Skip to main content

EndNote (EN) Guide

Sharing & Collaboration

Sharing and collaborating with EndNote

EndNote can be a great tool for sharing references with colleagues, research groups and for national and international collaboration.

  • Sharing is allowing others to access and copy your references, but not to edit them. 
  • Collaborating is allowing others to access, use, edit and remove references. 

While sharing your entire desktop library with other EndNote users has been possible since Version X7.2, Endnote X9 introduces a couple of new features:

  • it allows users to share specific groups, rather than their entire library
  • it allows users to specify read-only or read-and-write-access to other users

To share or collaborate using EndNote, you and all your colleagues will need:

  • EndNote X7.2 or later loaded onto to the desktop (Note: X7.2 will allow sharing with up to 14 colleagues; X8 and X9 increase this limit to 100)
  • an EndNote Online account (note: unless you are sharing or collaborating with your whole library - in this case, you will need EndNote Online but your colleagues won't)
  • an email account

How it works:

  • You can share with anyone using EndNote X7.2, X8 or X9
  • Share your entire EndNote library, including references, PDFs, and annotations, or just specific groups
  • You can assign read-only or read-and-write access to different users
  • Everyone can add to, annotate and use the library at the same time
  • Review the activity of the changes your collaborators are making
  • There’s no charge for sharing, no library size limit and no charge for unlimited cloud storage