 - Reference Resources
Quiz 2 - Books
Quiz 3 - Journal Articles
Quiz 4 - Databases
Quiz 5 - Google Scholar and Comparing Resources

Quiz 1 - Reference Resources

Please go to the Encyclopedia of Life Sciences, search for the term Echinodermata and use the full article retrieved to answer the following questions:

1. Select the section on Habitats and Abundance (using the Sections menu) - which two marine habitats are occupied by Echinodermata?

a. shallows and hadal depths
b. inter-tidal shores and shallows
c. inter-tidal shores and hadal depths

Response:

2. Use the Sections menu and select the Synopsis section, which of these are names for living classes of echinoderms?

a. Crinoidea, Owloidea, Echinoidea
b. Asteroidea, Ophiuroidea, Echinoidea
c. Asteroidea, Holothuroidea, Elephantoidea

Response:

3. Click on the Information tab, which keywords have been assigned to this article?

a. asteroids, crinoids, starfish
b. echinoids, holothuroids, ophiuroids
c. asteroids, phylogeny, placi
d. water vascular system, stereom, crown of thorns

Response:

Quiz 2 - Books

Do a Keyword search in Library Search to find books on "leadbeaters possum".

Scroll to the book with the title Wildlife and woodchips: Leadbeater's possum; A test case for sustainable forestry.

4. Which of the following is a subject heading for this book?

a. Wildlife habitat destruction -- Australia
b. Human populations -- Australia -- Computer simulation
c. Leadbeater's possum -- Ecology

Response:

5. Where is this book located at the Geoffrey Bolton Library?

a. Geoffrey Bolton Library South Wing Level 2
b. Geoffrey Bolton Library North Wing Level 2
c. Geoffrey Bolton Library North Wing Level 3 High Demand

Response:

6. What is the call number?

a. 599.32 LIN 1969
b. 599.23 LIN 1996
c. 599
d. 599.23 LEA 1996

Response:

Quiz 3 - Journal Articles

Do a Title search via the Library Search for the journal Marine Pollution Bulletin.

7. Which volumes and years are held in print?

a. None
b. Vol. 1(1) 1970 - Vol. 44(1) 2002
c. Vol. 4(1) 1973 - present

Response:

8. Which years of the journal are available online?

a. 1900 - present
b. 1970 - present
c. 2000 - present

Response:

Search for the following article: Brodie, J., K. Fabricius, G. De’ath and K. Okaji. 2005. “Are Increased Nutrient Inputs Responsible for More Outbreaks of Crown-of-thorns Starfish? An Appraisal of the Evidence.” Marine Pollution Bulletin 51 (1-4): 266-278.

9. Which of the following statement best describes this article?

a. It is available in print
b. It is available in print and online
c. It is available online

Response:

Search for the following article: Hazell, M. J. 1971. “The Crown of Thorns Affair.” Marine Pollution Bulletin 2, no. 11 (November): 166-168.

10. Which statement best describes this article?

a. This article is held at Murdoch University Library
b. This article is not held at Murdoch University Library

Response:

Are the following statements true or false?

11. All journals have a DOI (Digital Object Identifier)

a. False
b. True

Response:

12. Library Search is a tool that helps you to find journal articles.

a. False
b. True

Response:

13. If there is no DOI, you can still use Library Search to check if the Library holds the journal article online.

a. True
b. False

Response:

Quiz 4 - Databases

Using Oxford Reference, perform a search for “crown of thorns starfish” - read the Overview Page for echinoderm and answer the following questions:

14. The crown of thorns starfish causes damage to coral reefs, how?

a. They poison other marine creatures
b. They cause storm damage
c. They eat the soft tissue of coral reefs

Response:

15. What is the taxonomic name for the crown of thorns starfish?

a. Acanthaster planci
b. Acanthaster presley
c. Apanther planci

Response:

Using ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts, do a default search (Anywhere) for “Crown of thorns starfish” AND Australia

16. which of the following statements best describes your search results?

a. This search found more than 4000 articles
b. This search found more than 400 articles
c. This search found less than 40 articles
d. This search found no articles

Response:

Use the same search results and Sort by Most recent first.

17.The Publication date filter has articles grouped by?

a. Century or date range
b. Year or date range
c. Decade or date range

Response:

Now change from the default setting ( Most recent first) to Relevance.
The most relevant articles are not necessarily the most recently published.
Find the article with the title "Incidence and severity of injuries among juvenile crown-of-thorns starfish on Australia’s Great Barrier Reef" and answer questions 18 to 20:

18. When was this article published?

a. Jan 2020
b. Sep 2016
c. Dec 2019

Response:

Click on Abstract/Details.

