Sourcing Legislation

Commonwealth Acts from the Federal Register of Legislation by:
Name
Number and Year
Currently in Force

Western Australian Acts from Western Australian Legislation by:
Name
Number and Year
Currently in Force

All State and Territory legislation can be accessed from the Federal Register of Legislation

Understand an Act

Bill + EM + 2RS + Reports = Act

View these step-by-step instructions for sourcing legislation using specific databases:

Legify.com.au:	Federal Register of Legislation (Cth) Search by: Name, Year, Currently in Force:
Western Australian Legislation (WA) Search by:Name, Year, Currently in Force:

State and Territory legislation:
Federal Register of Legislation

Commonwealth Act Amendments	Western Australian Act Amendments
Step 1: Source Act using Legify.com.au	Step 1: Source Act using Legify.com.au
Step 2: In the TABLE OF CONTENTS pane scroll down to the very last item to find the Endnotes (expand + the last item, if necessary)	Step 2: Navigate through the Act to the clause
Step 3: Expand + the Endnotes	Step 3: Amendment history is located immediately below each clause Note the amendment dates
Step 4: Select Endnote 4—Amendment history	Step 4: Return to the list of Versions
Step 5: Locate section number to find amending/inserting/etc Act/s Note: Amending Act is given by number (note Act’s assent date)	Step 5: Read the Currency start and end dates Select the version of the Act that contains the amendment date
Step 6: Search for Act by Number to see change/s: Acts As made Year / Number To find the amendment Ctl + F [section number or keyword]	Step 6: From the Compare column, select the PDF version of the Act
Step 7: To see original wording to compare changes: Select View Series Read the Start and End dates for each version Select version of Act prior to change (prior to amending Act's assent date)	Step 7: Use the Bookmarks to quickly navigate to the section to see the change in wording

Commonwealth Act Amendments

Western Australian Act Amendments

Step 1:

Source Act using Legify.com.au

Step 1:

Source Act using Legify.com.au

Step 2:

In the TABLE OF CONTENTS pane
scroll down to the very last item
to find the Endnotes
(expand + the last item, if necessary)

Step 2:

Navigate through the Act to the clause

Step 3:

Expand + the Endnotes

Step 3:

Amendment history is located
immediately below each clause

Note the amendment dates

Step 4:

Select Endnote 4—Amendment history

Step 4:

Return to the list of Versions

Step 5:

Locate section number to find amending/inserting/etc Act/s

Note: Amending Act is given by number (note Act’s assent date)

Step 5:

Read the Currency start and end dates
Select the version of the Act that contains the amendment date

Step 6:

Search for Act by Number to see change/s:

Acts
As made
Year / Number

To find the amendment Ctl + F [section number or keyword]

Step 6:

From the Compare column, select the PDF version of the Act

Step 7:

To see original wording to compare changes:

Select View Series
Read the Start and End dates for each version
Select version of Act prior to change (prior to amending Act's assent date)

Step 7:

Use the Bookmarks to quickly navigate to the section to see the change in wording

To understand why the amendment was made, source the amending Act's

Explanatory Memorandum (attached to the Bill)
Second Reading Speech

View these step-by-step instructions for sourcing amendments to Acts/legislation using specific databases:

Federal Register of Legislation (Cth)
Legify.com.au:

Western Australian Legislation (WA)
Legify.com.au:

Commonwealth Acts	Western Australian Acts
Step 1: Source Act on Federal Register of Legislation Tip: use Legify	Step 1: Source Act on Western Australian Legislation Tip: use Legify
Step 2: Select the View Series link in the Details pane located to the left of screen	Step 2: Select Versions of this Act (includes consolidations, Reprints and “As passed” versions)
Step 3: Check the Start and End dates each version was in force between	Step 3: Select Consolidated Versions
Step 4: Select the version relevant to specific time period	Step 4: Check the Start and End dates each version was in force between
Note: Superseded Version in Details pane of versions no longer in force	Tip: Choose the Compare PDF version Use the Bookmarks to navigate through amendments

Commonwealth Acts

Western Australian Acts

Step 1:

Source Act on Federal Register of Legislation

Tip: use Legify

Step 1:

Source Act on Western Australian Legislation

Tip: use Legify

Step 2:

Select the View Series link in the Details pane
located to the left of screen

Step 2:

Select Versions of this Act
(includes consolidations, Reprints and “As passed” versions)

Step 3:

