Legal research quick links
- Library Search Search the Library's resources.
- My Unit Readings Find the reading list for your unit.
- Law journals Search BrowZine for online law journals.
- Databases help guide Find help instructions for the most common law and criminology databases.
Legal research support
Give us feedback
UK case law
Example case: A.G. Securities v Vaughan [1988] 3 All ER 1058
The Library may not have a subscription to the full text of a case in the case reporting service cited. Utilise the parallel citations to find another version of the case (but be sure to check that you have the correct case).
See the following tabs for instructions for searching in the most relevant databases.
You can access legal databases via our Databases page:
- Type in the party names (no citation)
- Select a hyperlinked citation. Check that the list of parallel citations includes the citation given.
When reading a UK case, you may find the following resource useful:
- Type the case citation into the Search box, enclosed in double inverted commas: "[1919] 2 KB 571"
- Check that the jurisdiction is 'United Kingdom'
- Click on the magnifying glass icon for Search
- Select the relevant case from the Results list
- The Citations & Sources panel lists databases for each of the case citations. Look in the block for the citation [1919] 2 KB 571
- Select the logo for ICLR to access the case.
Tip: Click on the 'Precedent Map' tab to see cases that have cited this case.
Other international case law
Jurisdiction-based
- Find case law - UK National ArchivesContains UK judgments and decisions from 2003 onwards
- HeinOnlineContains Foreign & International Law collection
- LawCiteInternational legal case and journal article citator
- vLexJustisContains case law from UK, Ireland, Singapore, India and more common law jurisdictions around the world.
- Westlaw ClassicContains full text of international legal resources from UK, Canada, US and EU.
- WorldLIIGlobal international law