Skip to main content

Publishing Research - Research Guide

Open Access Publishing

What is Open Access Publishing?

Image result for open access imageOpen access (OA) refers to freely available, digital, online information. Open access scholarly literature is free of charge and often carries less restrictive copyright and licensing barriers than traditionally published works, for both authors and users. Users of open access publications are free to read, download, copy, print, distribute, search, link to the full texts of these publications, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

Open access scholarly publications include both journal articles and books, as well as other text and non-text based publications.

While OA is a newer form of scholarly publishing, many OA publications are peer-reviewed and maintain high publishing standards. All OA publications should be evaluated in the same manner as publications published under the traditional academic publishing model.

Open Access publishing is based on the principle of providing public access to publicly funded research and this publishing model may provide significant benefits to the community, as well as to you and your research.

Why Consider Open Acess Publishing?

  • Increased visibility - Open access could increase the visibility and impact of your research and create potential for a higher number of citations. Studies have shown that downloads and citation counts are higher for OA publications. Publishing your article in an OA publication means that more people are likely to see it, simply because more people will be able to access it. The greater visibility achieved with OA may allow you to reach potential collaborators more easily. Your research will be available to practitioners, educators, policy makers and the general public - most of whom do not have access to expensive subscriptions or academic library collections.
  • Immediacy - If speed is an important factor in your decision regarding where to publish, an OA publication may be your best choice. Publishing in any peer-reviewed publication will always entail some degree of delay from submission to acceptance, and finally to publication. Many peer-reviewed OA journals provide a rapid publication process, with significantly shorter time from acceptance to publication.
  • Funding requirements - The Australian Research Council (ARC) and the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) policies both require research outputs arising from ARC/NHMRC funded projects be made openly available and deposited into an open access institutional repository (such as the Murdoch Research Repository) or in other acceptable locations, within 12 months from the date of publication.
  • Costs - Both traditional and OA publications may charge a small fee at the time of submission to cover editorial and peer review-related costs. The difference is in the post-acceptance fees. Traditional publications commonly charge per page and/or per color figure. OA publications typically charge a flat processing charge that can vary greatly between publications. Under the traditional publishing model, the cost of academic subscriptions is high; academic libraries regularly review their subscriptions and if a publication is no longer of continuing value to the university, the subscription may be cancelled. 

Models of Open Access Publishing

There are two models of open access (OA) publishing:

  • Gold OA - the publication is freely available from the publisher’s website
  • Green OA - the publication is available in an open access digital research repository, such as the Murdoch Research Repository

Compare publishing models:


Model provides Traditional Gold OA Green OA

Immediate access?

No Yes Varies
Free access for reader? No Yes Yes
Access to published version? No Yes Varies - usually no
No fees for author? Yes Varies Yes
Funder requirements? Varies Yes Yes

OA Journals

Gold OA model - the final peer-reviewed or published version of the journal article is freely available from publisher’s website.

Gold OA journals may be:

1. Fully OA - Articles are published in an OA journal and accessible online immediately. There are two types of fully OA journals:

  •  Paid Gold fully OA journals charge an article processing charge (APC).The APC can range from hundreds to thousands of dollars and may be paid by the author or it may be paid by a  funding grant
  •  Free Gold fully OA journals are often published by universities, societies or research centres, and do not charge fees for publication

2. Hybrid - The author pays for an article to be openly accessible within a subscription journal - publisher receives both subscriptions and OA fees

3. Delayed OA - The journal article is initially accessible only to journal subscribers. After a specified embargo period, the article can be accessed free of charge

Green OA model - the author publishes their article in the journal of their choice, and then deposits a version of the work in either an institutional or subject repository, making it freely available - the version which can be deposited is specified by the publisher. This model makes your research more discoverable, you don't have to pay article processing charges and you can still publish in the 'best' journal for your research.

OA Books

Gold OA - Usually the approach used by institution, university or library presses: The publisher charges a publication or processing charge which allows the book to be made OA. The author may pay this fee or it may be paid by a funding grant.

Hybrid model - Often used by OA book publishers: The publisher provides free access to the OA editions and offers other digital editions or additional material for sale.

Green OA - Rarely used: It allows a version of the book to be made open access, with the cost recovered from later printed editions.

Resources

Australasian Open Access Strategy Group (AOASG) - supports open access to all the outputs of scholarship in Australia and New Zealand.

Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association (OASPA) - supports open access (OA) journal and book member publishers globally in all scientific, technical, and scholarly disciplines; membership of the Association is retricted to publishers who demonstrate ethical standards.

SPARC* - a global coalition committed to making Open the default for research and education.

Open Access Explained - a video by Piled Higher and Deeper (PHD Comics).

Contributing to the Murdoch Research Repository - welcomes contributions from staff and research students of Murdoch University and its associated bodies.

Optimize Your Publishing, Maximize Your Impact - an Open publishing guide for young researchers by the Right To Research Coalition.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) - an independent online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Common Myths about Open Access...Busted! - from BioMed Central.