Check the Start and End dates each version was in force between

Step 3:

Select Consolidated Versions

Step 4:

Select the version relevant to specific time period

Step 4:

Check the Start and End dates each version was in force between

Note:
Superseded Version in Details pane of versions no longer in force

Tip:
Choose the Compare PDF version
Use the Bookmarks to navigate through amendments

General search instructions:

select Cases search template or Advanced Search in a database
select relevant jurisdiction
complete the Legislation name and provision text boxes
select relevant Court, if required

Lexis Advance	Westlaw AU	AustLII
Step 1: Access Lexis Advance	Step 1: Access Westlaw AU	Step 1: Access AustLII
Step 2: Select drop-down arrow beside Advanced Search Select Secondary Materials	Step 2: Select Journals Search Template located to the left of screen	Step 2: Select LawCite located at the end of the red stripe
Step 3: Navigate down to Legislation Title and Provision Number	Step 3: Navigate down to Legislation Cited (Title)	Step 3: Add the Act title in Legislation Considered: Add the provision number in Section Tip: omit the Act year only add the provision number - not s, p, etc
Step 4: Add the term Tip: select Act title from suggestions only add the provision number - not s, p, etc	Step 4: Add the Act's Title Tip: omit the word Act omit the year	Step 4: Select Search
Step 5: Select Search	Step 5: Add the provision number as Free Text	Step 5: Select Law Journal Articles matching this search located at end of menu below LawCite logo
Step 6: Narrow results by using filters located to the left of screen	Step 6: Select Search
	Step 7: Narrow results by using filters located to the left of screen

Lexis Advance

Westlaw AU

AustLII

Step 1:

Access Lexis Advance

Step 1:

Access Westlaw AU

Step 1:

Access AustLII

Step 2:

Select drop-down arrow beside Advanced Search
Select Secondary Materials

Step 2:

Select Journals Search Template
located to the left of screen

Step 2:

Select LawCite
located at the end of the red stripe

Step 3:

Navigate down to Legislation Title and Provision Number

Step 3:

Navigate down to Legislation Cited (Title)

Step 3:

Add the Act title in Legislation Considered:

Add the provision number in Section

Tip:

omit the Act year

only add the provision number - not s, p, etc

Step 4:

Add the term

Tip:

select Act title from suggestions
only add the provision number - not s, p, etc

Step 4:

Add the Act's Title

Tip:

omit the word Act
omit the year

Step 4:

Select Search

Step 5:

Select Search

Step 5:

Add the provision number as Free Text

Step 5:

Select
Law Journal Articles matching this search
located at end of menu below LawCite logo

Step 6:

Narrow results by using filters
located to the left of screen

Step 6:

Select Search

Step 7:

Narrow results by using filters
located to the left of screen

View these step-by-step instructions for sourcing Acts considered in journal articles using specific databases:

AustLII:	CCH IntelliConnect:
Informit:	LawCite:
Lexis Advance:	Westlaw AU:

Commonwealth Bills (1996+)	Western Australian Bills (2000+)
Step 1: Source Bill on Parliament of Australia	Step 1: Source Bill on Parliament of Western Australia
Step 2: Select the Bill from the Browse list	Step 2: Select the Bill from the list
Tip: Select the link to the Bills Digest Bills Digest gives summary, purpose, background and impact of Bill (view in PDF format for live links)	Other Source: AustLII
Other Sources: Federal Register of Legislation - Bills and Explanatory Memoranda AustLII - Browse by year or title

Commonwealth Bills (1996+)

Western Australian Bills (2000+)

Step 1:

Source Bill on Parliament of Australia

Step 1:

Source Bill on Parliament of Western Australia

Step 2:

Select the Bill from the Browse list

Step 2:

Select the Bill from the list

Tip:

Select the link to the Bills Digest

Bills Digest gives summary, purpose, background and impact of Bill

(view in PDF format for live links)

Other Source:

AustLII

Other Sources:

Federal Register of Legislation - Bills and Explanatory Memoranda

AustLII - Browse by year or title

Understand an Act

Bill + EM + 2RS + Reports = Act

View these step-by-step instructions for sourcing Bills using specific databases:

Legify.com.au (Cth) Bills from 1996 onwards:	Federal Register of Legislation (Cth) Bills from 1996 onwards:
Bills Digest (Cth) (Browse by Year or Search) Bills from 1976 onwards:	Parliament House (ParlInfo) (Cth) Bills from 1996 onwards:
Parliament of Western Australia (WA) Bills from 2000 onwards:

Bills Digest provides useful information on the purpose and background of Bills.

