Skip to Main Content

Australian Indigenous Studies - Subject Guide

Journals and Databases

Photo credit: Pierre Pouliquin via Flickr

Australian Indigenous Studies Databases

Database Description

APAFT/APAIS (Informit)

Indexes Australian sources in the social sciences and humanities, including social, cultural and political issues and government policy.

Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)

All ABS publications from 1998. Coverage includes social, economic, demographic, environmental, labour, finance, and other statistics.
EduTV (Informit) Australian online TV streaming resource. Indigenous Studies, Politics & Government, and Society & Culture are included in the learning areas.

FAMILY

Indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families from 1980 onwards.

Indigenous Collection (Informit) Covers both historical and topical issues including anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education, health, history, human geography, law and land rights.
Humanities & Social Sciences Collection (Informit) Australasian scholarly and research resources including journals, books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials. 
JSTOR An archive of back issues of journals in the humanities and social sciences.

MAIS : Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies (Informit)

Indexes resources on all aspects of Australian immigration and multicultural issues , including immigration, emigration, multiculturalism, ethnicity, racism, multicultural education, migrant health, welfare and social services, access and equity, settlement services, refugees, population studies, and aboriginal studies

Proquest Central

ProQuest Central is the largest, multidisciplinary, full-text database.  Key subject areas include Business, Arts, Literature, History, Social Sciences, Science & Technology and Health Sciences. 

Discover Cultural Studies Journals with BrowZine