Skip to main content

Australian Indigenous Studies - Subject Guide

Archives and Images

Photo credit: Pierre Pouliquin via Flickr

Archives and Manuscripts

Indigenous Australians should note that these collections may include images or names of people now deceased.

Katitjin: A guide to Indigenous records in the Battye Library

Compiled by Heather Campbell

Trove

Contains information contributed by libraries, archives, museums, and historical societies on their holdings of personal papers and records of non-government organisations

National Archives of Australia

Provides links to the resources of the Australian National Archives as well as to most other major archives in Australia.

National Film and Sound Archive

Collecting, preserving and telling the Australian story in film, sound and television

Images

Indigenous Australians should note that these collections may include images or names of people now deceased.

PhotoSearch - National Archives of Australia

Photographs depicting many aspects of Australia and Australian lifestyle from the 1850s to the 1990s selected from teh collection of the National Archives

Picture Album - Documenting a Democracy

Australia's Story, National Archives of Australia

Australia in Pictures - Trove

Provides a single point of access to over 450,000 digitised images from the pictorial collections of many of Australia's leading cultural heritage institutions, as well as contemporary images sourced from Flickr.

Pictures - Mura Gadi (archived site)

A guide to manuscript, pictorial and oral history materials relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders in the National Library of Australia.

Murdoch University Special Collections

Murdoch University Research Repository

The Murdoch University Research Repository contains Theses, Dissertations, and other publications produced by people affiliated with Murdoch University.

Some of the topics covered within the repository include:

  • Discrimination and racism
  • Indigenous Education
  • Indigenous Health care
  • Indigeneity
  • Social Justice and Law