Lexis Advance	Westlaw AU
Step 1: Access Lexis Advance	Step 1: Access Westlaw AU
Step 2: Select drop-down arrow beside Advanced Search Select Legislation	Step 2: Select Legislation and Commentary Search Template located to the left of screen
Step 3: Navigate down to Defined Terms	Step 3: Navigate down to Defined Terms
Step 4: Add the term	Step 4: Add the term
Step 5: Select Search	Step 5: Select Search
Step 6: Narrow results by using filters located to the left of screen Alternatively: Browse Results looking at Content and Jurisdiction located to the right of each result	Step 6: Narrow results by using filters located to the left of screen

Lexis Advance

Westlaw AU

Step 1:

Access Lexis Advance

Step 1:

Access Westlaw AU

Step 2:

Select drop-down arrow beside Advanced Search
Select Legislation

Step 2:

Select Legislation and Commentary Search Template
located to the left of screen

Step 3:

Navigate down to Defined Terms

Step 3:

Navigate down to Defined Terms

Step 4:

Add the term

Step 4:

Add the term

Step 5:

Select Search

Step 5:

Select Search

Step 6:

Narrow results by using filters
located to the left of screen

Alternatively:

Browse Results looking at Content and Jurisdiction
located to the right of each result

Step 6:

Narrow results by using filters
located to the left of screen

View these step-by-step instructions for sourcing defined terms in legislation using specific databases:

Lexis Advance Pacific:

WestlawAU

Regulations, Rules, Determinations, etc by title:
Legify.com.au

Commonwealth Regulations, Rules, Determinations, etc from the Federal Register of Legislation by:
Name
Number and Year
Currently in Force

Western Australian Regulations, Rules, Determinations, etc from Western Australian Legislation by:
Name
Number and Year
Currently in Force
Commencement Date

Note: if you are already on the Western Australian Legislation page for a WA Act, select the link to Subsidiary legislation made under this Act(current versions)

All State and Territory legislation can be accessed from the Federal Register of Legislation

View these step-by-step instructions for sourcing delegated legislation (e.g. regulations) using specific databases:

Legify.com.au:	Federal Register of Legislation (Cth) Search by: Name, Year:
Western Australian Legislation (WA):

Other States & Territories:
FRoL: Other Sources of Australian Law

Commonwealth Explanatory Memoranda (1996+)	Western Australian Explanatory Memoranda (2000+)
Step 1: Source Bill on Parliament of Australia	Step 1: Source Bill on Parliament of Western Australia
Step 2: Select the Bill from the Browse list	Step 2: Select the Bill from the Browse list
Step 3: Navigate down the Bills page to access the EM	Step 3: Navigate down the Bills page to access the EM
Alternative: Source Bills and their EM on the Federal Register of Legislation The EM button is at the top of each Bill's page

Commonwealth Explanatory Memoranda (1996+)

Western Australian Explanatory Memoranda (2000+)

Step 1:

Source Bill on Parliament of Australia

Step 1:

Source Bill on Parliament of Western Australia

Step 2:

Select the Bill from the Browse list

Step 2:

Select the Bill from the Browse list

Step 3:

Navigate down the Bills page to access the EM

Step 3:

Navigate down the Bills page to access the EM

Alternative:

Source Bills and their EM on the
Federal Register of Legislation

The EM button is at the top of each Bill's page

Note:

Commonwealth:

Since 1982, Explanatory Memoranda have been standard practice for Bills.

Commonwealth Explanatory Memoranda Index:
Indicates whether there was an Explanatory Memoranda or Comparative Memoranda accompanying a Bill from 1901 to 1982

For more information on Commonwealth Explanatory Memoranda see Was there an EM? : Explanatory Memoranda and Explanatory Statements in the Commonwealth Parliament

Western Australia:

Prior to 2000, Explanatory Memoranda in Western Australia were rarely published.

