Topic Research Guides: Policing & Crime Prevention

Books are shelved at 363.23 on Level 4 of the Library.

Some texts include:

• Crime prevention: approaches, practices and evaluations / Steven P Lab 
• Crime reduction and problem-oriented policing / Edited by Nick Tilley and Karen Bullock 
• Problem-oriented policing and crime prevention / Anthony A Braga 
• Risk-Based Policing: Evidence-Based Crime Prevention with Big Data and Spatial Analytics / Leslie W Kennedy et al. 
• Understanding Crime Prevention: The Case Study Approach / Tim Prenzler 

Library Search results for:

• community-orientated policing
• crime prevention
• crime prevention evidence-based
• criminal behaviour 
• criminal investigation
• policing issues 
• problem-oriented policing
• risk-based policing

• Halsbury’s Laws of Australia – Title 320 – Police and Emergency Services – I Police (Lexis Advance)
• The Laws of Australia – Title 11 – Criminal Procedure – 11.1 Criminal Investigation (Westlaw Australia)
•  Burglary reduction and the myth of displacement (AIC)
• Cost-benefit analysis and its application to crime prevention and criminal justice research (AIC)
• Crime reduction through product design (AIC)
• Prevent crime and save money: Return-on-investment models in Australia (AIC)
• Reducing the methamphetamine problem in Australia: Evaluating innovative partnerships between Police, pharmacies and other third parties (AIC)
• Regional organisation for crime prevention delivery (AIC)
• Using crime prevention to reduce deliberate bushfires in Australia (AIC)

Key Databases

• Criminal Justice and Criminology / HeinOnline
• Informit: Australian Federal Police Digest (AFPD)
• Informit: CINCH: Australian Criminology Database – CINCH indexes material on all aspects of crime and the criminal justice system
• ProQuest – contains a multidisciplinary collection of journals, magazines and theses.

Key Journals

• Australian and New Zealand Journal of Criminology
• Police Journal (Informit)
• Professional Practice in Crime Prevention and Security Management (Informit)
• Theoretical Criminology
• Trends and Issues in Crime and Criminal Justice (Informit)
• Youth Studies Australia (Informit)

Full Text Journals

• Gale Academic OneFile
• HeinOnline​
• Informit 
• Lexis Advance
• ProQuest
• Westlaw Australia

• Gale Academic OneFile
• HeinOnline​
• Informit 
• Lexis Advance
• ProQuest - be sure to click on the hamburger menu in the top left corner > select Change Databases >  check Select All Databases  > Save
• Westlaw Australia

Acts

Key Australian legislation relating to Policing and Crime Prevention

• Australian Crime Commission (National Policing Information Charges) Act 2016 (Cth)
• Crimes Act 1914 (Cth)

• Criminal Code Act 1995 (Cth)

Use Legify to find authoritative versions of legislation from Australian jurisdictions.

Search for Commonwealth legislation at Federal Register of Legislation and Western Australian legislation at Western Australian Legislation website.

You may also need to look at UK legislation. 
Search for UK legislation at

• vLexJustis
• Legislation.gov.uk

Instructions for How to Source a Case

• CaseBase from Lexis Advance: a citation and abstract service to Australian case law, links to some fulltext.

• Westlaw Australia: a subject index and citator for Australian case law, links to some fulltext.

• CCH iKnowConnect: includes a range of Australian decisions from a number of practice areas.

• AustLII: free full text access to Australian medium neutral citation versions and unreported judgments.

• LawCite: a free, automatically generated Australian and international legal case and journal article citator.

• Jade: free database and current awareness service of Australian case law

UK Cases

• Westlaw UK: access to UK and EU legal materials including cases
• BAILII: free full text access to British, Irish, EU case law, legislation and law commission reports
• vLexJustis: full text of UK, Irish, EU, Singapore and other international case law
• ICLR: access full text authorised case law

• Australian Crime Prevention Council
• Australian Human Rights Commission
• Australian Law Reform Commission
• Center for Evidence-Based Crime Policy / George Mason University
• Centre for Problem-Oriented Policing / Arizona State University
• Community Oriented Policing Services / US Department of Justice
• Crime and Justice Statistics / Australian Bureau of Statistics
• Crime Prevention and Community Liaison / Western Australia Police Force (WAPOL)
• Crime Prevention and Community Safety / WA Local Government Association (WALGA)
• Design Against Crime Research Centre / University of the Arts London
• Home Office Crime Prevention (UK)
• International Centre for the Prevention of Crime (Canada)
• National Crime Prevention (Australia)
• National Crime Prevention Framework / Australian Institute of Criminology (AIC)
• The International Crime Prevention Through Environmental Design Association