Skip to Main Content

Forensic Science and Toxicology - Subject Guide

Journals and Databases

Forensic Science and Toxicology Databases

Database Description

American Chemical Society Journals

Full text collection of most journals published by the American Chemical Society.

Health & Medical Complete (ProQuest)

Search Help

This database provides broad coverage of clinical and biomedical literature, including forensic science topics.

Health Collection (Informit)

Search Help 
Select the
SEARCHING AND RESULTS tab

This collection features comprehensive coverage of Australian content relevant to key disciplines including general, specialist and allied health.

Medline (Ovid)

Search Help

The United States National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database for medicine, nursing, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences.

Medline (WoS)

Search Help

The United States National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database for medicine, nursing, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences.

PsycINFO

Search Help

Professional and academic literature in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.

PubChem

Search Help / Help Videos

Formerly TOXNET (National Library of Medicine's toxicology information services).
From search results, in “Information  Sources”,  expand  the  “FILTER BY  SOURCE” menu to source TOXNET sources. 

PubMed

Search Help

Includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals. Subject coverage includes all areas of medicine and related disciplines. Also available are links to full text journals in PubMed Central and links to a series of molecular and genome databases.
Royal Society of Chemistry Package Gold Journals and newsletters in chemistry and related disciplines, from the 19th century to present.

Sage Research Methods

Search Help

Allows researchers to explore methods and concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.

SciFindern

Search Help

Provides web-based access to Chemical Abstracts (CA) covering all aspects of chemistry and other disciplines as they relate to chemistry.

Scopus

Search Help

A multidisciplinary database, which is very strong in the health, forensic and biomedical sciences, with many useful search features.
It includes all the journals indexed in Medline.
All content is peer-reviewed and citation information is included

Web of Science Core Collection

Search Help

A prestigious, comprehensive citation index for scientific and scholarly research.
Includes over 18,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals), as well as conference proceedings and book data, in over 250 disciplines.
Coverage dates back to 1900.
All content is peer-reviewed and citation information is included
A Web of Science Core Collection Guide is available.

Google Scholar

Search Help

Google Scholar is not a substitute for databases, but can be useful​
​Limited functionality including search options, filters and sorting when compared to the databases​
​Only Boolean operator is AND = +​
​High results and citation counts but includes duplications, false positives and mis-attributions

Sage Research Methods

Search Help

SAGE Research Methods (SRM) allows researchers to explore methods and concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
Since SRMO focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
All Databases  Databases can be browsed by Subject or Title.  Example: Forensic Science & Toxicology Databases

Library Search

Search Help

Results can be filtered by:

  • Scholarly and peer reviewed
  • Content type e.g. journal articles, books
  • Date
  • Subject

Discover Forensic Science and Toxicology Journals with BrowZine