Explanatory Memoranda Pre - 2000: on the Parliamentary Library Western Australia website

Understand an Act

Bill + EM + 2RS + Reports = Act

View these step-by-step instructions for sourcing Explanatory Memoranda using specific databases:

Federal Register of Legislation (Cth) EMs from 1996 onwards:	Lawlex (Cth) EMs from 1996 onwards:
Parliament House (ParlInfo) (Cth) EMs from 1996 onwards:	Parliament of Western Australia (WA) EMs from 2000 onwards:

Commonwealth Government Gazette - Federal Register of Legislation

Western Australian Government Gazette - State Law Publisher

Commonwealth Hansard	Western Australian Hansard (August 2000+)	Western Australian Hansard (1870 - June 2000)
Step 1: Access Hansard on Parliament of Australia	Step 1: Access Hansard on Parliament of Western Australia	Step 1: Access Hansard on Parliament of Western Australia
Step 2: Scroll down screen to Search Hansard	Step 2: Select Advanced search (August 2000 until present)	Step 2: Select Hansard archive (1870 - June 2000)
Step 3: Select More options to expand search Uncheck Hansard title only	Step 3: Check the box for Detailed Word and Phrase Searching	Step 3: Select Advanced search (located on the right of screen)
Step 4: Add the details you know Tip: use the From & To calendar dates	Step 4: Add the details you know	Step 4: Add the details you know
Step 5: Select Search	Step 5: Select Search	Step 5: Select Search

Commonwealth Hansard

Western Australian Hansard (August 2000+)

Western Australian Hansard (1870 - June 2000)

Step 1:

Access Hansard on Parliament of Australia

Step 1:

Access Hansard on Parliament of Western Australia

Step 1:

Access Hansard on Parliament of Western Australia

Step 2:

Scroll down screen to Search Hansard

Step 2:

Select

Advanced search (August 2000 until present)

Step 2:

Select

Hansard archive (1870 - June 2000)

Step 3:

Select More options to expand search
Uncheck Hansard title only

Step 3:

Check the box for Detailed Word and Phrase Searching

Step 3:

Select Advanced search
(located on the right of screen)

Step 4:

Add the details you know

Tip: use the From & To calendar dates

Step 4:

Add the details you know

Step 4:

Add the details you know

Step 5:

Select Search

Step 5:

Select Search

Step 5:

Select Search

Understand an Act

Bill + EM + 2RS (sourced from Hansard) + Reports = Act

View these step-by-step instructions for sourcing parliamentary debates (Hansard) using specific databases:

Parliament of Australia (Cth): Hansard 1901+:	ParlInfo Search (Cth) Hansard 1901+:
ParlInfo Search (Cth) Hansard 1901+:
WA Parliament (WA) 1996+:	WA Parliament (WA) 1870 - 1995:
WA Parliament (WA) 1996+:

Daily Transcripts - uncorrected Hansard is available about 3 hours after the House rises

Hansard is available in print in the Law Library at GR 328.94102 W527 3

See Finding Second Reading Speeches in Print or Online Guide for more detailed information.

Australian Law Reform

Australian Law Reform Commission - click on Publications to access reports and papers
Law Reform Commission of Western Australia
Law Reform Advisory Council (ACT)
Law Reform Commission of New South Wales
Law Reform Committee Northern Territory
Queensland Law Reform Commission
Tasmania Law Reform Institute
Victorian Law Reform Commission
WorldLII Australian Law Reform Library

International Law Reform

World Law Reform Database (British Columbia Law Institute) - index to publications of law reform agencies in the Commonwealth of Nations and the United States (some reports may not be available online)
WorldLII Law Reform Project - Searches across law reform databases hosted on the Legal Information Institutes (LIIs). Includes only a handful of common law jurisdictions at this time
Law Commission (UK)

Royal Commissions ans Commissions of Inquiry

Commentary includes case law and expert's interpretation of legislation

Lexis+

Westlaw AU

Abbreviation key

ad = added or inserted	o = order(s)
am = amended	Ord = Ordinance
amdt = amendment	orig = original
c = clause(s)	par = paragraph(s)/subparagraph(s)/sub-subparagraph(s)
C[x] = Compilation No. x	pres = present
Ch = Chapter(s)	prev = previous
def = definition(s)	(prev ... ) = previously
Dict = Dictionary	Pt = Part(s)
disallowed = disallowed by Parliament	r = regulation(s)/rule(s)
Div = Division(s)	reloc = relocated
ed = editorial change	renum = renumbered
exp = expires/expired or ceases/ceased to have effect	rep = repealed
F = Federal Register of Legislation	rs = repealed and substituted
gaz = gazette	s = section(s)/subsection(s)
LA = Legislation Act 2003	Sch = Schedule(s)
LIA = Legislative Instruments Act 2003	Sdiv = Subdivision(s)
(md) = misdescribed amendment can be given effect	SLI = Select Legislative Instrument
(md not incorp) = misdescribed amendment cannot be given effect	SR = Statutory Rules
mod = modified/modification	Sub-Ch = Sub-Chapter(s)
No. = Number(s)	SubPt = Subpart(s)
	underlining = whole or part not commenced or to be commenced

