Skip to main content

Veterinary Medicine - Subject Guide

Journals and Databases

Veterinary Medicine Databases

Database Description

ABARES

A research bureau within the Department of Agriculture. Their research and analysis span the fields of economics, science and social science covering the agriculture, fisheries, forestry, food, resources and energy sectors.
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts Indexes resources on fisheries, aquaculture, biological and ecological aspects of marine, freshwater and brackish environments.
BIOSIS Citation Index Indexes journals, reviews, conferences, patents and books in the biological and biomedical sciences
CAB Abstracts Covers a range of applied life science disciplines including agriculture, animal science, environmental science, food science, marine science, and veterinary science with selected full text articles.
Medline The United States National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database for medicine, nursing, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences.
MIMS IVS Cloud MIMS IVS gives detailed product and prescribing information for veterinary practitioners on veterinary medicines and products available throughout Australia, classified by therapeutic category.
PubMed Includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals. Subject coverage includes all areas of medicine and related disciplines. Also available are links to full text journals in PubMed Central and links to a series of molecular and genome databases.
Sage Research Methods Allows researchers to explore methods and concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
Scopus A multidisciplinary database which is very strong in the sciences and has many useful search features. It includes all the journals indexed in Medline. Good coverage for animal welfare and ethics.
Web of Science Core Collection A prestigious citation index for scientific and scholarly research. It includes a collection of over 18,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals), as well as conference proceedings and book data, in over 250 disciplines. A Web of Science Core Collection Guide is available.

Selected Veterinary Medicine Journals

Special Resource: VetFolio

You can register (it's free and only needs to be renewed annually) at VetFolio to gain access to Compendium (earlier issues available in print in the Geoffrey Bolton Library).

Discover Veterinary Medicine Journals with BrowZine