Skip to main content

Veterinary Medicine - Subject Guide

Open Access resources (CAVE)

Open Access Veterinary Medicine Resources

Open access (OA) resources are freely available. These resources may be accessed by students enrolled in Centre for Advanced Veterinary Education (CAVE) courses and by alumni of the Murdoch University, College of Veterinary Medicine.

Open Access Veterinary Medicine Databases

 

Database Description

AGRICOLA

Covers all aspects of agriculture including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, alternative farming practices, food and nutrition and animal welfare.
AGRIS A global public database providing access to bibliographic information on agricultural science and technology.
BioMed Central : Open Access journals A collection of open access, peer-reviewed journals in the biomedical sciences
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) Research and review papers from scientific and scholarly periodicals that have been peer-reviewed or have undergone editorial quality control. Full text access is free.
Europe PubMed Central Provides access to information sources for veterinary, biomedical and health researchers.
HighWire Press (Free Journals) A repository of high impact, peer-reviewed journal content, primarily in the biomedical, health, veterinary and other sciences.
Hindawi Journals Publishes titles covering a wide range of academic disciplines including science, technology and medicine. Currently over 300 open access, peer-reviewed journals are available.
Invasive Species Compendium A constantly developing encyclopaedic resource covering invasive species threatening livelihoods and the environment worldwide. ISC contains datasheets on over 1500 invasive species and animal diseases including information on countries, habitats and pathways. There is also a bibliographic database of over 65,000 records
Medknow Publishes open access peer-reviewed journals in science, technology and medicine, many on behalf of learned societies and associations.
Public Library of Science (PLoS) A nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.
PubMed Includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals. Subject coverage includes all areas of medicine, veterinary medicine and related disciplines. Also available are links to full text journals in PubMed Central and links to a series of molecular and genome databases.
PubMed Central (PMC) The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

Veterinary Medicine Journals with OA Content

A limited number of articles in veterinary journals published by major publishers such as BMJ, Cambridge Journals, CSIRO, Elsevier, Schattauer, Springer, Taylor & Francis and Wiley may also be available as Open Access.

The following journals allow Open Access to articles from one year after their date of publication:

Journal of Veterinary Diagnostic Investigation

Veterinary Pathology