Source: Acts Interpretation Act 1901 (Cth) Endnote 2—Abbreviation key

Commonwealth Committee Reports (1970+)	Western Australian Committee Reports (1997+)
Step 1: Access the Committees page on Parliament of Australia	Step 1: Access the Committees page on Parliament of Western Australia
Step 2: Select More options immediately below the Search box	Step 2: Select Advanced search located to the right of screen
Step 3: Add the details you know	Step 3: Add the details you know Alternatively: Select from the All committees menu, located to the right of screen
Step 4: Select Search	Step 4: Select Search
Step 5: Select Report from the About this inquiry menu, located to the right of screen	Step 5: Select Report tab

Commonwealth Committee Reports (1970+)

Western Australian Committee Reports (1997+)

Step 1:

Access the Committees page on Parliament of Australia

Step 1:

Access the Committees page on Parliament of Western Australia

Step 2:

Select More options immediately below the Search box

Step 2:

Select Advanced search
located to the right of screen

Step 3:

Add the details you know

Step 3:

Add the details you know

Alternatively:

Select from the All committees menu,
located to the right of screen

Step 4:

Select Search

Step 4:

Select Search

Step 5:

Select Report from the About this inquiry menu,
located to the right of screen

Step 5:

Select Report tab

Understand an Act

Bill + EM + 2RS + Reports = Act

View these step-by-step instructions for sourcing Parliamentary Committee Reports using specific databases:

Commonwealth Parliamentary Committee Reports (Cth):

WA Parliament (WA)
1990+:

Register of Commonwealth Committee Reports - House of Representative and Joint Committee Reports from 1901 to 17 October 2014

Commonwealth Parliamentary Committees - about

Western Australian Parliamentary Committees - about

Commonwealth Bills Progress (1996+)	Western Australian Bills Progress (2000+)
Step 1: Source Bill on Parliament of Australia	Step 1: Source Bill on Parliament of Western Australia
Step 2: Select the Bill from the Results list	Step 2: Select the Bill from the list
Step 3: Select the link to the Bill home page located to the left of screen located above the Table of Contents menu	Step 3: Navigate to the Progress table
Step 4: Navigate to the Progress of bill table

Commonwealth Bills Progress (1996+)

Western Australian Bills Progress (2000+)

Step 1:

Source Bill on Parliament of Australia

Step 1:

Source Bill on Parliament of Western Australia

Step 2:

Select the Bill from the Results list

Step 2:

Select the Bill from the list

Step 3:

Select the link to the Bill home page
located to the left of screen
located above the Table of Contents menu

Step 3:

Navigate to the Progress table

Step 4:

Navigate to the Progress of bill table

View these step-by-step instructions for sourcing the progress of a Bill through Parliament using specific databases:

Lawlex:	Parliament House (ParlInfo) (Cth) Bills from 1996 onwards:
Parliament of Western Australia (WA) Bills from 2000 onwards:

Bills Digest provides useful information on the purpose and background of Bills.

Second Reading Speeches are recorded in Hansard.

Source early Second Readings Speeches directly from Hansard.

Commonwealth Second Reading Speeches (1996+)	Western Australian Second Reading Speeches (2000+)
Step 1: Source Bill on Parliament of Australia	Step 1: Source Bill on Parliament of Western Australia
Step 2: Select the Bill from the Results list	Step 2: Select the Bill from the list
Step 3: Select the link to the Bill home page located to the left of screen located above the Table of Contents menu	Step 3: Navigate down the Bills Home Page to access the Second Reading Speech
Step 4: Navigate down the Bills Home Page to access the Second Reading Speech

Commonwealth Second Reading Speeches (1996+)

Western Australian Second Reading Speeches (2000+)

Step 1:

Source Bill on Parliament of Australia

Step 1:

Source Bill on Parliament of Western Australia

Step 2:

Select the Bill from the Results list

Step 2:

Select the Bill from the list

Step 3:

