Skip to main content

English and Creative Writing - Subject Guide

Journals and Databases

English and Creative Writing Databases

Database Description

MLA International Bibliography

The Modern Language Association International Bibliography provides access to critical material on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore by indexing over 4,000 international journals. 

AUSTLIT

The AustLit Gateway indexes and describes Australian literature published in a range of print and electronic information sources. There are links to selected full text content on PANDORA, SETIS and other internet sites.

Contemporary Authors

Complete Bibliographical information and references on all of the more than 120,000 US and International authors whose entries appear in Contemporary Authors and Contemporary Authors New Revision Series.

Gale Literary Sources Gale Literary Sources allows researchers, faculty and students to search across Gale resources including Literature Criticism Online, Dictionary of Literary Biography Online, Literature Resource Centre, LitFinder and Something About the Author Online to discover and analyse content.
Shakespeare in Performance

Shakespeare in Performance features prompt books from the world-famous collection at the Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington DC. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare's plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, and Internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.

Humanities Abstracts

Indexes almost 700 humanities periodicals dating back to 1984, including feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more

Academic OneFile

Multidisciplinary collection of journals and reference sources. Subject coverage includes physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. 

Browse English and Creative Writing Journals in BrowZine