Skip to Main Content

Psychology - Subject Guide

Journals and Databases

Library resources for Psychology at Murdoch University

Psychology Databases

Database Description

Academic OneFile

Search Help

A multidisciplinary collection of journals (many of them peer-reviewed) and reference sources.

Academic Videos Online

Search Help

A database of videos that include demonstrations of a wide range of psychological and counselling techniques.

CINAHL Complete

Search Help / Help Video

The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) database covers a range of health topics including mental health.
This is a key resource for systematic reviews and other evidence-based practice materials.

ERIC

Search Help

The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. It is education-focussed but relevant for child, adolescent and developmental psychology.

Informit Health Collection

Search Help 
Select the
SEARCHING AND RESULTS tab

Full text and indexing database of over 100 Australian and New Zealand health sciences resources.

Ovid MEDLINE

Search Help

Medline is the United States National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database for medicine, nursing, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences.
Please see the box 'Medline or Pubmed' on the right for more information on the differences between these databases.

ProQuest

Search Help

Multidisciplinary collection of journals, magazines and theses, including many business, management and economics resources.
How to create free account to save searches.

PsycINFO

Search Help

Thesaurus Help

Thesaurus Video

Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycINFO covers the professional and academic literature in the field of psychology, and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Includes full text supplied by PsycArticles.
How to create free account to save searches.

PubMed

Search Help

PubMed includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals.
Subject coverage includes all areas of medicine and related disciplines.
Please see the box 'Medline or Pubmed' on the right for more information on the differences between these databases.

Scopus

Search Help / Help Video

Indexes resources in health and life sciences, chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, social sciences, psychology, and economics, business and management. Includes MEDLINE data.

Web of Science

Search Help

Web of Science provides access to all three citation databases - Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index - from 1987 onwards.

Sage Research Methods

Search Help

SAGE Research Methods (SRM) allows researchers to explore methods and concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
Since SRMO focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
All Databases  Databases can be browsed by Subject or Title.  Example: Psychology databases

Library Search

Search Help

Results can be filtered by:

  • Scholarly and peer reviewed
  • Content type e.g. journal articles, books
  • Date
  • Subject

Psychology journals

Discover Psychology Journals with BrowZine

Medline or Pubmed?

PubMed is the freely accessible online database of biomedical journal citations and abstracts created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.  Medline is its largest component but it includes other resources.

The Library also has subscriptions to Medline on both the Web of Science and Ovid platforms. These databases provide more sophisticated search functionality and shows you the FindIt@Murdoch links in your results.

Systematic Reviews

Please see our Systematic Reviews guide, if you are looking for systematic reviews or undertaking a systematic review.

Other resources

Tables of Contents from Journals

Establish alerts for Tables of Content for latest editions (free)

Journal abbreviations

There are a number of online resources that can be useful in providing the full title of journal abbreviations.