Skip to Main Content

Exercise Science - Subject Guide

Journals and Databases

Library resources for Exercise Science at Murdoch University

Exercise Science Databases

Database Description

CINAHL Complete

Search Help / Help Video

Nursing and allied health topics including audiology, nutrition and dietetics, occupational therapy, physical therapy, respiratory therapy, speech-language therapy and consumer health.

Cochrane Library

Search Help 

The Cochrane Library includes several databases of reviews of the effects of health care. The main product is the fulltext Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - evidence based systematic reviews prepared by the Cochrane Collaboration.

Informit Health Collection

Search Help 
Select the
SEARCHING AND RESULTS tab

Full text and indexing database of over 100 Australian and New Zealand health sciences resources.

ProQuest

Search Help

Multidisciplinary collection of journals, magazines and theses, including many business, management and economics resources 
How to create free account to save searches.

PubMed/Medline

Search Help

Medline is the United States National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database for medicine, nursing, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences. Please see the box 'Medline or Pubmed' on the right for more information on the differences between these databases.

Scopus

Search Help / Help Video

A multidisciplinary database which is very strong in the sciences and has many useful search features. It includes all the journals indexed in Medline. Good coverage for animal welfare and ethics.

Web of Science

Search Help

Web of Science provides access to all three citation databases - Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index - from 1987 onwards.

Sage Research Methods

Search Help

SAGE Research Methods (SRM) allows researchers to explore methods and concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
Since SRMO focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
All Databases  Databases can be browsed by Subject or Title.  Example: Exercise Science Databases

Library Search

Search Help

Results can be filtered by:

  • Scholarly and peer reviewed
  • Content type e.g. journal articles, books
  • Date
  • Subject

Selected Exercise Science Journals

This list of Exercise Science journal titles is indicative only - it is not comprehensive:

You can find other journals relevant to exercise science by doing a catalogue keyword search for:

exercise periodicals

Discover Exercise Science Journals with BrowZine

Medline or Pubmed?

PubMed is the freely accessible online database of biomedical journal citations and abstracts created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.  Medline is its largest component but it includes other resources.

The Library also has subscriptions to Medline on both the Web of Science and Ovid platforms. These databases provide more sophisticated search functionality and shows you the FindIt@Murdoch links in your results.

Systematic Reviews

Please see our Systematic Reviews guide, if you are looking for systematic reviews or undertaking a systematic review.

Other resources

Tables of Contents from Journals

Establish alerts for Tables of Content for latest editions (free)

Journal abbreviations

There are a number of online resources that can be useful in providing the full title of journal abbreviations.