Skip to Main Content

Topic Research Guides

Migration Law

Research Resources and Guides For Law Topics

Textbooks

Migration Law texts are shelved at 342.820994.
Many are Government Publications which is denoted by a 'G' after the shelf number.

Subject terms to search in the Library Catalogue include:
    Australia -- Emigration and immigration -- Government policy
    Emigration and immigration -- Australia
    Emigration and immigration law -- Australia
    Migrant labor -- Australia
    Refugees -- Legal status, laws, etc -- Australia
    Skilled labor -- Australia

eBooks are available through Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law.

There are a number of major texts in this area with regular editions being released.
Check the Catalogue for details of the current edition.

Commentary & Forms

Australian Immigration Law and Practice in Lexis Advance (Find this in the Source Directory under Immigration law) - contains policy information and forms.

Halsbury's Laws of Australia - section 77 Citizenship and Migration

LEGENDcom - This database is managed by the Australian Department of Immigration and Border Protection and contains policy information and forms for use by Migration Agents.

Commentaries related to  refugees

Journals and Indexes

Keeping Up To Date with Australian Legal Developments

Federal Register of Legislation: Create an account, then set up subscriptions to keep up to date with changes to legislation. This is a free service.

Western Australian Legislation: Create an account, then set up subscriptions to keep up to date with changes to WA legislation. This is a free service.

Keeping Up To Date by creating alerts lists alerts to sign up to as well as news feeds from superior courts.

Australian Newspapers directory: From the National Library of Australia. A list of all Australian newspapers, check each paper to find if they offer an email alert service.

BRIEF: The official journal of the Law Society of Western Australia.

LLRX - Law Library Resource Xchange: Register to receive the free monthly international ejournal on a wide range of internet research and technology-related issues, applications, resources and tools.

Practice Source: Subscribe to the alert service to stay up to date with what’s happening in Australian law firms and the industry (top right of screen).

Google Alerts: Set up alerts on targeted topics of interest.

Databases

Lexis Advance

Topics covered:

  • Bringing family to Australia
  • Citizenship, Former Resident and Resident Return visas
  • Doing business in Australia
  • Forms
  • General principles
  • Humanitarian Program
  • Issues common to all visas
  • Issues common to some visas
  • Legislation (current and historical)
  • Legislative Instruments
  • Migration practice
  • Portfolio Policies and Procedures
  • Processes
  • Studying in Australia
  • Visas (index)
  • Visiting Australia
  • Working in Australia

Legislation

There are many pieces of legislation in this subject area and you can find these by using the following databases:

Australian Federal Parliament inquiry - Efficacy of the current regulation of Australian migration agents

Other Materials

ABS Report - 3416.0 - Perspectives on Migrants, 2013  

Office of the Migration Agents Registration Authority - Client Monies Toolkit

Office of the Migration Agents Registration Authority - Code of Conduct & Practice Guides

Office of the Migration Agents Registration Authority - Ethics Toolkit

 

News Sources

Australian Newspapers directory: From the National Library of Australia. A list of all Australian newspapers, check each paper to find if they offer an email alert service.

EBSCO: Select Business Source Complete database. On the Advanced Search screen, select Publication type: newspapers

Factiva.com: An extensive collection of Australian and international publications (journals, magazines, newspapers), websites, images, and company data and company reports from Reuters.

Informit: Resources indexed include journals, books, conference proceedings and television broadcasts.

News.com.au: This site covers major Australian newspapers such as The AustralianThe Courier-MailThe AdvertiserDaily TelegraphHerald Sun and The Mercury. To receive daily news headlines by email each morning subscribe to the service.

Practice Source: Subscribe to the alert service to stay up to date with what’s happening in Australian law firms and the industry (top right of screen).

ProQuest: Multidisciplinary collection of journals, magazines and theses, including many business, management and economics resources.

Thomson Reuters Westlaw - provides a searchable collection of news sources from Australia, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, China, Japan, Korea and the UK. Select the World News tab.

TVNews: Provides access to Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentary broadcasts from the free-to-air networks.

Westlaw UK - provides a searchable collection of National (UK), Regional, International and Business, Trade and Industry News.