Topic Research Guides: Maritime Law

pBooks on maritime law are shelved at 341.45 and 343.96.

eBooks on maritime law

Some texts include:

• Australian maritime law 
• Guide to Latin in International Law
• Maritime law edited by Professor Yvonne Baatz

Boolean Search Connectors

Halsbury's Laws of Australia via Lexis Advance Pacific
  25 - Arbitration
  100 - Contract
  270 - Maritime Law
  425 - Transport

The Laws of Australia via Westlaw Australia
  7 Contract: general principles
  8 Contracts: Specific
  13. Dispute Resolution
    13.7 Arbitration
  25 Interpretation and Use of Legal Sources
  34 Transport
  34.1 Shipping

Shipping Law Topic Research Guide

• Admiralty & Maritime Law Guide
• American Society for International Law (ASIL)
• GlobaLex (NYU)
  • Includes guides to international, comparative and foreign law research
• Institute of Advanced Legal Studies Maritime Law Guide
• Lawbore Maritime Guide
• LII Admiralty 

• Australian International Treaty Making Information Kit (DFAT) - includes a list of websites containing treaty information

• Australian Treaties Database

• Australian Treaties Library
• Flare Index to Treaties
• International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea
• UN Convention on the Law of the Sea
• UN Treaty Collection
  • Treaty Reference Guide
• WorldLII
  • Maritime Law Resources
  • International Treaties Collection
• York-Antwerp Rules and General Average Interest Rates

Australian legislation:

• Legify
• Federal Register of Legislation

Australian Extrinsic Materials

• ParlInfo

Source Legislation

Source Cases
Search by citation is more specific, so is preferred.
If only party names are given, start your search by case name in Westlaw Australia, as most authorised reports are in Westlaw Australia.

Source Tertiary and Secondary Materials

Source Articles on Cases

Source Articles on Legislation

Source Commentary on Cases and Legislation

Helpful database features:

• CaseBase from Lexis Advance: a citation and abstract service to Australian case law, links to some fulltext.

• Westlaw Australia: a subject index and citator for Australian case law, links to some fulltext.

• CCH iKnowConnect: includes a range of Australian decisions from a number of practice areas.

• AustLII: free full text access to Australian medium neutral citation versions and unreported judgments.

• LawCite: a free, automatically generated Australian and international legal case and journal article citator.

• Jade: free database and current awareness service of Australian case law

UK Cases

• Westlaw UK: access to UK and EU legal materials including cases

• BAILII: free full text access to British, Irish, EU case law, legislation and law commission reports
• vLexJustis: a citation and abstract service for UK cases
• ICLR: access full text authorised case law

• Australian Maritime Safety Authority
• Comité Maritime International  
• International Maritime Law Institute
• International Maritime Organisation
• International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea
• Maritime Law Association of Australia and New Zealand
• UNIDROIT
• United National Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL) 
• United Nations – Oceans & Law of the Sea
• United Nations Documentation Centre
• Official Document System of the UN