Special Collections

The Library's Special Collections area houses archival and research material of special significance to the University. There is a large amount of manuscript material, much of it associated with donations.
There are several collections within the larger Murdoch University Special Collections which will be of great value to Gender and Cultural Studies students and researchers, in particular the LGBTQI & Women's Studies Collections and the Science Fiction, Popular Culture & Media Studies Collections.

Printed Guides

User's guide to Murdoch University Library resources for Women's Studies / prepared for the Library by D.E. Stanton
Murdoch University Library resources for Women's Studies / by D.E. Stanton for The Irene Greenwood Library Resources Trust
Woman : a finding list of selected items held at the Murdoch University Library / comp. by D.E. Stanton

Microform Collections

Research collections in microform are shelved on South Wing Level 1, Room 1.016. They can be viewed on the Reader/Printer located within the room. Where available, printed guides accompany the various collections and are shelved adjacent to the microform collections.

Anne Lister Papers (1806-1840)
Bibliofem
Emma Goldman Papers
Gerritsen Collection of Women's History 1543-1945
Herstory
History of Women
International Women's Suffrage [microform]. Part 1, Suffrage Correspondence of Rose Scott (1847-1925)
Lowell Offering
National Woman's Party Papers 1913-1974
Papers of Eleanor Roosevelt 1933-1945
Papers of the League of Women Voters 1918-1974
Sexual Politics in Britain
Women Advising Women: Part 2, Advice Books, Manuals, Almanacs and Journals c1625-1837
Women's Language and Experience, 1500-1940: Women's Diaries and Related Sources