Research Data Management - Research Guide

Murdoch University can archive your research data via the Research Portal once your project is complete.

Datasets can be deposited to the Research Portal as an Output, up to a maximum file size of 500MB per file and a maximum of 2GB total. 

If you have archived your research data elsewhere in a data or subject repository, the link can be added to the Research Portal instead of uploading a file.

Please include as many metadata details as possible including:

• Title
• Authors/Creators (and their roles - e.g. Principal Investigator, Project Manager, Data Collector, Data Manager, Contributor etc.)
• Abstract/Summary
• Year (and ideally, also the dates of when the data was collected)
• Publisher
• License  - Murdoch University recommends applying a CC-BY license to your data (the least restricted license). However, if there is any sensitive material in this dataset that means the data needs to be restricted, please let us know.
• Fields of Research 

CoreTrustSeal is a certification organisation that offers data repositories a core level certification based on the DSA-WDS Core Trustworthy Data Repositories Requirements catalogue and procedures. This universal catalogue of requirements reflects the core characteristics of trustworthy data repositories.

Repositories that meet the certification standards display this seal:

• ARDC Nectar Research Cloud 
  The ARDC Nectar Research Cloud is Australia's national research cloud and provides Australia's research community with fast, interactive, self-service access to large-scale computing infrastructure, software and data.
• CSIRO Data Access Portal
• The CSIRO Data Access Portal provides access to research data, software and other digital assets published by CSIRO across a range of disciplines.
• Directory of Open Access Repositories (OpenDOAR)
  A global directory of Open Access repositories and their policies.
• Dryad Digital Repository
  An open source, community driven resource that seeks to make research data openly available, integrated with the scholarly literature, and routinely re-used to create knowledge.
• ELIXIR Deposition Databases
  A list of recommended resources for the deposition of biomolecular and other life sciences data.
• figshare
  Allows researchers to share their research in a secure, searchable and citable location.
• Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
  An open data archive for research in the social and behavioral sciences.
• Pawsey Supercomputing Centre
  The Pawsey Supercomputing Centre is an unincorporated joint venture between CSIRO, Curtin University, Edith Cowan University, Murdoch University and The University of Western Australia and is supported by the Western Australian and Federal Governments. Provides services in the areas of supercomputing, visualisation, and data storage and analysis.
• Repository Finder
  Find an appropriate repository to deposit your research data. The tool is hosted by DataCite.
• Research Data Australia
  Research Data Australia is a discovery service for Australian research data. Search by collections, researchers or organisations.
• re3data.org
  A global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines.
• SEANOE
  An Open Archive for marine research data.
• World Bank Knowledge Repository
  The official open access repository for the World Bank's research outputs and knowledge products.