Textbooks
White collar crime texts are shelved at 364.168.
Many ebooks are available on white collar crime.
Subject terms in the catalogue include: White Collar Crime; White Collar Crime Australia; and White Collar Crime in Australia and New Zealand.
Subject terms can be more specific, including: "rational choice theory"; corruption; financial crimes; Sutherland white collar; white collar victim; occupational white collar
Some texts include:
- Australian Sentencing / Mirko Bagaric and Richard Edney
- The handbook of white-collar crime / Melissa L. Rorie
- The Oxford handbook of white-collar crime / edited by Shanna R. Van Slyke, Michael L. Benson, and Francis T. Cullen
- The Palgrave Handbook of Australian and New Zealand Criminology, Crime and Justice
- Vold's theoretical criminology / Thomas J. Bernard, Jeffrey B. Snipes, Alexander L. Gerould
- White-collar and corporate crime : a documentary and reference guide / Gilbert Geis
Journals:
Commentary
Search for specific crimes e.g. "breach of (confidence OR trust)"; defalcation; embezzlement; misappropriation
Databases
Legislation
Key Australian legislation relating to white collar crime includes:
- Australian Crime Commission Act 2002 (Cth)
- Australian Crime Commission Establishment Regulations 2020 (Cth)
- Australian Crime Commission (Western Australia) Act 2004 (Cth)
- Crimes Act 1914 (Cth)
- Crimes Regulations 2019 (Cth)
- Proceeds of Crime Act 2002 (Cth)
- Proceeds of Crime Regulations 2019 (Cth)
- Australian Crime Commission (Western Australia) Act 2004 (WA)
- Australian Crime Commission (Western Australia) Regulations 2005 (WA)
- Corruption, Crime and Misconduct Act 2003 (WA)
There are also specific legislation for different areas of insurance such as:
- Crimes (Currency) Act 1981 (Cth)
- Crimes (Superannuation Benefits) Act 1989 (Cth)
- Crimes (Taxation Offences) Act 1980 (Cth)
Use Legify to source authoritative versions of legislation from Australian jurisdictions.
Legislation can be sourced from Federal Register of Legislation and Western Australian Legislation.
You may also need to look at UK legislation. Search for UK legislation at Legislation.gov.uk.
Other resources relating to legislation:
- vLexJustis links to UK legislation and related materials
- LawNow Legislation from Lexis Advance - drill down to a section and click the >> to find related commentary or cases
Case Law
How to Source a Case
- Step 1: Solve the abbreviation of the court reporting series into full using Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
- Step 2: Search for the full name of the court reporting series using Library Search
- Step 3: Source the court reporting series on the correct database (e.g. Lexis Advance or Westlaw Australia) or Library shelves (e.g. All England Law Reports)
Relevant Australian Case Citators
-
CaseBase from Lexis Advance: a citation and abstract service to Australian case law, links to some fulltext.
-
Westlaw Australia: Content Type: Cases: a subject index and citator for Australian case law, links to some fulltext.
-
CCH iKnowConnect: includes a range of Australian decisions from a number of practice areas.
-
AustLII: free full text access to Australian medium neutral citation versions and unreported judgments.
-
LawCite: a free, automatically generated Australian and international legal case and journal article citator.
-
Jade: free database and current awareness service of Australian case law
Relevant UK Case Citators
-
Westlaw UK: access to UK and EU legal materials including cases
- BAILII: free full text access to British, Irish, EU case law, legislation and law commission reports
- vLexJustis: UK, Irish, EU, Singapore and other international case law
- ICLR: access full text authorised case law