19. What are the first 3 Subjects listed for this article?

a. Acanthaster planci, Symbionts, Indian Ocean
b. Marine parks, Corals, Habitat utilization
c. Symbiosis, Predation, Prey selection
d. Coral, Marine invertebrates, Feeding behavior

Response:

Using ASFA, do a Document title search for "crown of thorns starfish", with and without peer-reviewed selected.

20. What is the total number of results retrieved without the selection of peer-reviewed?

a. Approximately 120 articles
b. Approximately 200 articles
c. Approximately 20 articles

Response:

21. What is the approximate total number of results retrieved with the selection of peer-reviewed?

a. Approximately 50 articles
b. Approximately 100 articles
c. Approximately 150 articles

Response:

Using BIOSIS Citation Index, search by Topic for "crown of thorns starfish".
Using the Refine Results menu, from Major Concepts select ECOLOGY ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCES and from Research Areas select BIODIVERSITY CONSERVATION.
Click on Refine.

22. The title of an article published in 2022 is?

a. Fish predators control outbreaks of Crown-of-Thorns Starfish
b. The neuropeptidome of the Crown-of-Thorns Starfish, Acanthaster planci
c. Prevalence and severity of sublethal injuries in crown-of-thorns starfish relative to marine reserves in the Great Barrier Reef

Response:

Click on Authors in the Refine Results panel.

23. The surname of the author who publishes the most after you have refined your search is?

a. Morgan
b. Mumby
c. Pratchett

Response:

Select the most prolific author and click on Refine.

24. The journal in which they publish most articles is?

a. Reef Ecology
b. Coral Reefs
c. Marine Ecology
d. Ecological Applications

Response:

Now use the Search button at the very top of the page and, using BIOSIS , do a Title search for this article: "Declining reliance on marine resources in remote South Pacific societies: ecological versus socio-economic drivers".

25. Approximately how many times has this article been cited in BIOSIS Citation Index?

a. 40 times
b. 400 times
c. 4000 times

Response:

Use the Search button and the down arrow next to BIOSIS Citation Index^SM to see all of the databases that the Library subscribes to through Web of Science.

26. Which of the following databases does the Library subscribe to through Web of Science?

a. Scopus, MEDLINE, Web of Science Core Collection, CABI
b. BIOSIS CItation Index, MEDLINE, Web of Science Core Collection, CABI
c. BIOSIS CItation Index, MEDLINE, ProQuest, CABI

Response:

Select All Databases, and do a Title search for: "Declining reliance on marine resources in remote South Pacific societies: ecological versus socio-economic drivers".

27. Approximately how many times has this article been cited in all of the Web of Science databases?

a. 20
b. 50
c. 80

Response:

Select BIOSIS Citation Index and do another Title search for this article: "Chemical constituent analysis of the crown-of-thorns starfish Acanthaster planci and potential utilization value of the starfish as feed ingredient for animals".

28. Using the Taxonomic Data for this article, which of the following best describes the Super Taxa for crown of thorns starfish?

a. Crown of Thorns, Invertebrata, Animalia
b. Echinodermata, Invertebrata, Animalia
c. Acanthaster planci, Invertebrata, Animalia
d. Exodermata, Invertebrata, Animalia

Response:

Quiz 5 - Google Scholar and Comparing Resources

Perform a default search for “coral reefs” AND “acanthaster planci” in BIOSIS Citation Index, Scopus, ASFA, Library Search & Google Scholar.

29. This search in BIOSIS Citation Index retrieves approximately how many articles?

a. 150
b. 350
c. 550

Response:

30. This search in Scopus retrieves approximately how many articles?

a. 30
b. 300
c. 3000

Response:

31. This search in ASFA retrieves approximately how many articles?

a. 250
b. 550
c. 850

Response:

32. This search in Library Search retrieves approximately how many articles?

a. 67000
b. 1600
c. 600

Response:

33. This search in Google Scholar retrieves approximately how many articles?

a. 2800
b. 4800
c. 6800

Response:

34. How are the results of the searches performed in questions 30-34 best described in the following statements?

a. I only need to use Google Scholar to comprehensively search for scientific literature
b. I need to use a range of resources to comprehensively search for scientific literature
c. I only need to use Library Search to comprehensively search for scientific literature
d. I only need to use ASFA to comprehensively search for scientific literature

Response: