Books
General law of costs texts are shelved at (e.g. 347.9)
Search the library catalogue for law of costs texts
Subject terms to search in the catalogue include law of costs, law of costs Australia, and law of costs Western Australia.
Key titles include:
Commentary
Australian Family Law and Practice Commentary (CCH IntelliConnect)
Australian Family Law & Practice Western Australia Commentary (CCH IntelliConnect)
Australian Family Law & Practice Western Australia Practical Tools (CCH IntelliConnect)
Civil Procedure - Western Australia / Paul Seaman
Halsbury’s Laws of Australia – Title 325 – Practice and Procedure > VII Judgement and Execution > (2) Costs (Lexis Advance)
The Law Society of NSW Costs Committee Costs (Australian Law Reform Commission)
The Laws of Australia – Title 5 – Civil Procedure (Westlaw Australia)
Journals
Key journals:
- Central Law Journal (HeinOnline) (“A Rationale of The Law Of Costs”)
- Journal of Civil Litigation and Practice (Westlaw Australia)
Full text Journals:
Reference Resources and Commentary
Lexis Advance Family Law Topic
Australian Family Law Commentary Service (Lexis Advance)
How to access and navigate LexisNexis Practical Guidance
Topics covered:
-
AU Family / Costs: Costs Disputes / Lexis Advance
AU Family / Costs: General Principles / Lexis Advance
Legislation
Key pieces of legislation that apply to the law of costs include:
- Civil Liability Act 2002 (WA)
- District Court of Western Australia Act 1969 (WA)
- District Court Rules 2005 (WA)
- Federal Court Rules 2011 (Cth)
- Legal Profession Act 2008 (WA)
- Legal Profession (Supreme and District Courts) (Contentious Business) Determination 2018 (WA)
- Magistrates Court Act 2004 (WA)
- Magistrates Court (Civil Proceedings) Rules 2005 (WA)
- Rules of the Supreme Court 1971 (WA)
- Supreme Court Act 1935 (WA)
- Supreme Court (General) Rules 2005 (WA)
Legal Profession (Supreme and District Courts) (Contentious Business) Determination 2020
Supreme Court of Western Australia Consolidated Practice Directions
Search for Commonwealth legislation at Federal Register of Legislation
Search for Western Australian legislation at Western Australian Legislation
Use Legify to find authoritative versions of legislation.
LawNow Legislation from Lexis Advance – drill down to a section and click the “>>” to find related commentary or cases.
Parliament of Australia – bills, Explanatory Memoranda, Second Reading Speeches, Bills Digest and Hansard
Tip: access the Bill's home page which links to all related extrinsic materials
Parliament of Western Australia – bills, Explanatory Memoranda, Second Reading Speeches and Hansard
Case Law
Calderbank v Calderbank [1975] 3 All ER 333 (overruled in 2002)
Source from ICLR or vLexJustis
Hospital Products Ltd v United States Surgical Corporation (1984) 156 CLR 41
Source from Westlaw Australia
Instructions for How to Source a Case
Australian Case Law:
- AustLII - free full text access to Australian medium neutral citation versions and unreported judgments.
- CaseBase from Lexis Advance - a citation and abstract service to Australian case law, links to some full text. Includes Australian Defamation Law and Practice.
- CCH IntelliConnect - provides access to full-text of the CCH services subscribed to by Murdoch University Library.
- Jade - free database and current awareness service of Australian case law.
- LawCite - a free, automatically generated Australian and international legal case and journal article citator.
- Westlaw Australia: Content Type: Cases - Australian case law
International Case Law:
- BAILII - British, Irish, EU case law, legislation and law commission reports
- CommonLII - Case law from 60 Commonwealth and common law jurisdictions
- HeinOnline – Canadian, UK, US and other international case law
- ICLR - Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England and Wales, full text case law database
- vLexJustis - UK, Irish, EU, Singaporean and other international case law.
- LawCite - a free, automatically generated Australian and international legal case and journal article citator.
- Westlaw Classic - full text of international legal resources, includes UK, Canada, US and EU case law
- Westlaw UK - UK and EU case law
- WorldLII - global international law, broad coverage.
Websites
Instructions for Legal Problem Solving Method and Writing
Costs / Law Society of Western Australia
Legal Costs / Federal Court of Australia