Select the link to the Bill home page
located to the left of screen
located above the Table of Contents menu

Step 3:

Navigate down the Bills Home Page to access
the Second Reading Speech

Step 4:

Navigate down the Bills Home Page to access
the Second Reading Speech

Understand an Act

Bill + EM + 2RS (sourced from Hansard) + Reports = Act

View these step-by-step instructions for sourcing Second Reading Speeches using specific databases:

Lawlex: 2RS from 1996 onwards:	Parliament House (Cth) Search by: Name, Year, Currently in Force:
Parliament of Western Australia (WA) 2RS from 2000 onwards:

State Agreements are contracts between the Government of Western Australia and proponents of major resource projects which are ratified by an Act of the State Parliament.

They specify the rights, obligations, terms and conditions for development of the project, and establish a framework for ongoing relations and cooperation between the State and the project proponent.

The Department of Jobs, Tourism, Science and Innovation administers State Agreement Acts on behalf of the Government of Western Australia.

As part of this responsibility, the Department also negotiates new agreements, variations, terminations and repeals of State Agreement Acts as required.

For more information on State Agreements and State Agreement Acts see the State Agreements website.

Tip: Use Legify to access specific Agreement Acts

Australian Legislation and Delegated Legislation

Each State or Territory Parliament has authorised publishers for their legislation and delegated legislation.

Australia's Territories

Cocos (Keeling) Island legislation - a list of Western Australian Acts that is tabled biannually in the Senate that adds onto the full list of Acts that apply to the Cocos (Keeling) Islands.

Legify - a quick way of locating the authoritative version of Australian legislation.

Federal Register of Legislation - provides links to authoritative sources for state and territory legislation.

Australian Government Online Directory (GOLD) provides a wide variety of information about Australian Government Parliaments, bodies, agencies and departments.

Commentary of Australia's laws can be sourced from:

Halsbury’s Laws of Australia - Lexis Advance
Laws of Australia - Westlaw AU

Australian Explanatory Memoranda

GovPubs: the Australian Government Publications Guide - source explanatory memoranda for all Australian jurisdictions.

International Jurisdictions

Multijurisdictional Databases

CommonLII - Commonwealth and Common Law
Foreign Law Web Archive - legislative materials, including gazettes and judicial sites
HeinOnline
- Select Browse Collections by Category > Foreign & International Law
Oxford University Press - timeline of the history of international law
TR Westlaw - contains consolidated legislation for the US, UK, and the European Union
- Select Dockets > International Materials
Westlaw UK - contains consolidated legislation for the UK, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland
WorldLII
International and Foreign Case Law Subject Guide
International Law in Domestic Courts map

New Zealand

Access to New Zealand Law
Courts of New Zealand judgments
Lexis Advance - change the country button to NZ
New Zealand Law Journal
New Zealand Legal Information Institute (NZLII)
New Zealand Legislation - The New Zealand Parliamentary Counsel Office
WestlawAU - for NZLR parallel citations

United Kingdom

HeinOnline - Statutes of the Realm (1235-1713)
ICLR - the best legal database for sourcing authorised law reports of cases from the United Kingdom
Legislation.gov.uk provides legislation information for UK, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland
UK Legal Info - LawBore

United States

Cornell's Legal Information Institute (LII)
Federal Digital System
HeinOnline - Code of Federal Regulations / Federal Register
Office of the Law Revision Counsel - United States Code
Benchbook on International Law - Diane Marie Amann (ed.) American Society of International Law

Treaties

Australian Treaties Library - AustLII
Australian International Treaty Making Information Kit - AustLII
Australian Treaties Database - Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
FLARE Index to Treaties
International Treaties Collection - WorldLII
Kluwer Arbitration
LawCite - parties are the country names
Public International Law - Law Unit Research Guide
Treaties, States Parties and Commentaries - International Committee of the Red Cross (for Geneva Conventions)
United Nations Treaty Collection

Treaties are a primary source of international law.

International Organisations

There are a number of valuable resources for international legislation research that are found on the websites of international organisations.

These include:

Legal information Institutes:

Asian Law Centre
AsianLII
BAILII (British and Irish)
CanLII (Canada)
CommonLII (Commonwealth)
HKLII (Hong Kong)
LII (US)
NZLII (New Zealand)
PacLII (Pacific)
SAFLII (South Africa)
WorldLII
All

Legal Research - Subject Guide RED TABS: Sourcing Legislation