Nursing Databases
| Database | Description |
| A multidisciplinary collection of journals (many of them peer-reviewed) and reference sources. | |
| Contains concise and practical drug information relevant to the daily needs of medical practitioners, pharmacists and students. Includes listings under the Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme (PBS), drugs in pregnancy, drug interactions, dosage and adverse effects. |
|
|
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) database covers nursing and allied health topics including audiology, nutrition and dietetics, occupational therapy, physical therapy, respiratory therapy, speech-language therapy and consumer health. |
|
|
Search Help |
Full text and indexing database of over 100 Australian and New Zealand health sciences resources (search the Health Collection). |
| Contains Nursing journals from 1995 onwards. Has a stronger UK/European focus than CINAHL. |
|
| It is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) premier bibliographic database for medicine, nursing, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences. Please see the box 'Medline or Pubmed' on the right for more information on the differences between these databases. |
|
|
|
Multidisciplinary collection of journals, magazines and theses, including many business, management and economics resources |
| PubMed includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals. Subject coverage includes all areas of medicine and related disciplines. Please see the box 'Medline or Pubmed' on the right for more information on the differences between these databases. |
|
| SAGE Research Methods (SRM) allows researchers to explore methods and concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SRMO focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more. |
|
| Indexes resources in health and life sciences, chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, social sciences, psychology, and economics, business and management. Includes MEDLINE and Embase data. |
|
| Web of Science provides access to all three citation databases - Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index - from 1987 onwards. | |
| SAGE Research Methods (SRM) allows researchers to explore methods and concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SRMO focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more. |
|
| All Databases | Databases can be browsed by Subject or Title. Example: Nursing databases |
|
Results can be filtered by:
|
MIMs: At the request of the Murdoch Nursing Academics, the Library's subscription to MIMs was cancelled in 2021.
MIMs was replaced with a subscription to the Australian Medicines Handbook.
Selected Nursing Journals
This list of Nursing journals is indicative only - it is not comprehensive:
You can find other journals relevant to nursing by doing a keyword search in the Library Catalogue for:
nursing periodicals
Discover Nursing Journals with BrowZine
Medline or Pubmed?
PubMed is the freely accessible online database of biomedical journal citations and abstracts created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Medline is its largest component but it includes other resources.
The Library also has subscriptions to Medline on both the Web of Science and Ovid platforms. These databases provide more sophisticated search functionality and shows you the FindIt@Murdoch links in your results.
Other resources
Tables of Contents from Journals
Establish alerts for Tables of Content for latest editions (free)
Journal abbreviations
There are a number of online resources that can be useful in providing the full title of journal abbreviations.